We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Mellini to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Mellini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #129 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“roma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great hotel friendly staff very helpful.The rooms are clean. The breakfast was plentiful .Tea and coffee maker in room only you had to ask for milk at bar Would recommend this hotel.Within walking distance of colosseum, Vatican, Spanish steps , etc If you take the lift to the top of Vittoriano you get a view over Rome .The hop on and off bus is great for seeing what you might miss.

Room Tip: Rooms nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    385
    88
    19
    8
See reviews for
166
477
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Brilliant stay at this hotel,we had 3 nights,breakfast was good,no restraunt for evening meal,but were recommended a couple of nearby restraunts,(vitos being one of them)lovely meal there,very good location to coleseaum(25min walk)&vatican(15 mins),if you do go to these place please buy your tickets online before you go!!!,we did this&by passed the long long que which we were told was 2 and a half hours long&went straight to the front!!!only negative side to hotel was no tea or coffee facility in rooms,o well you can't av it all!!!!!,will def recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Second time staying at this location. First impressions are always stronger. Distance from the centre of the city is definitely a negative. Junior suites are nice but still relatively small. Breakfast is good. Having to pay for in room Internet access when paying in excess of 350 dollars per night is ridiculous. Front desk staff are good but this is definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We flew BA and I highly recommend this airline. We flew with Easy Jet a couple of months ago, a six hour flight, cramped and had to pay extra for every little thing, horrible. This flight was just two and a half hours and was luxurious in comparison. More leg room, free drinks and food, excellent.
The hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing. It's relatively small, and the staff are friendly and professional. We stayed in a suite which was ideal as we stayed for a week. The weather was so hot it was nice to be able to come back to our room for a snooze in the afternoons and have the extra space. We had tea and coffee making facilities, very comfortable bed and a great bathroom. Even had a docking thingy so we could play our music. Only negative in the whole stay was the inadequate air con, considering the temperature was in the high 30s every day this was a bit uncomfortable at night, but hey, all part of the experience.
We fell in love with Rome, we'll definitely return to the dei Mellini. One tip, try and learn some Italian. Outside of the hotel most Italians don't speak English. Always take your hotel details out with you. We nearly got into a pickle when we got a cab back and couldn't make the driver understand where we wanted to go.

Room Tip: A suite if you can,is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a triple room which was very clean but quite basic, just a large room with one large bed and a small single which my son was a bit tall for at 6', and the bed was very firm. The A/C did not work well at all but it was hot in Rome at the time. They changed the shower head on our second day which made the water blast out horizontally, which was a bit odd. The buffet breakfast was pretty good, though they could have changed it a little each day. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room, since there was an 8 Euro charge for room service, but at least you could get it at the bar and bring it up yourself. Good quiet location, 20 minutes walk to the Vatican, short walk to the bus stop. There were restaurants and shops nearby. Staff were helpful. Would have enjoyed it a lot more if the A/C worked better.

Room Tip: The suites are much better rooms than the triples, and they do have tea and coffee making facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned and I can honestly say this hotel rates as one of the best I've stayed in and I would say I'm very fussy . We had a deluxe room which was more a mini suite . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff . Our room was serviced twice a day with bed turned down . The prosecco left for us on arrival was a lovely touch.
Location super , quiet but close to most attractions.
Breakfast yummy and very fresh .
Would certainly recommend and we will definitely return !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Kind staff.
Room was spacious.
Bathrooms were old.
They control the air.
It was hot, never cooled down enough.
Unable to sleep at night due it it being hot and uncomfortable.
Good location, walking distance to sites nearby.
Short 10 minute cab ride to Colosseum and minutes from the Vatican.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Address: Via Muzio Clementi, 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#87 Family Hotel in Rome
#102 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#168 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the “mellini gym”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Mellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.