We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del Mellini- Bellissimo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Mellini to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Mellini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #134 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Lockport, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Del Mellini- Bellissimo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed three nights in September on the recommendation of our travel agent, she was right! The Del Mellini is a very nice hotel and very well located for walking to much of Rome. We hoofed it to the Vatican, the Spanish Steps and even Trestavere.

Very nice rooms and an excellent breakfast room and assortment of food. They had hot and cold available, eggs, bacon and a nice selection of pastries.

Our check in was a little disappointing as we arrived about 11 AM and were told no room could be available until 2 PM. We went out and walked about Rome as this was our arrival day in Italy. At 2:30 we returned to be told that they had a large cruise group just leave and the room would still be a while. We really wanted to change and clean up, but we did get into the room about 4 PM. The room was very nice, good furnishings and clean. We used the provided slippers for the balance of out trip and were grateful for them.

The only real disappointment was that internet service is expensive in rooms. While free in the lobby, this was the only hotel we found in Italy that charged 15 Euro for internet and upgraded television in the room.

We very much enjoyed this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sir thank you very much for your kind review.
You are totally alright regarding our location, it is possible to walk almost everywhere.
thanks to valuable customer feedback, our real bosses we have increased our breakfast buffet through the years to suit all tastes.
We are terribly sorry to read that you got in the room at 04:00pm, at this time it isn't possible go back to events but really the only explanation can be that a large group of people has not left the room on time. The Others clients who are reading can confirm that we Always check-in people early in the morning.
Regarding the internet we provide free wifi in all the common areas or upon payment in the rooms, considere that Euro 15 is a package of 96 hours and it is possible to use 3 computers at the same time. Check our web site, there are a lot of offers where we include wi-fi in the entire building.
We really hope to have you again at the Hotel dei Mellini.
We wish you the best Christmas ever and an Happy new year.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    354
    83
    18
    7
See reviews for
156
425
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed there late November. It was a gift visit from daughters as I had never visited Rome.
The hotel is hidden away in a street a couple of streets from the river and within easy walking distance of restaurants, the Castle and the Vatican. The receptionist was very helpful with directions, maps and suggestions for eating places. There was an offer to take our luggage up but there was no need. We were given an electronic card to open up. The same card is used to make .tthe lights stay on and one must push this into a slot and take it with you on leaving. My single room was spacious and clean and suitably warm. There was a spare blanket. I didn't use the TV or internet keyboard, finding them confusing. Breakfast was adequate in a small brightly lit dining room. Other meals are not served but it is possible to get a snack served in the bar, where I had a local dish.
I can recommend the hotel for is cleanliness and friendliness and convenience to the main tourist sites. One can pick up a tour bus at the end of the street. I would certain use this hotel again if my coin in the fountain means that I will return to Rome one day

Room Tip: I did work out how I might get out in case of fire !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
You did the right thing, throw the coin into the Trevi fountain gives certainty, one day you'll come back to Rome.
Thank you for your kind review that is very important for us to improve the quality of service.
Our staff is always at disposal to explain how to use TV, Internet, safe, AC, heating system etc.
Hope to see you soon.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A lovely hotel in a central position from which it is an easy walk to the major sites. It is situated on a quiet street very close to the river, and our lovely large room overlooked the street but was very quiet. The staff were very helpful and offered restaurant recommendations which proved to be excellent. WIFI is free in the public areas.
The airport shuttle bus stops at the Piazza Cavour, which is just a few minutes walk from the hotel, and only costs 6 euros. The only minor disappointment for us would be that breakfast although perfectly adequate is uninspiring and for a hotel of this quality we expected something rather more interesting! However the breakfast room is charming and the waiting staff very efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much!
True, the Hotel location is perfect, easy to walk to the major sites and far for the traffic noise.
As you said our Concierge can make dinner reservation advising the best restaurants of the city, but also guided tours, ticketing, transportation etc.
The breakfast room was totally renovated two years ago and our buffet had been increased a lot trying to satisfy customers from every where, but thank you for your kind note, we will try to make it even better.
Waiting for you to come back.
Best regards.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our four night 'mini-moon' in Rome. As soon as we arrived we were helped with our bags and taken to see a very helpful lady at reception. She gave us a map of Rome and pointed out the main attractions and mentioned the public transport (should we wish to use it) to be used to get to the further away ones. Turns out that the hotel isn't more than a 30 minute walk away from most things so our feet were the only things we needed! As we were on a honeymoon we wanted somewhere special to eat on our last night, the lady at reception recommended a lovely rooftop restaurant not far from the hotel (although as bad luck would have it, it was raining so the restaurant had a cover over it. Still a great place though).

Our room (401) was clean and spacious with a lovely big bed. It was overlooking a street but noise from traffic was not a problem at all.

We ate out every night and it was lovely to come back and have a quiet drink in the hotel bar (and use the wifi!) before bed. It's a small bar but well stocked and a nice relaxing place to sit.

The only thing we struggled with was finding an iron. There wasn't one in the room and the only suggestion from reception was to use the 24 hour laundry service, which wasn't helpful to us as we had a creased shirt that we needed for that night (the old trick of hanging it in the bathroom with the shower running worked fine in the end!)

We would definitely return to this hotel as we enjoyed our stay here so much, it's in a great location and the staff are helpful and friendly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment.
For security reasons, we do not allow customers to iron in the room. There is an external laundry and ironing service that delivers within 24 hours, but in cases of urgency, the Housekeeper can iron in house.
Maybe there was a misunderstanding and we did not realize you needed the shirt for the same evening, next time you come will not happen again.
See you soon!

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I prefer very nice, but not "stuffy" hotels - and this fit the bill. We stayed 4 nights (November 11th - 14th) and the location was great - an easy walk across the Tiber to the Spanish Steps or the Piazza del Popolo. And walking to the Vatican was a breeze. We even walked down to the Travestere area for dinner one night which was beautiful.

The room was large (we did have a deluxe room on the 6th floor) and extremely clean. The bathroom was updated and large too - my husband is 6'4" and showers in hotels can be rough for him - not this one! The amenities were fine (no conditioner though).

We ate breakfast every day in the hotel and it was just fine. Nothing too special but it was easy.

And the staff were very helpful and kind every time we needed them. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and if we go back, I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I agree with you.
The Hotel dei Mellini is so well located that is possible to go everywhere by walking.
In addition to the places listed by you, it is also easy to walk to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Castel St. Angelo, Ara Pacis, Fontana di Trevi, Via del Corso, Via dei Condotti etc.
Our Concierge is always at disposal to show itineraries and to give information on dining in Rome.
All the bathrooms on 6th and 5th floor has been redecorated last month so if you come back your husband can have shower even more comfortable now.
Thank you very much.

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, good location. Helpful staff in breakfast room and porters good, reception not so much.

I'm not the type to sweat the small stuff but a lie in and some r&r time to read my book or relax in my room is important.At present the renovation work starts from nine into the early evening,consistent banging and drilling from when you wake up to when you get back from a day exploring the city.

Not much to ask for to have a relaxing time when away, but at the moment unfortunately here you won't get it,oh and don't bother to tell reception they're not interested.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are very sorry to read your review but as I said before, everything is good to improve and grow.
WE ARE NOW FINISHED to redecorate all the bathrooms on the 5th and 6th floor so no noise, no banging or drilling, no any effect at all at the moment. To be exact, as also explained in the previous answer, only on the first day of works there were some noises that might have annoyed customers, we immediately intervened by stopping the noise and postponing noisy work in the afternoon.
The thing for which I am most saddened is the bad perception that you have had of our reception staff, usually always getting good reviews. We really hope that you will give us anther chance and we will be pleased to make you change your mind on us.
Thank you very much for your review.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked the hotel on the basis of previous reviews. It was definitely in a great location. 10 minutes walk to the Spanish steps and slightly longer to the Vatican and Castel St Angelo. The public areas were small, but well kept. However, we were slightly disappointed with our room (208) which was small and quite dark. It did have the advantage of facing inwards so we did not get any traffic noise from the street but it really didnot bear any resemblance to the room photos posted on the hotel website. In addition, while we were staying the whole of the 6th floor was being renovated and the noise from the builders started before 9am each day during the week. The breakfast service was OK but fairly limited in range and would have got very boring if we had been staying for more than a couple of days. The service we received from the concierge/ doorman was great, but reception was not so good. Perhaps my views were affected by sitting in the reception area one evening - to use the free wifi- only to find that the staff on reception were very loud and noisy and were obviously having a lot of fun, behind the scenes. There just wasn't much help available at the desk itself.
We have stayed at a number of hotels in Rome and whilst this was good for location I would not make a special effort to go back again

Room Tip: Avoid room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
You are absolutely right, the hotel is situated in a quiet area but at the same time close to the historic center. It is easy to walk everywhere.
We are sorry that you didn't like room 208 which is one of our basic room, all the rooms are different between one and another and the satisfaction of them depend on the client's taste (someone likes to have room facing the rear, someone in the front, someone next to elevator, someone far to the elevator, someone on the last floor, someone on the first floor).
It is very important inform the reception if the room is not what aspected, our staff is always at disposal to offer an alternative room.
WE ARE NOW FINISHED TO REDECORATE ALL THE BATHROOMS ON THE 5TH AND 6TH FLOOR.
For the sake of honesty, we have to say that the 11/18/13 ( first day of redecoration) due to a communication error with the workers, there were some noises that might have annoyed customers, obviously we have taken action promptly and in the following days did not appened.
We really hope that you change your mind and that you will come back one day, we will be glad to assign you a room with a brand new bathroom.
Thanks again for your comment that, like all others, will contribute to our growth.

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Address: Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#111 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#153 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the “mellini gym”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Mellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.