We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Good Food and a Great Location........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Asino d'Oro

L'Asino d'Oro
Via del Boschetto 73, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 (0)6 489 138 32
Improve this listing
Ranked #525 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good Service, Good Food and a Great Location........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After wandering the streets of Rome we came across a plaza at around lunchtime and came upon the L'Asino d'Oro and were lucky enough to spot a vacant table right near the footpath.

After sitting down our waiter came and offered the menu and we were pleasantly surprised by the variation and pricing of the offerings. After settling for pasta and salads and a glass of wine, we enjoyed the food and as importantly, the comings and goings of the mass of people who were around the plaza.

Service was better than expected and the waiter was efficient ( for a change ) and friendly ( again for a change ) and we were pleased with the attention he gave us.

A good location for sitting and eating and one place we would recommend to any tourist in that part of Rome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    127
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff. The menu was not huge so hoped it would be freshly sourced and expertly prepared. We were able to sit outside which was great as it was 18 deg C or so. The service was good and we thought the food was excellent. We did not book a table but should have done as some people were turned away. There are lots of other restaurants on the area but the ones we fancied on the next (Saturday) night were fully booked. We don't normaly go back to the same place on consecutive nights but there were different dishes on the menu we wanted to try. We booked L'Asino for a second night. Highlights were salt cod , pork and boar (both moist) fig omelet, rabbit, grape desert also both chocolate deserts v good Wine sensibly priced - we paid 14 euro for a very drinkable white.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bracebridge
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Last night in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We tried this restaurant on our last night in Rome and we were not disappointed. The food is a mix of traditional and modern cuisine by Mr. sforza, who was cooking that night. The prices are very reasonable and the wines too. The service was efficient and friendly. I cannot remember what my partner had, but he was impressed and thought the food was very good and distinctive. I had the Tiramisu smoked herring with candied orange-I thought the orange was too overpowering for the dish but it was a novel idea. next I had the lamb sweetbreads which were exceptional. We shared a dessert which was very good and with 4 glasses of wine plus a dessert wine the total was just under 100Euros. very good value. We would recommend L'Asino D'Oro to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We decided to dine here because it was highly recommended by Lonely Planet. We were greeted by a lovely waitress who spoke good English. The set menu was all vegetarian the day we attended. We would have def preferred a menu with some meat, but in saying that we could not fault what was on offer. It was incredibly good value at 13 euro, 3 courses plus wine. We also received a 'chefs gift' - small ricotta ball with tomato passata (much nicer than my description). We dined with our 2 children who were made to feel welcome. Would def recommend this restaurant if visiting rome.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tartufo & good taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We just had an amazing dinner at Luzio place and the experience was better then great. The Tartufo pasta was the best to could wish for. The service was elegant and prof'. Surly a must when visiting rome.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Asino d'Oro also viewed

 

Been to L'Asino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Asino d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.