We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel suitable for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Mellini to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Mellini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #135 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel suitable for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was taken to Rome for my 30th birthday by my husband. The hotel is situated in one of the back streets and in a very quiet location. Although within walking distance to all the major sites; 20 min walk to Vatican City, 10 min to Spanish steps.The furthest sites we wanted to see from the hotel was the coliseum, we were told it may be too far to walk and we were advised of further options, taxi, bus etc. They advised what bus to take and the bus stop was at the end of the road. Very easy, although it isn't actually that far away if you did want to walk.The staff couldn't of been more helpful. My husband had been in communication before our trip to arrange surprises of roses and champagne upon our arrival. Communication was very easy. Room was excellent. Good size and nice comfy bed, although we could of done with some more pillows. Had we remembered to ask each night I'm sure they would have accommodated us. We had a balcony in our room which over looked the quiet street. The mini bar prices were fairly steep but when aren't they? The breakfast room was lovely and serves hot and cold drinks, cereal, croissants, fruit, yoghurts. The only hot food was scrambled egg and bacon but plenty of other treats to fill you up. A really lovely hotel and all staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to have comfort whilst enjoying Rome at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We had room 206. Very spacious for two & had walk out balcony over looking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni_Mellini, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
I agree with everything you've written. Thank you very much!
The HOTEL DEI MELLINI has a TOP LOCATION, as everyone saying on Tripadvisor.
Our Staff at the reception loves to help guests and of course we have given all the options to reach places and attractions.
It is always possible to arrange surprises before arrival and we are able to give options and prices, just send us an e-mail. Communication is easy for us because we have multi languages staff and we and we love to satisfy all the clients needs.
The Hotel has been totally RENOVATED a few years ago and all the rooms are very nice and comfortable as you said.
Check our Youtube channel and Facebook page to find more information about us for future offers so you can come back.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    354
    83
    18
    7
See reviews for
156
425
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely, helpful, polite staff; clean hotel; decent breakfast; first class deluxe room, very comfortable and big bed; quiet and convenient location. Would have given 5 stars but for the truly extortionate bar and mini-bar prices - 7 euro for a 240ml bottle of warm beer is taking the p*** in anyone's language so, don't get ripped off by the drink prices, go to 1 of the nearby minimarts and buy 660ml of ice cold beer for 1euro 30cents instead!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni_Mellini, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely words!
Consider that you can enjoy great cocktails, beers, juices and much more to our Mellini Bar!
The bartender is becoming famous for his great service, can be seen by reading the other reviews
We have always offers going on like "drink one and get one FREE".
Drinks can be enjoyed also by sitting in our Roof Terrace overlooking the roofs of Rome.
Please return soon.

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked the Dei Mellini via British Airways as a weekend city break to Rome as a surprise birthday present for my partner. We arrived on very wet Rome evening in November. As we walked into the hotel we received a very warm welcome. We checked in a were given a map showing all the key attractions. When we saw the room the dark wet evening just melted away. From the hotel we were a 20 minute walk to the Vatican. Walking or taking a bus to the main attraction of Rome is so easy. The next day it rained which did not dampen our love of Rome. On returning to the hotel and the lovely room, it didn't really matter about the weather. Breakfast was full of variety and the staff were friendly too. The location of this hotel is perfect to enjoy Rome and everything it has to offer. We will return to Rome and the Dei Mellini Hotel. Thank you for assisting in making our visit to Rome so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni_Mellini, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
How wonderful is what you telling us?
You're absolutely right, stay in a comfortable Hotel like Hotel dei Mellini, something that everyone writes in their reviews, it is the best way to not give relevance to small bad things that can happen during a trip (see bad weather).
In any case, as you said, Rome is really fascinating even when it rains.
Also, as everyone saying, our top location helps a lot.
It is very easy to reach all the main attractions and in the area is full of very nice and inexpensive restaurants where local people love to go.
Can't wait to have you again as our value guest.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Close to all of the major tourist stops - easy walk to the Vatican, Plaza Del Poppolo, Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps, shopping on Via Corsi, great restaurants, etc. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating - our room (106) overlooked the street but the street was quiet in the evenings and did not bother us. We also had room 107 which faced the courtyard. Breakfast was good, hotel/rooms were newly re-done and clean, etc. Free wifi was available in the lobby areas but not in the rooms - there is a fee for wifi in the rooms. One in our group left an important item behind in the hotel room, and the Francesca/ the front desk staff immediately took care of it for us; we could not have asked for more. Definitely recommend the Dei Mellini, and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the street; request a room in the rear if this bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Wow!
These are comments that we love to read.
It is very good that we managed to send you back your left item. We usulally love taking care of our customers before, during and after their stay.
You are right, wifi is free in common areas, but having look at our web site it is possible to find many offers where wifi is included in the entire building.
We wish you an amazing 2014.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed as a family of five form 21st December till 28th. Our 4th stay in Itlay, excellent location, great rooms and great
staff, close to the Vatican and Spanish steps, shops restaurants, reception very helpful and Marco at the bar too.
Will definetly return.
Charles William Camilleri

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Camilleri,
Thank you very much for choosing us.
Marco can't wait to welcome you again with a nice drink.
The Hotel location is excellent, our rooms are totally renovated and extremely clean.
We put special attention to details and we love make clients feel like home.
Please come back soon.
Happy New Year.

Luisa D'alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

great location and accommodations. Very friendly staff. The people here went above and beyond for us. We were booked for a week and decided to see Italy more and check out early. Dei mellini actually contacted orbitz and got our money back for the nights we didn't stay. I've never seen such amazing customer service. It was so nice having $800 in our pocket for the rest of our trip! Next time I go to rome I will stay at dei mellini for sure. Thanks so much!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Wow! it's such a pleasure reading your review!
We remember your story and it has been amazing helping you.
We always do our best to help customers in all their matters, we love do that.
Hope to see you soon again, Merry Christmas from all of us.


Luisa D'alessandri
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed three nights in September on the recommendation of our travel agent, she was right! The Del Mellini is a very nice hotel and very well located for walking to much of Rome. We hoofed it to the Vatican, the Spanish Steps and even Trestavere.

Very nice rooms and an excellent breakfast room and assortment of food. They had hot and cold available, eggs, bacon and a nice selection of pastries.

Our check in was a little disappointing as we arrived about 11 AM and were told no room could be available until 2 PM. We went out and walked about Rome as this was our arrival day in Italy. At 2:30 we returned to be told that they had a large cruise group just leave and the room would still be a while. We really wanted to change and clean up, but we did get into the room about 4 PM. The room was very nice, good furnishings and clean. We used the provided slippers for the balance of out trip and were grateful for them.

The only real disappointment was that internet service is expensive in rooms. While free in the lobby, this was the only hotel we found in Italy that charged 15 Euro for internet and upgraded television in the room.

We very much enjoyed this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir thank you very much for your kind review.
You are totally alright regarding our location, it is possible to walk almost everywhere.
thanks to valuable customer feedback, our real bosses we have increased our breakfast buffet through the years to suit all tastes.
We are terribly sorry to read that you got in the room at 04:00pm, at this time it isn't possible go back to events but really the only explanation can be that a large group of people has not left the room on time. The Others clients who are reading can confirm that we Always check-in people early in the morning.
Regarding the internet we provide free wifi in all the common areas or upon payment in the rooms, considere that Euro 15 is a package of 96 hours and it is possible to use 3 computers at the same time. Check our web site, there are a lot of offers where we include wi-fi in the entire building.
We really hope to have you again at the Hotel dei Mellini.
We wish you the best Christmas ever and an Happy new year.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Address: Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#112 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#153 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the “mellini gym”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Mellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.