We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Rome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campo De' Fiori to your Saves list
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
asbury park, new jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Rome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel Campo De'Fiori is in a GREAT location close to everything you would want to see in Rome. I found the location to be quiet and comfortable even though it is so close to all the action on the main square. The rooms and bathroom are very small but extremely well appointed. The style is funky melding old world charm with modern comforts with a lot of style! Breakfast is included with your room and the breakfast room in the basement is absolutely CHARMING and delicious. My husband is still talking about the chocolate iced pound cake! We were extremely comfortable here and the rooftop terrace is fantastic in the evening. Grab a bottle of prosecco and have a romantic night enjoying the view! I found the front office staff to be efficient, but not overly engaging. I highly recommend the hotel for an adventure in Rome! The price is reasonable and it has all the comforts you could want!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,
I am truly glad that your expectations having selected a “Boutique Hotel” were all fulfilled and your title says exactly that,
“Lovely Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Rome!”

You have referred to our rooms exactly as we wanted our guests to appreciate them. You describe them as following,

“The style is funky melding old world charm with modern comforts with a lot of style!”

You also refer to our breakfast lounge which dates back to the 1200’s as,

“Breakfast is included with your room and the breakfast room in the basement is absolutely CHARMING and delicious. My husband is still talking about the chocolate iced pound cake!”
“The price is reasonable and it has all the comforts you could want!”
This last phrase covers our goal, to offer at a reasonable rate all that one can desire because for us it’s not just an economic question as in 99% of the other hotels but we are interested also to the fact that our guest feel that they have received all they wanted.
Best regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    277
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
351
851
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for several nights with my wife and sister during the January Holiday week. The hotel staff was extremely efficient and helpful. The location is perfect and central to many attractions. It was a little cold for us to enjoy the rooftop terraces, but in better weather, I'm sure they are perfect to enjoy a glass of wine, watch the sunset over Rome and listen to the church bells ring.
The rooms were nice and well equipped, and we even had a small refrigerator, which made it possible to bring back some food items from the local market at piazza Campo de' Fiori.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a gem! From the elegant free breakfasts, with Vivaldi playing in the background, to the magnificent roof-top terrace--with its view of the Vatican, the Pantheon, and the Camidoglio with the Victor Immanuel Monument,--this hotel is a great place to stay in a pleasant area of Rome. After a day of touring Rome, sitting on the roof-top terrace and listening to the church bells ring was a relaxing, almost sublime experience. The market is just around the corner, and so are numerous fine restaurants and bakeries. The hotel's rooms are exquisitely decorated; even the TV is framed in gold! It was a real pleasure just to wake up there in the mornings. Wonderful modern bathrooms. And the staff, especially Valentina and Adam B., were pleasant and extremely helpful in giving advice on restaurants and travel plans. This hotel is not inexpensive, but it's well worth the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There are quite a few apartments attached to the hotel. Some of them are very small and very dark. The first apartment we were shown had the window of the living room open onto an air-conditioning motor and had little natural light...I think another reviewer called it "tomb like" The second one which we stayed in for one night was very tiny , a tiny bedroom tiny kitchen and tiny bathroom , no sitting area...something that would have been ok at a much lesser price. The third one g4 which became available for the rest of our stay was lovely with a kitchen large sitting and dining room , bedroom and bathroom. It was quiet and airy and we really enjoyed our stay here for two nights.had we been given this apartment originally this would have been a 5 star review but It was a pain in the neck to have to change apartments as we had booked well in advance and should not have had to go through the hasstle of this but the first two apartments were not acceptable at the price . (We have stayed in apartments in the centre of rome and are well aware of the standard and prices)
All apartments we saw were very clean and the servicing of them well done. The towels and sheets were great. The staff are efficient and dealt well with our complaint ... And I think mostly used to helping first timers to Rome ...so go ! enjoy Campo de Fiori.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wfor one week in Rome and stayed in one of the apartments . This is wonderful if you want lots rooma nd want to cook..we did not I think I would have preferred the hotel but everything else made up for this. The rooftop where we spent every night for evening drinks overlooking the magical rooftops of Rome.The staff were wonderful helpful and recommendatiosn for great places to eat. The piazza was so much fun and the deli on the corner the best . Just want o return and do it allover again.

Room Tip: Know yourself.... chose the aprtment if you want to cook and have lots of rooms and privacy. The hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I made a trip to Rome this past spring, and stayed both here and later at an establishment that was rated number 1 at the time on Tripadvisor. While the other hotel indeed had larger, fancier rooms, I would stay at the Hotel Campo De'Fiori in a heartbeat upon returning to Rome. Of course the rooms are on the smallish side, that's to be expected in Europe. I've stayed in smaller in other cities, and never felt cramped here despite two ladies with enormous suitcases in our rooms. We stayed in a room on a lower floor and also on the top floor with a balcony, and both were fantastic. The views from the balcony were stunning, as were the views from the rooftop terrace. With the veranda doors open there was fair city noise, but it was super quiet with the doors closed. It was such a treat to stay in a building so old, with so much history, and I think it's remarkable that they were able to update it with so many conveniences. Fantastic location, walkable to everything. Truly, though, what made this hotel head and shoulders above the other establishment I stayed at was the people...the staff. Everyone who works at Hotel Campo de'Fiori is truly five-star, and you could not find better, more knowledgeable, more compassionate, more understanding, more intuitive people anywhere. I'm stunned that this is not the standard of service at hotels that cost twice the price, which I learned first-hand. I do think one needs to be comfortable with staying in a true old European city hotel, with all that entails (rooms that aren't enormous, especially), but if you are, this is the place to be! Thank you to everyone there for making it such a fabulous stay, and I dearly hope to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at their apartments on the concern of the campo de fiori square and had the best time. This hotel ensures all the details are addresses. Helped us book tours, cars, and even gave us recommendations on the best place for coffee! The hotel staff is friendly and quickly became seen as our go to advice on all things Rome. The apartment was well equipped and very clean. We had to extend our stay due to super storm sandy and thy made the process simple and easy. The stores in the square were friendly, helpful and treated us like locals from the first day. Talked to cab drives and all of them said campo de fiori was the best location and hotel and I would have to agree.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,
We are truly pleased to see that as you quote,
“This place has it all”
We do our utmost and more, to see to it that all of our guests are helped and assisted even in difficult moments as yours was, “Super Storm Sandy”. For us our guests are not just guests but we see them as family and at the same moment always assisted professionally. We base our philosophy as the saying goes, “treat others as we want to be treated!”
Useless confirming about the area, hotel facilities, apartments etc.. but I would like to highlight a historical moment of Rome, Piazza Navona,
Piazza Navona, in ancient Rome, was the Stadium of Domitian, which was built by Emperor Domitian in 85 in the third century and was restored by Alexander Severus. It was 276 meters long, 106 wide and could accommodate 30,000 spectators.

The stadium was decorated with statues, one of which is to Pasquino (perhaps a copy of a Hellenistic Pergamon presumed representative Menelaus supporting the body of Patroclus), now in the square next to Piazza Navona.

Since it was a stage and not a circus, there were carceres (the gates from which came the race horses) or the plug (the dividing wall around which the horses ran), such as the Circus Maximus, but it was all free and used for the races of the athletes. The obelisk that is now at the center of the square was not there, but the circus is Maxentius, who was on the Via Appia.
To sum up, as we all know, taxi drivers are like barbers, they know all about everyone and as the taxi driver stated,
“Talked to cab drives and all of them said campo de Fiori was the best location and hotel and I would have to agree”.
Thank you for the kind words and I am truly happy to see that all worked out for you at the end even having had problems with the Storm called, “Sandy”.

Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo De' Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Campo De' Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo De' Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.