We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Forchetta d'Oro

La Forchetta d'Oro
Via San Martino ai Monti 40, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 (0)6 4891 3153
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,634 of 8,707 Restaurants in Rome
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed nearby and ended up visiting the restaurant twice during our stay in Rome. It has a local atmosphere, great food (carpaccio to die for) and very attentive service! If you are staying in the area, I highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    92
    32
    25
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our last night of a 3 day stay in Rome and it was definitely the best Italian meal we had there. Our pasta dishes were excellent and the bruschetta appetizer and tomato salad were great as well. Much more reasonably priced and a higher quality meal than the tourist trap restaurants that are all over the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Best meal in Rome"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were in Rome for 5 days and this by far was the " Best meal in Rome". The food was fresh and delicious and an excellent value .The atmosphere was that of a home town hang out with a gracious host, Omar really is awesome and has created an incredible place that we were excited to go back to.We spent two weeks in Italy and La Forchetta in Rome was one of our favorite places by far.From pasta to lamb to chicken cacciatore we had it all and never disappointed with what was derived to our table.When in Rome do as the Romans do go to LForchetta you will not be disappointed .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited La Forchetta for lunch and it was absolutely amazing. I had the ravioli in walnut sauce and my wife had pasta with shrimp and mushrooms. Each meal is reasonably priced and the service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you're looking for good, fresh, homemade Italian food at reasonable prices, you can't beat this place! We enjoyed it so much that we went there each of our seven nights in Rome. The owner regularly provides complimentary accompaniments (including homemade limoncello!). There are many dishes available beyond what's shown on the menu-- just ask. English menu and spoken well. Highly recommended!
Only criticism is be prepared to spend several hours (which is typical for Italy).
Dishes/drinks to try- eggplant parm, tiramisu, gnocchi, risotto, ravioli, (any pasta really), pizzas, house wine, limoncello!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forchetta d'Oro also viewed

 

Been to La Forchetta d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Forchetta d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.