We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Visconti Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Visconti Palace to your Saves list
Visconti Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Federico Cesi 37, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our first time to europe, and the Visconti Palace was such a good place to stay. Just like real-estate Location Location Location. It was so close to so many things, the vatican, the pantheon, piazza navona, spanish steps, all within 15 minutes.The bed was comftorable and it was very clean. loved the peppermint shampoo as well. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a very good place to stay, and would reccoment it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio_Mucci, Direttore at Visconti Palace, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us at the Visconti Palace Hotel .I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our services. I will certainly share with all the team.

Thank you so much once again for your kind comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Mucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    622
    174
    38
    15
See reviews for
263
575
41
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed four nights in Visconti Hotel and thought it a great place to visit the City. Close to St.Peter's and near to the castle. Very quiet at night so sleeping was not a problem. Great restaurants around the hotel two of which were recommended by the hotel. Buffet breakfast was OK. Nothing outstanding but sufficient.
We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice and very comfortable. Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.
Would certainly stay hear again.

Room Tip: Be nice....you may get an upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio_Mucci, Direttore at Visconti Palace, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to personally thank you for you kind words about your recent stay at the Visconti Palace Hotel in Rome.

I am delighted to read that you appreciated our level of service delivered by our dedicated staff and I will share your kind words with all of them.

I look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Visconti.

Feel free to contact me directly on the occasion of your next trip to Rome it will be a pleasure to assist you again.

Warmest Regards,

Alessio Mucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have stayed before at Visconti Palace and also this time I am very satisfied with my stay. I was happy with the offer for an upgrade (for a fee ) and have enjoyed my stay at the renovated room (ref # 607). Visconti offers an extensive breakfast in the basement, while the buffet is regularly replenished. The patio on the ground floor behind the lobby is a lovely place for an aperitif. Do not miss the other place for a drink and snack : the roof top terrace with view over Rome. The hotel is clean, wherever you look, the service is good and staff is friendly. Visconti Palace is 200 meters away from Piazza Cavour on the "other" side of the Tiber River, seen from the historic center. Both Piaza Navona and the Vatican are a 15-minute walk away. The area surrounding the hotel is more of a residential area; in the vicinity are a number restaurants (the concierge is happy to help you), coffee bars and shopping can be enjoyed at the nearby via Cola di Rienzo. Visconti Palace: a great place, grate value.

Room Tip: Opt for a renovated room (floor 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio_Mucci, Direttore at Visconti Palace, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Visconti Palace Hotel and for having shared your positive opinion!

We are really glad that you a have had a great time here and a wonderful stay and we appreciate so much your rewarding words.

All the staff is happy to have been helpful: your satisfaction is up building for us.

We like our job but the awareness that what we do is not taken for granted encourages us to do always our best. We hope to welcome you back in the future to offer you another comfortable stay with a perfect service.

Warm regards.

Alessio Mucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I have worked for the airlines for many years, so when I find a hotel that's exceptional for the price, I will always recommend it. The Visconti Palace is located well within walking distance of St. Peter's and about 20 minute walk from the Spanish steps. You can also take the airport shuttle to Piazza Cavour. It's only a two block walk from there. The rooms are modern and clean and the service was quite good. The breakfast buffet is very well staged with plenty of choices. The roof top terrace is a wonderful place to relax for a nightcap. The rooms above the main floor appear to be a better choice but all in all we had a wonderful stay! Congratulations!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio_Mucci, Direttore at Visconti Palace, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest ,

I am delighted to read your positive comment about your recent stay at the Visconti Palace Hotel in Rome... thank you for your kind words !

I am glad you appreciated the hotel which actually offers the unique opportunity to feel the great advantage of being close to the most important landmarks in Rome as well as the most important shopping districts in Rome .

I very much look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Visconti, please feel free to contact me directly on the occasion of your next trip to Rome, I would be glad to assist you again.


Warmest Regards,

Alessio Mucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the sights of Rome. We stayed in a premier room and it was clean and comfortable. There was plenty choice at the buffet breakfast although we were only there for 3 days so might be a but repetitive if there for longer. The patio is really nice for a night cap! The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio_Mucci, Direttore at Visconti Palace, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Visconti Palace Hotel and for having shared your positive opinion !

We are really glad that you a have had a great time here and a wonderful stay and we appreciate so much your rewarding words.

All the staff is happy to have been helpful: your satisfaction is up building for us.

We like our job but the awareness that what we do is not taken for granted encourages us to do always our best. We hope to welcome you back in the future to offer you another comfortable stay with a perfect service.

Warm regards.

Alessio Mucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a good modern hotel - clean, reasonably priced and in an excellent location. All the main sites are walkable. Staff were helpful, pleasant bar and roof terrace. A good family environment. It is a few minutes walk off Piazza Cavour and convenient for airport shuttle.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio_Mucci, Direttore at Visconti Palace, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words about your experience at the Visconti Palace Hotel in Rome.

I am glad to apprehend that your expectation were full filled and that all the aspects of your stay were well appreciated.

Please feel free to contact me direclty during your next stay in Rome.

Warmest Regards,

Alessio Mucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of our tour group and it was a very nice hotel. Rooms were very contemporary, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was updated with nice amenities. The hotel bar also served light lunch type food, salads and sandwiches. The breakfast in the lower level area was okay, they had a huge selection of rolls, cereal, frut, etc. The wait staff for breakfast was not very enthuiastic about getting cappachino so after the first day, we just went with the regular coffee. There is a fantastic rooftop seating area where they also serve some dinner and drink items. Not sure of the schedule because 2 nights there was nothing and then one night the tables were set and there was a guy playing music. Rosario Fuga' is a fantastic flute player. He also teaches music at the local university. He has a web site and gave us one of his CD's. He is very talented and we enjoyed listening to him while having a glass of wine. One other thing I really like about this hotel is the outdoor garden area off the lobby. Very relaxing place to have a glass of wine with friends after a long day of touring. Overall, I really like this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio_Mucci, Direttore at Visconti Palace, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your kind comment, I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our hotel.

I will share your positive comment with all the Hotel staff and M° Rosario Fugà.

I would be delighted to welcoming you soon again to the Visconti Palace Hotel , please feel free to contact me direclty on the occasion of your next trip to Rome, I would be delighted to assist you again.

Kindest Regards,

Alessio Mucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visconti Palace

Address: Via Federico Cesi 37, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#163 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visconti Palace Rome
Rome Hotel Visconti Palace
Hotel Visconti Palace
Visconti Palace Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visconti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.