We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant Angelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sant Angelo to your Saves list
Hotel Sant Angelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #357 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel has great location for exploring Roma - in a quiet street close to the river on the Vatican side. You can walk to the heart of Roma or to the Vatican through endless charming little lanes. We only took a bus one day to go to the Colliseum and then from there walked back all the way. Sunday walking in old Roma is magical - cars and buses are not allowed during the day, so without the business people and trafic you have the city all to yourslef and even with all the other tourists you don't feel crowded...Plus there is a mass in every church, so you can listen to some nice organ music. Our room was very spacious, modern and extremely clean - as was the bathroom. The air-conditiong was also very much appreciated (as it was mid-July). We initially booked a room in the annex, but on arrival was advised that we'll be staying in the main building - could not be happier...Would definately stay again next time in Roma!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    277
    107
    37
    33
See reviews for
118
266
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Sant'Angelo and would definitely stay again! This was our first trip to Rome and the hotel's great location provided easy walks to all of the sites we wanted to see. Our room was clean and had lovely crisp white bed linens (room 205). We had a double bed, which was actually two twins pushed together but was FAR bigger than I would have imagined. Great breakfast, happy hour glass of wine and very friendly front desk staff made our stay lovely. And the entrance to the building is beautiful, you feel like you are staying in a museum!! (note: we were in main building)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. When we arrived at 5pm we were carted across the street into another building named 'Angel Hotel'. Clearly Angel Hotel is an 'overflow' hotel and definitely NOT WORTHY OF 3 STARS. Our room was extremely unsatisfactory with a broken toilet so they moved us to another room, this was tiny with filthy beds so they moved us to a third room which had at some point been a split level room but the staircase cut away, and the upper level boarded up with hard board with no plaster or paint finish and bare pipework etc. it was simply awful. We complained for a third time, particularly as we felt it unsatisfactory for £90 a night... there were no tea/coffee facilities, the safe couldn't be opened, the beds were filthy (see pictures), no bathrobes as advertised, just awful. I asked for a refund in order that I could check out and find somewhere that at least had clean beds, but the man on reception lost his patience and shouted at me, telling me he was 'working and had guests to attend to' were we not guests??? He refused to give us a refund as he said the cancellation fee was 100% of the cost - we don't consider it a cancellation in the sense to which the fee is applied. He then ignored me and moved onto the other guests. The next morning there was no hot water, and reception were unable to confirm whether there would be any that day. It was now 10am and we had not yet seen any of Rome. Finally they switched us to a room in the main building... what a difference. Clean, light, airy, tea/coffee, featured rooms, hot water, everything the hotel description said it was, and worthy of it's 3 star status. We did have a lovely stay from then on, but are disappointed that we wasted so much time with this.
Sorry for the long review, but I want travellers to be clear on what they may face upon arrival: ensure at the time of booking that you are in the main hotel, and if so you will have a wonderful time. Do not under any circumstances accept or book a room in the annex, it is barely worthy of 1 star.

Room Tip: stay on the main building, do not accept or book a room in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

First, the location. It is very convenient, near to Vatican and near to all other central sightseengs, and 50m from the shuttle bus from Fiumicino stop. Second, price is good for Rome. Third, breakfast is really good for Italia, pies and fruits were especially nice. What I didnt like: temperature in rooms, the floor is made from stone, it is very cold even in summer!!! Take socks! Electricity is poor- if you boil water in cattle (to get warmer in cold room), you'd better switch off the TV and lights, otherwise it will be blacked out:))) Room is very small, just bed and small table.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sant Angelo, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
As Responsible of the Customer Care Service of the Hotel Sant’Angelo, I want to thank you for choosing us. We are really grateful that you chose our hotel among many others to spend some days in our wonderful and unforgettable" Eternal City".
It is also a great pleasure for us to read that you appreciated all the advantages offerd by our structure:
1) the fantastic location which gives our welcome guests the possibility to easily get the main attractions on foot. Almost all the most famous monuments are at only 20 minutes’ walking distance from the hotel. In any case, if you do not like walking we are very well connected to every zone of Rome and to the main airports
2) All our rooms are big enough and well equipped with really comfortable beds to gift you a restful and reinvigorating sleep before starting again to sightseeing the incredible beauties of Rome. If you need information or assistance, you can ask the staff because all of us are well informative and always ready to give you indications or good pieces of advice about monuments, restaurants, public transports and much more.
3) Our breakfast is appreciated by all the guests. It consists of a rich international buffet with a large choice of salty and sweet food but, what makes us extremely proud, is that all people from all over the world described it like " our flagship" giving us a great satisfaction.
4) TV and safety box are present in every room to assure you any kind of comfort
5) You can use WFI for free not only in the common areas but also in the room where electricity and hot water are regularly supplied. As you notified it can occasionally happen that water is not hot but it is only because many people are taking a shower or using it at the same time. It is enough to wait a little bit that lukewarm water gets hotter. We hope you will change your mind about the possibility to come back, we wait for you with open arms.
My Best Regards,
Valeria Hotel Sant'Angelo Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location of this hotel was quite good. Pretty central to all landmarks, spanish steps, trevi fountain and the vatican city. room was basic but comfortable. air con wasnt the best so we slept with the windows open but in the morning the street sweper trucks woke us up. The staff were more than helpful, helped us greatly with planning our day trips and minded our luggage whilst we went out on out final day. Breakfast was great also...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel Sant Angelo is really well situated and allowed us easy access to the main sights of Rome. Our triple bedded room was in the main hotel building, some are in an annex further along the street. We booked the room after reading reviews, so there were no surprises when we got to our small room with a tiny bathroom! We came to see Rome, not to spend time in the room. The location and cost made this a great choice for us. The staff were helpful, and provided us a packed breakfast on the day we booked an early day trip. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent, good selection and great coffee!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen Dk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The main hotel and the anneks in another building in the street is placed very near the Tiber so you can easily walk to whereever you want.The rooms are big very clean and the breakfast is excellent.
The staff is very professionel and friendly and will do everything to help you wih suggestions or problems.
A good bargin for the price.I shall return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Angelo

Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sant Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.