We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but i will not come back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant Angelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sant Angelo to your Saves list
Hotel Sant Angelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #379 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good but i will not come back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

First, the location. It is very convenient, near to Vatican and near to all other central sightseengs, and 50m from the shuttle bus from Fiumicino stop. Second, price is good for Rome. Third, breakfast is really good for Italia, pies and fruits were especially nice. What I didnt like: temperature in rooms, the floor is made from stone, it is very cold even in summer!!! Take socks! Electricity is poor- if you boil water in cattle (to get warmer in cold room), you'd better switch off the TV and lights, otherwise it will be blacked out:))) Room is very small, just bed and small table.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSantAngelo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sant Angelo, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
As Responsible of the Customer Care Service of the Hotel Sant’Angelo, I want to thank you for choosing us. We are really grateful that you chose our hotel among many others to spend some days in our wonderful and unforgettable" Eternal City".
It is also a great pleasure for us to read that you appreciated all the advantages offerd by our structure:
1) the fantastic location which gives our welcome guests the possibility to easily get the main attractions on foot. Almost all the most famous monuments are at only 20 minutes’ walking distance from the hotel. In any case, if you do not like walking we are very well connected to every zone of Rome and to the main airports
2) All our rooms are big enough and well equipped with really comfortable beds to gift you a restful and reinvigorating sleep before starting again to sightseeing the incredible beauties of Rome. If you need information or assistance, you can ask the staff because all of us are well informative and always ready to give you indications or good pieces of advice about monuments, restaurants, public transports and much more.
3) Our breakfast is appreciated by all the guests. It consists of a rich international buffet with a large choice of salty and sweet food but, what makes us extremely proud, is that all people from all over the world described it like " our flagship" giving us a great satisfaction.
4) TV and safety box are present in every room to assure you any kind of comfort
5) You can use WFI for free not only in the common areas but also in the room where electricity and hot water are regularly supplied. As you notified it can occasionally happen that water is not hot but it is only because many people are taking a shower or using it at the same time. It is enough to wait a little bit that lukewarm water gets hotter. We hope you will change your mind about the possibility to come back, we wait for you with open arms.
My Best Regards,
Valeria Hotel Sant'Angelo Customer Care Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    254
    97
    34
    29
See reviews for
104
233
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location of this hotel was quite good. Pretty central to all landmarks, spanish steps, trevi fountain and the vatican city. room was basic but comfortable. air con wasnt the best so we slept with the windows open but in the morning the street sweper trucks woke us up. The staff were more than helpful, helped us greatly with planning our day trips and minded our luggage whilst we went out on out final day. Breakfast was great also...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel Sant Angelo is really well situated and allowed us easy access to the main sights of Rome. Our triple bedded room was in the main hotel building, some are in an annex further along the street. We booked the room after reading reviews, so there were no surprises when we got to our small room with a tiny bathroom! We came to see Rome, not to spend time in the room. The location and cost made this a great choice for us. The staff were helpful, and provided us a packed breakfast on the day we booked an early day trip. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent, good selection and great coffee!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen Dk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The main hotel and the anneks in another building in the street is placed very near the Tiber so you can easily walk to whereever you want.The rooms are big very clean and the breakfast is excellent.
The staff is very professionel and friendly and will do everything to help you wih suggestions or problems.
A good bargin for the price.I shall return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Me and my sister stayed at Sant'Angelo for 7 nights between 5-11 september 2012.
Our room was in a separate building across the street from the main hotel building.
The room was quite small but nice and clean and with a window to a small inner garden,
so no traffic noice reached us, With a tv, ac and a small fridge, we had everything we needed
for a comfortable stay. Cleaning and change of towels etc. worked perfectly during the week.
We only tried the breakfast (7,50 EUR) in the main building once, but it was excellent
and well worth the price.
The staff was very polite and helpful and helped us with all questions and bookings.
It is well situated as a starting point for footwalks all over Rome.
Piazza Cavour close by is the nicest piazza we saw throughout all of Rome.
Also - except for Termini railway station this is the only place where the airport bus stops
(SIT buses, 8 EUR one direction from and to the Fiumicino Airport).
In all - a nice quiet and clean hotel well situated in Rome to an affordable price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel building are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent one night. The fan helped with no airconditioning, for it was a hot day and night. However the location and the staff made this a good choice. We had some mix up (language?), but that didn't really distract from the overall experience. We asked for help from the Hotel staff for a guide, with English, and car for a day of touring. The Hotel staff recommended Gabriele Tomei, a young local, who was great. He met our scheduling and site-request needs, going out of his way to make our experience informative, efficient and personal. We would use him again if we returned.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the primary hotel building, not the annex down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

When location and value for money are priorities, then you over look the tiny shower and basic but comfortable small rooms! The tiny lift added to the experience! Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to check into our room early.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Angelo

Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 16 | Vatican area, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#243 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Angelo is a perfect venue for you to start exploring Rome. It is set in one of the best districts of the Eternal City and is just few minutes walking from many important touristic attractions, such as Castel Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica and the Spanish Steps. It is suitable for business travels as well since it is really close to Piazza Cavour, the square in which is located the Palace of Justice (called from local people il Palazzaccio).The Hotel is a perfect starting point also for those who want to explore the city centre for shopping: commercial streets such as Via del Corso, Via Condotti and Via Ottaviano are easily reachable on foot in very short time. Our staff will always try to be helpful during your entire stay giving you informations and advices on everything you may need. Feel free to ask them even where to go tasting tipical dishes of Roman and Italian tradition. You may also ask our clerks to reserve you tickets for museums, gigs, theatres and even guided visits of the most interesting venues of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sant Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Rome
Sant Angelo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.