We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical Holiday Inn, out of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Pisana 374, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly JSH Hotel Rome)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #557 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A typical Holiday Inn, out of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I used my points for this booking, a late weekend break.

The hotel is typical 'Holiday Inn-esk'

It was clean and quiet, and has free parking if you have a vehicle.

The hotel is outside the boundary of Rome.
However it does have good bus link with the Vatican city.

Bus tickets can be purchased on a daily or 100minites basis from the local magazine/ tobacco shops 3mins walk (turn right out of HI).
The bus stop is outside of the tobacco shop. Bus number 881 will take you to the Vatican City. From there you can bus hop around the city on the same ticket.

Rooms are clean and quiet.
The breakfast is nice, but continental 'quality'.

The price of a taxi to the airport (FCO) is a fixed 50EUR for a private taxi.

We had a lovely timeout of this hotel, and we enjoyed being out of the city (however the daily commute may not suit everyone.)

Have fun.
Ciao! :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear welsh105,
thank you for your positive feedback.
We are happy to met your expectation in terms of professionalisms, comfort and cordiality.
Come soon to visit us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    46
    13
    7
See reviews for
28
64
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 5 nights very welcoming and helpful staff great first impression. Room good very clean. A little far out of the city centre but busus great and had no problems after staff explained everything. Had problem with one room's air con but was swiftly resolved after speaking to cbarming young woman at reception. The hotel is fine but the staff are the real stars nothing was too much trouble fkr them. Thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinziaSaccani, Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you Heather,
that means we are running in the right direction.
So, when is your next stay with us?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Front desk was ok but most the time there even they seemed like they were in training. The Bar, cafe and restaurant staff were not hospitable at all. The food was poor and the prices high. The Inn had no pool or gym. When we asked for other places to eat in the area we were told that this was the only one in the area. We found a nice little restaurant across the street behind the gas station that was great and the prices were good. It is called Le Spighe. I think it must be part of the football club there. Also a short walk further maybe 2 minutes was a great Ice Cream shop for desert. The best thing about the hotel was right across the street was the bus to Rome which would also drop you off a couple of blocks from the Vatican. The rooms were small but clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear realfind,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel in May 2014. Very modern and comfortable hotel. Although in the suburbs but excellent bus services to downtown.
Room modern and clean. Few convenient shops (walk to the right) near the hotel.
Please purchase your bus tickets there instead of the hotel as they are cheaper.
You have to pay 5 euros if you need ice in your room. UNBELIEVABLE.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very nice to came back to the hotel, I have been there 3 times and I will be back again.
Thanks to Francesca, Lorenzo and … all the staff from reception!
Regards from Finland
Also regards to the lady from the Shop :)

Room Tip: Very nice staff and very nice hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Holiday Inn Pisana Rome from May 8th to 14th. The hotel is located in the suburbs of Rome and even though we had a very pleasant stay there are a few problems with this new hotel. First of all the access to the city. There are no underground (subway) stations near the hotel but the hotel offers a limited shuttle to the nearest underground. The shuttle (probably contracted out) is a joke. It is so irregular that you should forget about it. Whenever the driver feels there are not going to be enough passengers he does not show up at the underground station for the return journey. Yet there is a long-winded solution. Buy a 1-day bus/train travel card, take the bus 881 in front of the hotel and get down at 4th or 5th bus stop and change to bus number 892 from the same stop. This will drop you at an underground station (ask the driver to drop you there).. By the way the bus 881 takes you straight to the city but to find the station for the return journey is a nightmare.
The other thing that bothered me me was when I asked for some ice in my room in the evening (there hotel facilities lists proudly that you can have ice anytime by calling the reception). Now I have been a business and pleasure traveler for 50 years and never in my experience I was asked to pay anything for it. In fact in the American practice of Holiday Inns in the US there are free ice machines on each floor for the guests. So when I was asked to pay Euros 5 for ice I protested. Some middle management level guy came to explain that this was the surcharge for delivery to the room!! This is totally unacceptable as a sheer rip-off. Like the bus tickets they sell at the hotel when they charge 1 Euro for each ticket. All you have to do is come out of the hotel, walk 5 minutes to the right, buy cheaper bus tickets from the news agent and take bus 881 from there (in fact it starts from there). Hope the hotel learns to offer some free services as a courtesy.
Otherwise as I said the stay was very pleasant.
Bashir Ahmad

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

On arrival, this hotel was spotless and very modern. The staff (Lorenzo) was very friendly, welcoming and gave all relevant information regarding our stay. Our room was lovely. Very clean, stylish and the extras such as the safe, iron and tea/coffee facilities were all there. Our room was located very near to the lift and we heard nothing and slept very well. Breakfast was good, with an added bonus of ordering pancakes, waffles etc. It is the staff that make this hotel a winner. Francessca (hopefully correct spelling) was marvellous. She was very helpful and lovely. I will certainly stay here again when in Rome (.... get it? ha ha) As for the location, a little out of the way, but the shuttle bus and the local buses across from the hotel is fine. Loved this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana

Address: Via della Pisana 374, 00163 Rome, Italy (Formerly JSH Hotel Rome)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#215 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pisana Palace Hotel is located near the Vatican, in the Western area of the Capital a few minutes away from the New Fair of Rome, from the Big Ring Road (GRA), and from Fiumicino Airport (Leonardo da Vinci). The Hotel is entirely renewed: the Hall leads you to a living room decorated with an elegant and essential style, arranged into peaceful relax zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere, HotelsClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisana Palace Hotel
Pisana Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Rome-Pisana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.