We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RetRome Colosseum Garden

Save Saved
You added RetRome Colosseum Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RetRome Colosseum Garden
Via Marco Aurelio 47, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Romantic welcome basket
Ranked #645 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“We highly recommend this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, helpful staff and great location. All in all great value for money, and we appreciated the recommendations from the staff on where to eat out. I doubt anyone will find a better B&B this close to the center at a price that can compete with Retrome. Only minus was the included breakfast which was located conveniently around the corner, however at possibly the worst café I have ever been to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at RetRome Colosseum Garden, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took in order to write this review and to share your experience with fellow travelers.
We try to give a very good value for your money. We are happy that it is being appreciated, and we will keep offering the best value for the travelers in Rome.
We hope to welcome you again in the future in Rome or in Barcelona with our new boutique hotel there.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    54
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bat Yam, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

the room was awsome , the location is great only 2 min from the colosseum. the staff was wonderful and helped us a lot. Angela is amazing woman. gave us tips, explained about the city and ordered us a tickets to the vatican. we loved it and recomand it to all !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at RetRome Colosseum Garden, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Sagi,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host you in Rome, and we are so happy that you had such a great experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards from Rome,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Angela greeted us upon arrival with a double espresso made fresh from her new espresso maker! Which was wonderful considering we just had a bad experience with a dishonest cab driver (NOTE: from the Termini station, it shouldn't cost more than 10 euro to arrive at RetRome!). She sat down with us and gave amazing maps, directions, and ideas for seeing the sites in Rome - as well as recommendations for inexpensive delicious restaurants and wine bars.

The decor is adorable - and there is a coffee maker to use at your convenience! She even called a scooter rental company to help us coordinate a rental. Extremely helpful and generous. And, you are literally down the street from the Colosseum.

I will definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at RetRome Colosseum Garden, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your great review. As you are an experienced traveler, we are delighted to hear this positive feedback from you, and appreciate the time you took to share it with other travelers.

Top service is our philosophy, and it is part of the boutique experience our guests get when staying with us. We try to give our guests this extra service even before they arrive to Rome while providing them with useful (and fun) information via our Social media, and of course, when arriving and staying at Retrome.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in Rome, or Barcelona (at our new boutique hotel in the center of the city).

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent welcome, including a bottle of prosecco, to celebrate my honey moon. The retro vintage rooms are spacious and amazing, and they take you to a different world. The staff is very friendly and give you tips about the city. The breakfeast was not in the same building, instead it was in a nice terrace very close to the hotel.

As a plus, perfect location, just 100mt from the Colosseum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at RetRome Colosseum Garden, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Aldo,

Thank you for your nice review, and congratulation (again) for your honeymoon!! We are happy that we have contributed to this special occasion.
We are glad that you liked the decoration of our room, We pay a lot of attention and resources for this aspect, and we are happy that most of our guests choose to stay with us based on our unique style. If you plan to visit Barcelona in the future, please have a look at our boutique hotel in the center of the city that offers the same style and the retro-vintage feeling.

We thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am a frequent traveler, both with work and for pleasure and have to say i was thoroughly impressed with this hotel. In previous experiences of Italy, i would say that the quality of hotel for the price you pay is pretty poor compared to a lot of other places in the world, but that is certainly not the case here. The hotel is in a fantastic location, easily walkable to most attractions and the metro station. The Colosseum is quite literally on the door step. However, don't think this means it is in a busy or noisy location, as the hotel is situated a few streets away in a lovely neighbourhood that will really let you experience authentic Italian life. There are many quality restaurants and cafes that cater to all budgets. unlike some of the other areas of Rome, where the food can be below average and over priced, clearly to extort Tourists. The room was clean, quiet and well decorated, and i really liked the shared kitchen area with coffee making facilities. Finally the staff, we were warmly welcomed with cold beverages, given lots of information about tours and attractions and very useful recommendations of places to eat nearby, without the pushy sales pitch we received in other italian Hotels. We were recommended a restaurant nearby called Luzzi di Luzzi by the staff and it was one of the best meals we had on our Italian trip. The Gelateria on the corner is also very good. I very much doubt you find a better hotel experience in Rome in this price range. It was excellent value for money and vasttly improved our experience of Rome. I will recommend to anyone traveling to Rome, and would personally stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at RetRome Colosseum Garden, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
HI Ross,

Thank you for your great review on your stay at Retrome. We really appreciate the time you took to share your good experience with other travelers.
We try to give our guests not only the best attentive personalized service, and a uniquely designed retro-styled accommodation, but also a great value for their money. We are happy to read that this is being appreciated. .
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future. If you are looking for the same experience in Barcelona, please check our new boutique hotel there. You will love it.

Warm regards from Rome,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to the train station and was very easy to find.
The staff were great and the hotel is very American vintage.

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and when we arrived to our room there was a bottle of Presecco waiting for us.

That was very nice.

The B&B had many doors to access to get to the room, but I felt very safe.

The only thing I didn't like was that when we came back to our room the first day it hadn't been picked up. But, I found the innkeeper and he was able to exchange our towels.

I would stay there again.

Thanks to Angela who let us relax for a while in the lobby before trekking over to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at RetRome Colosseum Garden, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Shannon,

Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with other travelers.
Out top priority is the service to our guests, and when we can, we give that special "touch"and attention. We are happy that you liked that bottle of Prosecco...
We hope to be able to welcome you again in Rome. If you plan to travel to Barcelona, please check our boutique hotel there (in the center of everything). We are sure that you are going to love your stay there as well.

Warm regards from Rome.

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Overall our stay at the bnb was excellent. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms were spacious and clean and also have an external kitchen to use with a fridge kettle and many over essentials. Only issue was the staff at the breakfast cafe. Extremely rude with poor service. On the 2nd morning of our stay we actually walked out before we even got to breakfast we were that unimpressed. The hotel could do with explaining to the cafe and their staff that the service they provide should be just as good as the service provided by the retrome bnb itself.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moti_retrome, Manager at RetRome Colosseum Garden, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi,
It was a pleasure to host you in Rome. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyedd your stay with us, and appreciate the time and efforts you took in order to share your experience with other travellers.
We are going to check with the owner of the Cafe about the service you report here. Usually, the guests are happy with the service and Italian breakfast they get, and we try to control the level of service there, but if you have been treated in an unprofessional way, it has to be addressed immediately, and we are going to do that.

We will be happy to welcome you again in Rome, or in Barcelona with our new boutique hotel in the center of the city.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RetRome Colosseum Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RetRome Colosseum Garden

Address: Via Marco Aurelio 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retrome Colosseum Garden is a design, boutique hotel, offering private guest rooms and apartment suites all with private en-suite bathrooms in Retro-Vintage design in the very center of Rome, in a quiet location just meters from the Colosseum.Our air-conditioned guest rooms are spacious and comfortable and our apartment suites varies in size and can host up to 8 guests in the large 2 bedroom suite. Our design concept and standards have been recognized by magazines and newspapers around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your RetRome Colosseum Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RetRome Colosseum Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.