We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, basic rooms, bit noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RetRome Colosseum Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added RetRome Colosseum Garden to your Saves list
RetRome Colosseum Garden
Via Marco Aurelio 47, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #615 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, basic rooms, bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very friendly and helpfull staff and a really great location. Definitely value for money. Great WiFi-connection.
Rooms are basic but nice. Bed was turned down every day and towels were changed, the room itself was not cleaned during our stay (5 night) so it got a bit dusty).
Neighbourhood is good for restaurants and winebars, we recommend 'I Clementini' for a good dinner!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    64
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
88
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This b&b offers really high level of rooms and great design, staff was very helpfull and angela helped us with guided tours and restaurant reservations. our room was cleaned daily which was surprising for a b&b but the only warning is that the building where it is located is quite old and purely maintained so the first impression we had was a bit sketchy, once you pass the door in to the retrome floor your impression completely changes. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent 5 nights at the RetRome and found it fairly enjoyable. Pros: The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. There are many things worth seeing within easy walking distance and the restaurants we visited were all good. Since it is a small hotel, it is not staffed all day, but when someone is there you can get good advice about things to see. Cons: The bed was made every day and the towels changed after 3, but the room was not cleaned during our stay. The hot water heater broke and we spent the better part of a day without hot water (at least it wasn't summer). The room we stayed in had an old window which did not have a tight seal and so we heard the garbage trucks rumble through every morning between 6:30 and 7.

You get a good value for the money but it helps to be a sound sleeper.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall has an old window which lets in noise from the street. The second to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I spent a long weekend with my husbend at the Colosseum Garden B&B. The location was really great, as we could easily walk to most of the attractions we wanted to visit. Besides that, the B&B is located in a very sweet neighborhood which we felft very safe to walk in the night. We can recommend you the Tratorria Luzzi, which is located 150 meters from the B&B. They serve excellent food in cheap prices (we paid 25 Euro for a lunch for 2). Our room was nicely decorated with a new bathroom and good airco (important in Rome). We will defenitely stay here again when in Rome

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This place is great! The location really is a little home away from home. The neighbor hood is quaint, you'd never know you were in a big city.
The B&B provided the perfect seclusion following a busy day of sightseeing. And the was great! Angela was very helpful w our stay, as well as. Introducing us to getting us on the right track upon our arrival. Ask het about the best restaurant in the neighborhood. You won't be disappointed.:-) The locks into the hall/room proved to be comical at times, but simply led to the overall charm of this little B&B. Would definitely look into staying here again when we return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This B&B is situated in a quiet street about 5 min walk from the Colosseum. We heard no noise at all in the evening.
The ensuite room was clean, air conditioned , had nice decor and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was lovely and the shower worked well.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us some great tips for our stay .
The breakfast is served in a nearby Café, and is exactly what you need to start the day of exploring this amazing city.
Would definately stay here again when returning to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I initially chose RetRome for our first night of vacation ONLY. When our other apartment cancelled on us just 4 days before our trip, RetRome saved our trip by accomadating us by moving us from room to room wherever space was available! We spent our entire 14 night vacation at what we began to consider our home in Rome. The staff was very friendly and their recommendations for food and entertainment did not disappoint us. We loved our breakfast at Cafe San Clemente every day. We had dinner and lunch at Luzzi's, and enjoyed gelato at the gelateria on the corner.
The staff even helped us with our airport transfers by asking us to send an email to confirm our departure time.
The rooms are very modern and well decorated with a retro flair. All air-conditioned and free wi-fi.
The bathrooms were a nice size and the water-pressure was good...not typical in Europe. Of course, when we arrived our room was very clean.
The location of the B&B is great because food and entertainment are just a few steps away along with the Colosseum and the Metro station.
The only cons I would mention is that it's not a hotel, so if you're used to getting your towels changed every day and your bed turned down, you won't find that here. So be sure to ask for new towels if you need them, because it's not a regular service.
We hope to return soon and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RetRome Colosseum Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RetRome Colosseum Garden

Address: Via Marco Aurelio 47, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #615 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retrome is a design, boutique accommodation, offering private guest rooms and apartment suites all with private en-suite bathrooms in Retro-Vintage design in the very center of Rome, in a quiet location just meters from the Colosseum.Our air-conditioned guest rooms are spacious and comfortable and our apartment suites varies in size and can host up to 8 guests in the large 2 bedroom suite. Our design concept and standards have been recognized by travelers, magazines and newspapers around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your RetRome Colosseum Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RetRome Colosseum Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.