We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Theatre Irish Pub Rome

Abbey Theatre Irish Pub Rome
Via del Governo Vecchio, 51, 53, Rome, Italy
0039 066861341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,919 of 8,708 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: American, Irish, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The pub takes its name from the world renowned Irish National Theatre, which was founded by William Butler Yeats and Lady Gregory.Stage props and costumes from the storerooms of the Abbey Theatre have been used in the decor, giving the pub a very special atmosphere.The six fully air conditioned rooms of the pub are spread over two floors, and a huge range of Irish whiskeys, cocktails and long drinks are on offer, as well as Irish beers on tap including, of course, the famous Guinness.The Abbey Theatre offers irish, italian and international cuisine all day everyday. We are able to show all major sports throughout the pub on 14 TV screens. ( NFL, Premiership, Serie A, Rugby World Cup...). The pub has a happy hour during the daytime, live irish music every week, and free Wi-Fi.The pub also offers private parties or weddings. Our welcoming pub, is considered one of the best in the city and it is laid out in typical Irish style with lots of little rooms linked by narrow corridors.
Malahide, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Weekend in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice establishment with nooks & cranies, good selection of beers , both local and Imported. Reasonably priced and you could be lucky and hit at the happy hour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    116
    38
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“An authenic Irish pub experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Being Irish I like to visit at least one "Irish pub" whilst on any trip abroad along with all the other native restaurants and bars. It is just a tradition of mine. We came across the Abbey whilst walking though a maze of rustic Roman street around the Piazza Navona. The day in question was Good Friday so it was unusual to see an Irish pub open for business (they are all closed in Ireland on that date). The Abbey itself is a maze of small well furnished rooms. I immediately like the atmosphere and on discovering it was happy hour my mood rose further. Just stayed for a couple of drinks before journeying further into Rome's ancient past. Friendly staff. Clean interior. We returned again on Easter Sunday for another pit stop. It was a bit busier on this occassion. Still welcoming though. Did not eat here but the food looked good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“When in Rome, do as the...Irish do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This authentic Irish pub, right in the heart of historic Rome has a wide variety of food and drink. It was always full of people in the bar and restaurant, but never too full to get a seat without much waiting. Just what you'd want in a restaurant! Staff was always wonderful, food was great. They had live music in the evenings. Walk down a rustic street in Rome and turn into a great Irish experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best irish pub in rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

By far my favorite place to grab a drink, eat, or catch up with friends in rome. Awesome bar staff and fun atmosphere! Popular place for sports as well as music. Friendly for wide variety of clientele.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best cheeseburger I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Having been in Italy for a while and strictly eating local style Italian one rainy day we decided not to have Italian when we found the pub. Lots of soccer fans watching different games on different screens. We took a table looking onto the street and ordered a cheeseburger. Ambiance is like a pub you find all over, but that burger was divine!!!!!! Very friendly staff, they spoke English easily and the place was clean. Lots of different rooms to sit in (don't get lost going to WC). Within walking distance of Piazza Navona.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey Theatre Irish Pub Rome also viewed

 

Been to Abbey Theatre Irish Pub Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Theatre Irish Pub Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.