We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferro & Ghisa

Ferro & Ghisa
Circonvallazione Aurelia 11, 00167 Rome, Italy
+39 06 6603 2638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,530 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $24 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I liked this little place. The food was typical Italian fare, fresh and hot. The most distinctive aspect of my experience is that it was the first restaurant on my visit where the waiter (waitress In this case) was friendly. I would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    292
    144
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to Ferro & Ghisa for an early dinner - we were starving, hot, tired and underdressed so perhaps I also felt a bit out of place, but I found the place kind of pretentious.
It's one of those glamorous venues with an ambitious, overpriced menu that doesn't live up to expectations.
It was very quiet when we showed up (we didn't have lunch so we couldn't wait until a more appropriate time for dinner!) but it got busy later.
There was a huge amount of staff on (at one point we counted 17 including the chefs) but the service left much to be desired. Not that I was expecting much from Rome, or Italy as a matter of fact, but every service mistake you can make was made at our table.
The only redeeming quality of our dinner was the €12 bottle of Falanghina that was nice and cold!
So I guess I wouldn't recommend it, unless you find yourself in the area at 6:30 and need to eat when every other restaurant is closed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for dinner and rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was near our hotel (ESH Hotel), and we visited it for dinner after a long walking day to Rome. Stylish, clean, polite staff, big place, air condition inside was great, too! The food was really nice, Greek Salad and Grilled Meat Mix. Also a pizza Margarita!
When I go to Rome again, I will visit for sure :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere & value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate on two occasions & the meals were excellent. Antipasti, pizza, fresh pasta & meat dishes were all to a high standard with a good service & excellent atmosphere. Good idea to reserve as restaurant is very popular with the locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Casual, urban,reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the front desk. My group consisted of 8 members who traveled together in a tour of Italy . The menu is varied with many categories but the most space is devoted to salads and pizzas. I ordered pizza parmigiana which had sauce, mozzarella , eggplant, basil and large shavings of Parmesan. Fabulous - best pizza I had in Italy . My daughter had pizza with Gorgonzola and pears which she loved and other members of my group devoured their marguerite pizzas. Everyone else enjoyed their meals - the only issue we had was a extremely undercooked steak that was ordered well done. That steak (which was quite large) was sent back and returned properly cooked and then finished off . The restaurant was filled with locals when we left.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferro & Ghisa also viewed

 

Been to Ferro & Ghisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferro & Ghisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.