We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and lovely hotel in the heart of Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Campo De' Fiori to your Saves list
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming and lovely hotel in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for six nights and loved it! It is a charming boutique hotel located just off the Campo de Fiori square...all the major sights are a comfortable walk within the hotel (although I highly recommend carrying the city map the hotel provides for you!), and the multi-level terrace offers breathtaking and sweeping views of the city. Our favorite activity was to buy inexpensive wine in the market, and sit on the roof terrace at sunset listening to the lively street music floating up from the square. Our room was clean, pretty, and comfortable ( we had a standard), and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and diverse, with various typical Italian goodies. I thought the hotel has lots of charm and character, and our stay there absolutely enriched our trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
“Charming and lovely hotel in the heart of Rome”
A long term stay and not a 2-3 night stay with us that confirms what other guests refer and attributes us with a 5 point review (max) is very important for us. It means that you have seen us at work or better our pleasure for a long period and that it remained consistent in in time with our hosting and confirming our sincere work attitude towards all of our guests and that we do take a personal attachment to our guests happiness and total pleasure while with us.

I noticed that you were able to appreciate all that the area of Campo de’ Fiori offers as well as the hotel with its’ “offers breathtaking and sweeping views of the city.”, “major sights are a comfortable walk within the hotel”, Our room was clean, pretty, and comfortable ( we had a standard), and the staff were friendly and helpful. . The breakfast buffet was delicious and diverse, with various typical Italian goodies, has lots of charm and character.
All put together makes one stay with us not just a simple vacation as happens elsewhere but an unforgettable experience that you confirm by saying, “our stay there absolutely enriched our trip.”
I wold like to thank you for all your kind words and for your acute observations while with us. Hoping to have you with us once again,
Best Regards,
F.Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    278
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
351
853
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel Campo De Fiori is located right on the piazza Campo De Fiori. The location itself is probably one of the best you can get in Rome, not too touristy and close to all of the major sites. The staff was extremely helpful. We originally booked five nights at apartment but we had to leave early due to some unexpected emergency. Valentina, front desk manager we talked to simply changed a reservation with smile, no penalty mentioned.
Hotel arranged car transport from and to the airport and it worked great, in our opinion 55EUR cost was very reasonable in comparison with alternative ways of transportation and the service was just great. The rooftop lounge offers great views of the city at night and the hotel itself is quite nice. The only con is the apartment (I have to agree with few others that mentioned the same). I would certainly recommend the room over apartment unless the group is too large. Logically, our goal was to stay out, not in the room so it did not affect us much.
Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms offer a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel Campo De Fiori is located right on the Campo De Fiori -- a lively market during the day, lots of locals and full of life at night. There's one of the best pizza by the slice locations right on the corner -- call Forno Campo de Fiori. The location itself is probably one of the best Rome has to offer; not touristy and close to all of the major sites in Rome: 15 minute walk to the Colosseo and a 10 euro cab ride from the Vatican. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous : they arranged all of our tours and cars to and from the airport. The rooftop lounge offers spectacular views of the city at night and the hotel itself is quaint. I agree with RedGap's review: the only con is the apartment; ill furnished and shabby, no phone. I would have preferred a room at the hotel, but there were 5 of us. However, we were out and about making the most of Rome, so it was of little consequence and suited us just fine for our stay. So my recommendation is to stay at Campo -- but ask for a room at the hotel, not the apartment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room _in_ the hotel, not the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
“In the heart of the heart of rome”
A perfect phrase to indicate our location meaning more centrally located then us is impossible! You also say, “ The location itself is probably one of the best Rome has to offer.” We are close to all major sites also listed in the World Heritage list which means that the area itself is of non common. Our staff is also there to arrange or suggest as you say, “staff was extremely helpful and courteous : they arranged all of our tours and cars to and from the airport.”
Our apartments don’t have phones in them because they are so close to the hotel ( a 1 minute walk to all) and are designed and made for multi or family reservations as you also confirmed, “suited us just fine for our stay”. The apartments for families offer more space, a kitchen, bathroom, living room and some with a second bedroom but this needs to be requested upon reserving not having all the apartments 2 bedrooms. They are furnished with all modern comforts such as LCD flat Tv, A/C or heating, Free Wifi and daily cleaning by our chambermaids and the list goes on…

Although you do state that you would have preferred to stay in the hotel, in the hotel we do not have rooms that can host 5 people therefore you would have needed 1 double room with 1 triple room. Although we believe that the best solution for families is our apartments enabling our guests to stay together offering also a kitchen so if one would like to cook something or even have a snack purchased at the fabulous market in the Campo de’ Fiori during the morning or buying some pizza from the reknowned backery called, Forno as you state in your review. The following stay with us you can try staying in our rooms this way you can have a comparison between the 2. Thank you for the recommendation, So my recommendation is to stay at Campo -- but ask for a room at the hotel.”
Best regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Campo De Fiori for two nights and had an enjoyable experience at the hotel. It is in a GREAT location and the staff were very friendly and helfpul with recommendations and directions. The room was not a perfect size and was very clean for a reasonable price. The hotel is small but unique and the rooftop patio was very neat. I would definitely stay here again if I travel back to Rome. Thank you for the hospitality!

Room Tip: Specify in reservervation your preference of bed and ground floor versus higher floor. All rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guests,
Our Boutique Hotel although not considered of a big size but this is why we are a Boutique Hotel has nothing to be envious of with bigger hotels offering all the commodities and offerings that big hotels offer. We pride ourselves on our hosting, our elegantly furnished but with modern facilities rooms, our unbeatable roof top terrace with its’ 360° degree view of the Eternal city, something which even big hotels almost never have. You have highlighted, “ hotel is small but unique and the rooftop patio was very neat.” Also as you have indicated, “Lovely Place to Stay”, meaning that you have noticed our special unique selection of even the smallest things in the rooms. You conclude with, “Thank you for the hospitality!” and I respond with, thank you for having selected us for your stay in Rome and can’t wait to have you as our guests once again as you say, “I would definitely stay here again if I travel back to Rome”.
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We originally booked an apartment and found it extremely dissapointing. The bed was like something in a hostel, the rest of the furniture was shabby and the room was very noisy. The front desk staff were extremely responsive to our request to move to the hotel. We loved the rooms in the hotel itself. They are very small but beautifully appointed. Kind of over-the top decor, but done with such thought and quality that they are like jewel boxes. Great bathrooms too. Location is unbeatable. Awsome roof deck. But it is the staff that makes the hotel exceptional.

Room Tip: Don't rent an apartment. Rooms in front seem best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your 5 point review and for the beautiful words that you have written in your review such as,” Location is unbeatable. Awesome roof deck, jewel boxes. Great bathrooms, . But it is the staff that makes the hotel exceptional.”
Your reservation was for an apartment but you were expecting a hotel room and we immediately moved you into the hotel having availability. It is our first thought with our guests to keep the expectations up when possible because we base ourselves more on a personal happiness more than an economic point.
Your description of the hotel is clear and overall and this is always a real pleasure to read that our guests appreciate what our facilities and personal offer.
Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I recently stayed in Rome on my own and chose Hotel Campo De' Fiori mostly due to Tripadvisor comments and wasn't let down. I loved it and the location was great. It is at the most 30 mins walk to nearly all the attractions. Many attractions are closer than this. The campo de fiori plaza behind the hotel is a great spot to buy fresh fruit, souvenirs, coffee and gelati. I didn't actually eat a meal in the plaza preferring to eat in the Travastere area which is only a 10 minute walk. The rooftop terrace is a fantastic place to sit and relax at the end of the day and has great views. The room I had was small but given I was by myself it didn't bother me, although I think it would have been a little cramped if there had been two of us. The breakfast was good and most days I didn't eat Lunch as I had enough at breakfast to last until the evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Having selected Hotel Campo de’ Fiori for your stay in Rome because of its’ positive reviews and Tripadvisor position and giving us a 5 point (max) rate is truly something to talk about. This means that you have touched with your own hands the fact that our reviews on Tripadvisor are real and written by real guests and therefore our position of 9 is earned! Our location which is unbeatable being a hop skip and jump away from all major sites is also to be considered a time as well as a money saver. When one speaks about the rooms one needs always to keep in mind that the Campo de’ Fiori area is of the 1400’s period therefore the hotel is obligated to maintain its’ architectural composition but we believe this is overcome by the fact that you receive a beautiful elegantly furnished room with all modern commodities and better yet in the most trendy area of Rome today as well as one of the most historical areas of the city.
Our breakfast is organized that our guests are able to pick from sweets to salts including fresh cornetti, different types of bread, scrambled eggs, different types of yogurt, pies, cakes, biscuits, fresh cuts such as salami, ham, different types of cheeses, fruit, a vast selection of teas, fresh coffee or cappuccino different types of juices and the list goes on and on… as you confirmed writing,” The breakfast was good and most days I didn't eat Lunch as I had enough at breakfast to last until the evening meal”.
Thanking you once again for your 5 point review and for reading our tripadvisor reviews!
Best regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Firstly it is necessary to understand they have the main hotel and then, in a separate building, three apartments (maybe more). We were in one of the apartments.

The apartment we were in looked out onto the Plaza itself, with its bustling market and restaurants. The apartment had air conditioning and was fit out with a small kitchen (including stove top, bar fridge, Italian coffee making equipment and basic utensils). The bathroom was a little more spacious though as other reviewers have noted the shower is probably a bit small for some. The hot water was of a good temperature and the shower head was decent.

There was also a small dining table and a flat screen TV (fairly limited offerings in the channels though) with couch. The bed was two singles pushed together and was quite comfortable. The cleaning service was very efficient.

The location simply cannot be faulted. Firstly, the hotel is basically right on the Piazza Campo di Fiori which offers great fresh produce, decent restaurants (the espresso style coffees at Mercato are my special recommendation) and many fashion stores. The atmosphere at night is great but if you just want to sleep the apartment window is double glazed and there are shutters (for the very light sleepers I would still suggest earplugs though).

More importantly, ALL the major sights are within easy walking distance for anyone of average fitness. This includes the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps (high end stores nearby), the Pantheon and the Vatican.

Finally, for somewhere different to eat you can walk just a block or two south of the hotel and cross the river into Trasvetere, famous for extremely cheap and amazing food. In all this is the best location I have ever stayed in in any city.

My main criticism is that there is no wifi in the apartments- you have to cross to the main hotel. This is annoying if you want to backup photos over night, or whatever. Also, sometimes you just don't feel like sitting in the hotel lobby whenever you need to check emails etc.

My other criticism is that the cleaner knocked at 10am one morning but we were still getting ready to go out, so then the next morning she knocks at 9:40am ... and guess what, we were still getting ready to go out. These are hardly outlandishly late times for people on holidays so either the cleaner needs to be more patient or, more logically, they should just get do not disturb/make up my room signs for the doors. This would solve the problem quite easily. In fairness I should note the cleaner did do a lovely job.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to a friend but I would recommend trying to get a room in the main hotel. Also, I overheard the staff saying the best rooms are on levels five and six and that some of the deluxe rooms aren't on hotels.com, so I would recommend just giving them a ring! But what a lovely hotel and friends staff too. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Levels five and six!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severino, Manager at Hotel Campo De' Fiori, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Reading your review I noticed that you stayed in one of our apartments located within a 30 second walk from the hotel and right on the World Famous, Piazza Campo de’ Fiori! Staying in one of the plaza apartments I would like to highlight that you had a view of the famous plaza from your apartment and could see whenever you wanted to the famous statue located exactly on the spot where the famous heretic monk Giordano Bruno was burned alive in 1600 for his thoughts. It is one of the most trendy areas of Rome today!
All of our apartments are located in the Campo de’ Fiori area and are within a 1 minute walk away from the hotel making this truly an unforgettable as well as a must when staying in Rome. It is pleasing to read that you did appreciate our apartment in all of its’ aspects from the position to the bathroom to the silent windows and the cleaning even if you have indicated a small criticism is the fact that the chambermaids came by around 10:00 am asking if they could clean the apartment. I can only suggest that the next time you are with us to refer to the reception that you do not want early cleaning but a late cleaning and this will be immediately organized. I believe the chambermaids came around 10:00 am wanting to have you find your apartment cleaned when you re-entered into the apartment believing that you may have gone down to the market to buy some fresh fruit or necessities having a fully furnished kitchen in the apartment.
Referring to the Free WiFi, the apartment you were in was recently renovated and therefore we were waiting for the telephone technician to come to the apartment to install and program the Free WiFI. Today it is available. I can only say that at least you did have the Free WiFi in the hotel which is also accessible on the roof top terrace with the fabulous 360° view of Rome.
Concluding with a beautiful phrase that you have written, “what a lovely hotel and friends staff too. You won't be disappointed!”
Thank you for having taken time to write your review and hope to have you as our guests in the future!
Best Regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo De' Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo De' Fiori

Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#34 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Campo De' Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo De' Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.