We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Little Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita
Via Rasella 21 | Via Baccina 92, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #384 of 629 Specialty Lodging in Rome
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Interesting Little Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

92 Via Baccina #2

This was an interesting little place. It was not the apartments listed on their website. It is not a bed and breakfast and I don't know why it is advertised as such. It is not a motel. We felt a little deceived, but that seems to be the way in Italy. Watch out for those taxis! The staff was very nice and helpful. We loved the Mercedes ride back to the airport and the driver was early which the staff set up for us.

Pluses: It's right there in the center of old Rome. Very convenient to everything. We walked almost everywhere and felt very safe and comfortable. It was clean, except for the ants, which only came out when they saw food. It was certainly cleaner than Rome with the all graffiti and trash and beggers which was amazing to us this being our first trip to Europe. It was a quiet neighborhood. The food was terrific.

Cons: Very old and tired small kitchen and bath. Needs some decent towels, but they were clean. No decent place just to sit and read at night. Some kind of low foam couch. A decent couch would be very nice. No DVD as advertised on the website. There was no breakfast. The shower is not for large people, but it worked well. Don't plan on any serious cooking in the kitchen, but it was ok for cereal.

Inspite of the limitations we had a great time in Rome and can't wait to go back to Italy.

It was just a nice, slightly overpriced old place to sleep. So we went to bed early and got up early - which was not a bad thing. I'd show pictures but you've probably already have seen them.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
1,278 helpful votes 1,278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We are a family of 4 (2 teens) and we were visiting Rome for the week immediately before Christmas, returning home on Christmas Eve. Hotels with rooms that would sleep 4 were pretty expensive and hard to find and an apartment which gave everyone more space seemed the perfect idea.

Found these apartments on the internet and emailed for information. The responses were timely and written in good English, very welcoming. First thing to know is that there are two addresses and certainly the one we stayed at is not a b&b, it is a self catered apartment. We wanted to be near the Forum and the Colosseum and so we picked the location at 92 Via Baccina. It was literally 5 minutes walk to the Forum and the Colosseum and you could see the Forum from the apartment windows.
There was nothing to pay in advance and we were advised that we would pay in full on arrival - in cash. The owner is a pilot and he lives in the top floor of the building.
Via Baccina is a very quiet street, almost no traffic at all and yet there are great restaurants within a couple of minutes walk and the nearest metro stops ie Cavour or Colosseo are within minutes. Last year when only two of us visited we stayed at the Inn at the Roman Forum (wonderfully luxurious) which is about 50 yards away from the apartment, so its a good area.
Our flat was on the first floor and consisted of a large living/dining room, one twin and one king bedroom, a bathroom and a very tiny kitchen. The kichen is just about big enough for one person but it is perfectly adequate for what we needed ie coffee, tea etc. Having said that it had a large fridge/freezer, a washing machine and a dishwasher so was quite well equipped.
The furnishings are simple but antique and charming - quirky. I was worried that the apartment might be draughty and cold but the heating and hot water worked really well and we were thoroughly toasty throughout. There are free internet based phone calls to a lot of international locations as well as local (USA and UK for instance).
Some of the bathroom fitments need updating, there's some ants that need looking at in the kitchen but the bed was very comfortable, the sheets and pillows were good and we were very happy there. The location was so good. We could be at the Colosseum within about 7 minutes and the Trevi Fountain in about 10 and for such a great location it was just so incredibly quiet at night. We walked just about everywhere except the Villa Borghese and the Vatican.
There are a couple of little food shops close by, restaurants, excellent coffee shops and gelateria. Would definitely stay here again. We paid 870 euro for the week which seemed a good deal against what we would have paid in a hotel for 4 of us. If you want plush or fancy, this apartment wouldn't suit you. If you want a charming Roman experience in a fantastic location then have a look at it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the kitchen
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

La Dolce Vita B&B is very centrally located around the corner from the Trevi Fountain. It is quite large and being that there were six of us, two bathrooms and three bedrooms were wonderful! The flat was clean and comfortable; the kitchen small but it worked out fine. Mario is more than gracious and very accommodating. We had a problem with the washing machine and after telephoning during a holiday weekend, Mario was there the next evening. He made sure everything was in working condition for us. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Liked — location, size of flat and managers
  • Disliked — needs better pots & pans
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Stayed for 5 night during week stay in Tuscany for a wedding.
Not the easiest to find if driving about Lucca by car through the narrow street swith shoppers on your first day!!!!!!

Up a tenemanet 1st floor next to a lovely cafe, good prices/food.
Coupld on top floor phoned owners to gain access as we missed msg on front entrance door as it was open.

Only problem was expecting towels/linen to be changed on 4th day, really needed fresh towels, but it didn't happen. Would have got them if i phoned owner probably though

Little cafe downstairs is excellent, friendly owner, good food and prices.

Would visit again if onbudget....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no replacement towels
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

This suite was perfect for our family of 7. Traveling with 3 children and 2 seniors is not easy and this apartment and its owners are wonderful. The simple yet comfortable accommodations made our time in Rome feel like we were at home. 3/2 apartment in Rome in such a neat neighborhood was perfect for our family. Only a 5 minute walk to Trevi fountain, grocery store, and restaurants. Affordable and comfortable for large groups.The owners (Luca and Mario) are helpful and so pleasant to deal with also, they even arranged for a driver to take us straight to the apartment after a long trip! Enjoy Rome but use caution while sightseeing, pickpockets galore.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

My wife booked this flat directly online for myself and my mother then was able to also join us. We had three adults in the two bedroom, one bath flat which also has a small kitchenette and a dining room/sitting room. The flat is very convenient to the Colosseum, Piazza Venezia, Palatine and Fori Imperiali area.

We really enjoyed our stay. The flat is of course like everything else in the area - very old. It was also very comfortable and safe. We enjoyed living among local Romans and experiencing Rome like they do. Leonardo, the owner, was very helpful and oriented us to the area when we arrived.

If old world charm rather than modern hotel facilities are your prefered way to travel, I highly recommend this flat.

  • Liked — location, charm
  • Disliked — lighting
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens - Picardie
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

We were there in September 06 for 15 days. A very nice and pleasant place. Just in the heart of Roma. Our flat was Via Baccina, close to the Forum.
We started with a friendly welcome from Leonardo (flowers on the table and fresh Italian wine in the fridge)
The flat is nice, spacious bedroom with useful cupboard. Every morning, as opening the shutters of the living room we can see the forum
Quiet place, very cosy and comfortable. The kitchen is rather small but actually, it is not the main goal of our trip and as you know we can find a lot of nice and cheap restaurants in Roma (an Italian life is outside). Easy to have a quick lunch before leaving…
Easy to share your journey, lan connection and free of charge phone to contact your family. This allow us to send pictures on a web site and share feelings with on line connection.
Just to help, you can find nice restaurants and small shop (with all needed) around, Via Dei Serpenti and Via Cavour (if needed, we can give you address).
Just a negative point, some trouble with the shower, of course we have water but not coming properly (but this will be better next time)
We lived there as in our home and this was a great pleasure.
This was our third trip in Roma, always with La Dolce Vita and always with the same pleasure and satisfaction.
We will post some pictures.
Thanks to Luca and Leonardo. We will come soon. Best regards.

  • Liked — Heart of Roma
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
For_U_More, property manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, November 16, 2006
Hallo, for information the shower head has been changed with a new one and it's perfect now.
we have improved the telephone connection so that you can make unlimited telephone calls to western Europe, USA and CANADA free of charge.
Internet is free of charge, unlimited and fast.
We have a new massage room on site for Ayurvedic traditional massage (by reservation).
We are waiting for you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Via Rasella 21 | Via Baccina 92, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 629 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.