We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, remote location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Pisana 374, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly JSH Hotel Rome)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #462 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Lehavim, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small rooms, remote location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a tour group. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room, despite its modern decor was tiny (but very clean, as was the rest of the hotel). We reserved a room for three and there was barely space for the extra bed. The bathroom was even worse -- all the basics (sink, bath/shower, toilet and bidet) were there, but there was no room to leave our toiletries and the bidet was located behind the door, as that was the only place it fit.

Breakfast was barely edible. Presumably, the travel agency that booked our tour ordered the most basic meal, but the quality of the food was terrible. The scrambled eggs were watery and tasted awful, there were no fresh fruits or vegetables and the bread was extremely dry, even by Italian standards. The only thing worth eating was the yogurt.

The hotel is not close to the tourist area of Rome, which didn't really matter to us, since we were on a tour, but this would be a significant issue for anyone planning to use public transportation.

Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but I can't say it was a great one, either.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    98
    64
    16
    9
See reviews for
48
91
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here on the recommendation of some friends and weren't disappointed as the hotel lived up to the standards you would expect of a Holiday Inn whilst being not but 20 mins away by public bus which literally picked up/dropped off outside the hotel. Delighted to get an upgrade on arrival for our 2 night stay especially as it gave our 2 boys there own space in the room that we were given. Breakfast had a good selection with enough variety for everyone and the staff were attentive with clearing tables and offering coffee etc. - cant comment on restaurant generally as we always ate in the city.

Room was bright, clean and spacious and allowed a family of 4 to not feel as if we were too on top of each other. Only downside was that as our room was located on the main road side you could hear the traffic noise, especially at night.

Staff were friendly and informative and able to help us with any questions that we raised - drinks at the bar were reasonably price with my boys enjoying the range of non-alcoholic cocktails that were available.

As with many other reviews absolutely no complaints for the price paid and would happily use the hotel again for similar weekend trips to such a wonderful city.

Room Tip: Based on my experience would try and stay off from the front of the hotel (although cant complain as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice stay, little bit far from tourist areas but very comfortable. Nice and friendly staff, good breakfast, cosy, Modern flare.
Great for business, couples, groups, etc.
Nice city view and located in a quiet area.

Room Tip: Room with a View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca A, Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Danieldan2000,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel.
We are really pleased that you appreciated our hotel and staff and we promise that your comments will be shared with the whole team.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again upon your next stay in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

The good - Front desk staff, bellman very nice and helpful, price of room was good.

The bad - Inconvenient location, infrequent shuttle service, dated hotel with small rooms, food just ok.

The ugly - Bartender with a sullen attitude and terrible service. I don't expect US-level service and have traveled all over the world, so it's not as if I don't know what typical service outside the US looks like. The hotel should fire this guy yesterday.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca A, Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear AggieTX,
thank you for your review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Rome Pisana and for the good comments about our front desk staff and bellman.
We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have suffered during your stay and sincerely apologize. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us in improving the services we offer to our guests.
We hope that you’ll be back for a good stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Great location just outside city. Stebano at the front desk was very helpful and polite. Bus stop outside hotel that runs every 20-30 mins into city for 1.50€ and 2€ for shuttle service at hotel. Breakfast was cheap and good. Bartender was great. Overall clean and great staff. No complaints for the price.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca A, Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tim,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at our hotel.
It is very pleasing to realize that your time with us was enjoyable. We hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Check in wiz a Grp for 2 nites 19/2-21/2/15, very clean and modern hotel, Staff is very helpful and courtesy. I would like to take this chance to thank Mr Gianluca, (Room Division Manager) and his team helping us to arrange for late check out and arrange taxi to airport. Excellent service !

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca A, Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Cass6eva,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. It’ s nice to know you had a nice stay with us and that you appreciated our hotel and services. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Rome Pisana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

a plus was the price,the transport into Rome was not frequent and when i asked the driver the directions to the tour bus he didnt speak any english!the bus only took 8 passengers at a time as well so a bit inconvenient,i was a bit taken aback by the large city tax i was asked to pay when leaving the hotel if i return to rome i would stay a bit closer to the city the food at the hotel was average i would expect better from a four star hotel

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca A, Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, February 20, 2015
Dear Hetty72,
thank you very much for taking the time to post a feedback after your stay in our Holiday Inn Rome Pisana.
We apologize for the inconvenience of our shuttle service. Regarding the municipality tax we would like to inform you that from September 1st 2014 it has been raised to € 6,00 per day per person for all 4-star hotel.
We really do hope to welcome you back soon. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana

Address: Via della Pisana 374, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly JSH Hotel Rome)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#200 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#251 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rome Pisana is located near the Vatican, in the Western area of the Capital a few minutes away from the New Fair of Rome, from the Big Ring Road (GRA), and from Fiumicino Airport (Leonardo da Vinci). The Hotel is entirely renewed: the Hall leads you to a living room decorated with an elegant and essential style, arranged into peaceful relax zones. From the 1st of October 2014 the Holiday Inn Rome Pisana offers a quick and convenient way by a shuttle service to reach the center of Rome (Piazza Risorgimento in proximity to Vatican). The service is on request and operates according to scheduled timetable. A fare is forecasted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisana Palace Hotel
Pisana Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.