We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and enjoyable hidden treasure in rome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalikart Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kalikart Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Kalikart Bed and Breakfast
Via Principe Amedeo 85, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,355 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming and enjoyable hidden treasure in rome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January for a few days and had a lovely time. We paid next to nothing for a few nights and were happy with the price.

The owner was really welcoming, he provided a great spread for breakfast, it was just enough for our days filled with walking. We spent our days out so were only in the B&b for mornings and evenings. On our last night the owner cooked us a delicious pasta meal, which was more than we could have asked. I do think this is a hidden treasure in Rome.

Its located near to the train station, which you can get a coach to and from the airport. It is in walking distance (if you enjoy walking) from the colosseum, the Vatican and lovely restaurants. Theres also a supermarket located in the train station. But its better to eat out, i'd say its worth having a good look for where to eat and not just settling for the first one that comes along.

Keep your bags close to you when walking around there are so many opportunist pickpockets.

Tips- keep valuables on you. Bring a good pair of walking shoes. Bring a good camera so many lovely photo opportunities. If you like light breakfasts this is great for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Kalikart is perfectly located near the termini, just around the corner. The rooms are very clean, with en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was ample and kalik was very helpful, he even helped me with my upset stomach and can give you travel information to fully explore rome.

The apartments are ideal for people who want to explore rome and just use the apartments as a base.

Room Tip: Very close to rome termini, just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Small, cute and clean hotel which is close to stazione termini. Owner is a nice and warm man. He did everything for our comfort. Even provided cheese in the breakfast. We appreciate and thank for it. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We were a little suspicious of the location and price, but arrived at the Rome train station at night and had to fly back out of the airport the next morning. So we booked a room at this little family-owned B&B and had a great night of sleep in one of the cleanest rooms of our stay. It was like we were part of a family for the night but had complete privacy. It was extremely quiet and the perfect location for our last night in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Kalik and his family do everything to help you at this small, very clean B&B. The breakfast is basic, but our room was spacious and airy. The beds are extremely comfortable. Location close to Termini and Santa Maria Maggiore is great for the tour buses.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

At Kalikart B&B you can experience the best service in Rome. The room was spacious and clean. It had free internet and private bathroom. It is walking distance to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore and Termini Station. My son and I stayed for three nights and felt as if we were home. I recommend Kailkart B&B to people who are looking for comfort, value and a warm welcoming service. Thank you Kalik!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a set of two letting rooms in an apartment. The facilities are private, so it is a bit like a single annex of a bigger place. It looks and feels professional. It is about 5 minutes walk from Termini railway station. There are many inexpensive restaurants in the area. We liked the area because you can walk to most places, even the Vatican was no more than about 30 minutes, and when you are done most buses, trams, metro etc., come back to the main station at Termini.
Our room was a good size, with a double bed and a single. There was also a fold out single chair-bed, so it would have been OK for two adults and two kids, one small.
The room was immaculately clean and nicely decorated.
There is window with shutters that looks out into the courtyard which made the room lovely and light.
The bathroom had a shower and bidet as well as WC (no tub).
The beds were comfortable (not rock hard as most Italian beds - what IS that all about?), the AC worked well. There was a basic (but nice) continental breakfast included. (Some juice would have been nice.)
The owner is very friendly and kind, for example offering our friend who popped in to meet up with us breakfast as well.
The place is accessed through a courtyard which is nice, it gives a real Roman feel, and is on the first floor with a small lift. The WiFi worked well. There was plenty of hot water.
We had our own key to come and go as we pleased. The owner looked after our bags until we left late on the last day.
In summary, this is an excellent value comfortable basic accommodation in the heart of Rome. We would recommend it to a couple or family on a budget who won't be spending a lot of time in the room (And why would you - you are in Rome). We do usually stay in four or five star hotels and were apprehensive about this visit, but we really enjoyed it and thought it great value. It also had character which a bigger hotel might have lacked.
Thanks Kalik!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalikart Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalikart Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,355 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kalikart Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalikart Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.