We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would 100% stay at this hotel if I were to return to Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cortina to your Saves list
Hotel Cortina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale,18, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would 100% stay at this hotel if I were to return to Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was everything I could have asked for. At such low prices (compared to the rest of the city) I did not expect such a good hotel. I requested a big room if possible and without even promting the manager took us to a larger room and took the time to reccommend a restaurant for dinner and drew it out on a map for us. The hotel staff were very helpful and keen to help and were exetremely polite and professional. The hotel itself is situated at a very convienient place in the city - most attractions are within a walking distance, we walked to the Vatican but got the subway back which was very easy to use and close to Cortina Hotel.

I CANNOT RECCOMMEND THIS HOTEL ENOUGH!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    141
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
129
214
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Centrally located, very close to the train station and within a 10 minute walk to most of the major attractions. Good value room, very friendly staff who are informative and happy to help. Light breakfast buffet available but no hot food. If you are looking for a good value hotel, this is a great option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I can confirm all the good reviews are true and the location is spot on!
Absolutely super helful staff, will give you maps and explain everything:)
Breakfast will satisfy every hungry tummy, you will find crossaints, white rolls, chese, ham, yougurts, sweet buns.
You have to leave a key when going out.
Bathroom was good size but shower tiny, with free shampoos & soap, no shower gel.
Old school hair dryer on the wall.
In the end you are out all days, so having a comfy bed and hot shower is the most important:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We looked at many hotels on TA for months before deciding, as it was our first trip to Rome. We arrived at 0815am and were welcomed with open arms. Our room was not ready as expected, but the gentleman agreed to hold our bags and offered us breakfast and coffee. He had a small place for me to change and this was terrific after a long flight from the US. We had a tour scheduled and he called us a cab which was waiting for us when we got downstairs. He upgraded us upon arrival to Apartment B and it was as lovely as the pictures. We were thrilled. We had 2 rooms and a lovely balcony. The room was quiet and comfortable and our bags were waiting in the room when we returned from our tour. The espresso machine in the room was terrific. The rate was better than anything we had seen and the location was central to everything. Made it easy to tour in the morning and come back for a nap. The Irish pub directly downstairs had great food for reasonable prices and we ate outside and enjoyed the lovely Sept weather. I cannot say enough about this property. It was clean, friendly and reasonable and we were so impressed with our stay. Do not hesitate…it is worth it.

Room Tip: Did not see the rooms, but Apartment B is set back, around the corner and makes you feel like a loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in the family room which was nice. It was a little cramped, but nice and clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was very nice, staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was great. Nearby we could get on the buses we needed to go to the sites and many were within walking distance. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 3 days in Rome in August, only downside to that was that we were in Rome in August, it was hot, hot, hot. This hotel was fantastic, the warm welcome and the air conditioned rooms were just what we needed. There were 4 of us in Room 14 and there was still enough room not to feel overly cramped. Breakfast was great, free internet is always welcome and the hotel is located not too far from the train station (although with heavy backpacks it seemed further!). There are many restaurants and shops in very close proximity to the hotel. Would definitely stay there again if I go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Cortina hotel for five nights, my wife and I, with our three children, following warm recommendations on this sight. We were not disappointed. The hotel is centrally located, with good transport to all parts of Rome. The hotel itself is comfortable, quiet, the staff is helpful, and the breakfast is satisfying. The manager Angelo Milana speaks excellent English and is helpful and willing to share his knowledge of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Address: Via Nazionale,18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#92 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.