We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Mellini to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Mellini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #135 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first holiday after getting married and first time in Rome at Hotel Del Mellini. This was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives. The city was full of culture, history and beauty while the hotel and it's staff made the stay even more enjoyable and comfortable. They made us feel welcome. They looked after us and any suggestions I had made, they acknowledged them back to me. This hotel is located walking distance from al the attractions. We were greeted with variety of complimentry fresh fruits. You will be able to walk to majority of them by just looking at the map, from the Vatican city to the Coliseum while enjoying the stroll through the streets of Rome full of life. If this is your first time in Rome than one couldn't recommend this hotel more to you. The rooms were amazing, too. The breakfast bar (full of choices) certainly helped at the start of the day and then you can literally pop in anywhere for a slice of Pizza and a glass of wine or any local food in many cafes they have. On the the subject of he hotel, you must visit the bar downstairs, you will make good friends with staff for sure. Most definitely ask them about local restaurants and places you may want to visit. You may have a list of thing to do prepared but no better people to ask about the local cuisine than the staff. They are an amazing bunch and can not wait to visit them again in the future. Amazing place, amazing hotel and brilliant staff. We had last drinks there on our last night and we will never forget them all.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend most of your time walking about seeing places than even the basic rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    354
    83
    18
    7
See reviews for
156
425
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Dei Mellini typifies in many ways the non-chain, city centre, hotel - certainly in respect of it's decor and furnishings. It is a very friendly and comfortable place and well situated. If I was to find fault, I'd say the bathrooms are in need of an update, but were at least perfectly clean and functional. Our room transpired to be a suite with separate living area and two toilets. The bed was queen size and had a good mattress. The pillows were, alas, typical of many in Europe - too soft and unsupportive.
The 'welcome' bottle of Proscecco was a nice touch, as was the unsolicited birthday bottle for my fiancee! I can only guess they'd spotted her date of birth in her passport.
I made use of their airport limo service which I thought pretty reasonable value at €55.
We would certainly suggest obtaining the services of their recommended city guide, Dr Antje Ingeborg Wolf. Antje took us to the 'highlight' sites over two days, with pre-purchased tickets to avoid the queues. She was wonderful company and hugely knowledgeable on Rome's history and art. Thanks to her, we got so much better value from out short stay. Not cheap, but worthwhile.
Overall, an excellent choice for a city break. And, wow, what a city!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We arrived very early (10am) from a 10 hour flight and we so thrilled that our room would be ready in 30 minutes. Never saw the bellman so we schlepped our bags to our room. We were in room 116 - nicely appointed room. Bathroom was large with double sinks. There was a small balcony outside our room which would have been nice in the summer/fall. Just a bit too chilly for our visit. Shower had nice water pressure. Room was very quiet at night. I didn't care for the breakfast. I guess I am used to the more American type breakfast, but they did have a nice variety of items that most people enjoyed. I thought the scrambled eggs they provided were just terrible. After our initial check in, I never saw anyone at the front desk. Maybe it was just a fluke - who knows. It was a great location to many of the sites in Rome. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby and in the breakfast area, but not in room. That really is not acceptable in this day and age. We did manage to access the free Wi-Fi from our room though, so that was nice. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Put this Prati-neighborhood hotel on your Rome list. Accommodations are pleasant if a bit tight; front-desk staff is highly efficient; morning breakfast starts early and is perfect; neighborhood is night-walk safe and full of pleasant shopping surprises. The hotel was perfect for us. We walked to many sites: Vatican, Pantheon, Arca Pacis, shopping and the great public squares and much more. When we needed other transport, staff arranged instantly for cabs or limos. Rooms are a bit tight, especially after a couple of days. But quiet eigns, even at our street-facing location. Tip 1: Upgrade to a suite if you can; you'll enjoy the extra space. Tip 2: There's a very short list of hotel recommendations for restaurants, so go beyond that. A place just doors away was amazingly good, but no one poined it out. Tip 3: Don't shy away from having the front desk call a taxi . . . it arrives in minutes, and most attractions are a 10 euros or less trip (during th day . . . rates go higher at night).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location walking distance to all locations.
Would I stay in this hotel again no.
Upgraded to a suite the room overall decor was nice , but the room was very stuffy, asked for the heating to be turned off as the rooms were far to hot !
No iron in the room the hotel will provide a ironing service but for a charge which is ridiculous when you have paid so much money to stay there.
No free wifi in rooms.
Breakfast was ok nothing special.
Some of the staff were really lovely especially the tall girl on the bar,
Wish I could say the same for the blonde lady on reception omg MISERABLE .
Room service 8.00 euros to bring to the room , Rip off!!!!!!!!!!!!
But to be fare to the hotel any problems I did they resolved quickly .

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni_Mellini, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are surprised to read your review.
Honestly, we did not expect a review like this from you, just because, as you wrote, we have fulfilled all your wishes quickly.
If I remember well you had the IRON and the iron board in the room for FREE.
As you said the Suite decor is very nice, the hotel has been totally renovated 4 years ago with an Italian contemporary style.
I spoke with the only blonde lady working the front desk to find out if it happened something with you but she said that absolutely she never got to handle your needs so I think it's no fare define her "omg miserable" if you have not dealt with her.
We really hope that you would give us another chance in the future especially because, as you can read, the majority of reviews are talking about how GOOD we are.
Best regards.

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in November 2014. We had asked for an upgrade to a deluxe room and were given what appeared to be a suite with a bedroom, sitting room with table and chairs, sofa, one bathroom with bath and shower (over) and one with just sink and toilet - and an exercise bicycle - in the sitting room, that is! (What we didn't have - which was described as a feature of deluxe rooms - were bathrobes. When I asked at the desk, I was told "not all rooms have bathrobes". Quite so - but we expected them in our room! None were forthcoming but we didn't press the point.)

The bed was very comfortable and the shower very efficient. There were 2 televisions, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room; they were a little complicated to operate if you want to find a particular channel. The rooms, though spacious, were a little dark but also very quiet so a restful change from the city.

The buffet breakfast was very adequate if not especially extensive. We didn't use the small bar in the lobby. There are a number of restaurants in the vicinity, all with plenty to choose from.
After a day's walking/sightseeing, we were disinclined to trail back to the centre and were happy with the eateries nearby. A couple of small shops in the area supply snacks, water etc.

The hotel's location is convenient for the Vatican and the Villa Borghese and in fact we walked everywhere in the city - simpler than negotiating public transport ( and you would probably only sit in a traffic jam) and nothing was all that far away so we had a quiet location but not inconveniently distant from the centre and the sights.

To get to the hotel we took the airport bus ( had bought tickets online in advance) into the main station and then took the metro to the Lepanto stop on the red line, from which it was a 10-15 minute walk to the hotel. This cost us 5.50 euros each as opposed to a taxi fare of 55 euros!

Overall we were happy with our stay at the hotel, part of a BA Citybreak and would recommend it for comfort, location, peace and quiet.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the central courtyard will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Very handy to all sites. everything was within walking distance.
However have a sat nav handy or a decent map.
Felt very safe and food in local restaurants was fantastic. i expected to pay more but was pleasantly surprised at bill total.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Address: Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#112 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#153 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the “mellini gym”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Mellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.