We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Howard GuestHouses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Howard GuestHouses to your Saves list
Casa Howard GuestHouses
Via Capo Le Case 18 & Via Sistina 149, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,357 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Covington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've stayed in the Casa Howard four times in 2006 & 2008. Twice in Florence and twice in the Roman Via Sistina guest house. The rooms are small in the Via Sistina property, However the comfortable and in some cases elegant touches more that make up for size. We stay in Tommy's Room perhaps the smallest of the five rooms and the Flower Room somewhat larger with a queen bed. Both were appointed with high end linens and baths that were remarkable. I particularly enjoyed the small balcony in the Flower Room. One could enjoy the street life of the Via Sistina. Look up the hill to the Trinità Church and the top of the Spanish Steps' Look down to the Via Barberini. I highly recommend the Via Sistina Casa Howard for its comfort, style, baths, and location and value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    70
    21
    13
    25
See reviews for
26
136
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The breakfasts in bed were such a treat! The room was small but beautifully decorated, well presented and very clean. Cristine, who speaks excellent English, was extremely helpful. We would certainly go back and hope to visit Casa Howard in Florence too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Casa Howard Capo Le Case, like its sister properties at via Sistina and in Florence, is a wonderful gem of a guest house. It's not a hotel, so it might not be an ideal fit for people looking for a full suite of hotel services and amenities. But independent-minded travelers looking for a well-designed home base from which to navigate the city will find much to love at Casa Howard.

My wife and I stayed here in January for our last night in Rome before leaving Italy. It was everything we were looking for: a beautiful, quiet apartment with an en-suite bathroom (which, as a bonus, was stocked with products from the inimitable Santa Maria Novella pharmacy in Florence). The guest house was able to arrange for airport transportation for us; the reliable car service arrived exactly on schedule, and payment was handled without hassle.

An honor bar and a well-edited selection of books is available for guests' use during their stay. Breakfast can be arranged, although we didn't take advantage this time.

I have only good things to say about this property.

Room Tip: The Green Room is lovely, with both an en-suite bathroom and a street view. I am sure that other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located near Spanish Steps. Other major Rome attractions east of river also easily walkable. We stayed in the Green Room. Furnished with a double bed with a very firm mattress, small desk and a private bathroom with shower. Although it looks right out on to the street from the second floor, it was fairly quiet. Drinks like wine, beer and Coke are available just outside the door for a small charge. Hostess was very friendly and eager to answer our questions. Comfortable overall. Not luxurious, but after all this is not a hotel, it is a guest house.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

First impressions count - and the first few impressions of the capo le case house weren't that great. I was a bit sceptical after having booked the residence because of some so-so reviews - and the initial struggle to find the place had me worried. It's an unmarked green door, with no signs and only the number ('18') above the door.

We stayed in the Chinese room which was small....very small. Again, I thought all my fears had come to fruition. Especially when the free wifi struggled to reach to the back of the building where the Chinese room is located. Gulp.

After having spent 3 days here, though, I realised what a gem the place was. The hammam shower/toilet that comes with the Chinese room (even though a wander down a corridor!) was fantastic. Christina, the concierge was really helpful too. The room also grew on me, it was cosy and warm, quiet too when you close the windows and the bed was comfy.

Luckily the place was empty when we stayed, although on the last evening another couple arrived and we could hear every toilet flush, or shower taken. If full, the place might be more of a cacophony perhaps.

Overall I would stay here again, it's serene and quiet, cosy and well located....

Room Tip: The green room looked the largest, and had an en suite. The Chinese room has the hammam so is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The manager Christina was most accommodating and helpful. Good restaurant and tour suggestions. The "hotel" is located near the Spanish Steps, which is a plus. We walked everywhere. Hotel is OK, not great, rooms small; but I'd go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing della Scala - as they are quieter. But good insulation on windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at Via Sistina for two nights and were extremely well advised. Casa Howard is a true boutique which offers more services you would expect from a normal B&B. The house is very chic and exceptionally well refined, but at the same time warm and cozy. Each room is original and is decorated with its own style. Edgar the housekeeper is always up for showing his guests around the other rooms of the house if they are free to be seen. And the Breakfast! Its served in bed on a beautiful set of porcelain with silver cutlery! And what seemed to me fresh products from the coutry side. Location is good, not too far from the well-known Spanish steps (4-5 minute walk). If you are sick of the usual monotonous hotel and insearch of something with taste I recommend casa howard.

Stayed October 2013, travelled in a couple

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Howard GuestHouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard GuestHouses

Address: Via Capo Le Case 18 & Via Sistina 149, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,357 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated with luxury fabrics and antique and modern furniture, our guest-house on via Sistina 149 has often been labelled "a rare find." Our guest house on Capo le Case has parquet floors and wooden beam ceilings, a Turkish Hammam Bath and fabrics from Paris & China, making this a special place. We offer a very personal service, a prime Rome location and unique tasteful and luxurious decor to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Escapio, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Howard GuestHouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Hotel Rome
Casa Howard Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Howard GuestHouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.