We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Hotel Rex
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
1 review
“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, nice and clean room.
Oud kids received some drawing papers and coloring equipment.
Close tot termini station and only 15 minute walk to trevi fountain and such.

We van recommend this hotel to everybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    261
    111
    42
    20
See reviews for
120
307
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here at the end of february. Staff were all pleasant, accommodating and helpful. At first had a single bed room. Asked to be upgraded as i wanted a double bed and got moved to the renovated section which was much nicer and modern. The location was fantastic. Everywhere that I needed to go was within walking distance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

You need to go a long way to beat this level of customer service, Laura on reception along with her colleagues were exceptional, always smiling and more than willing to help.
We arrived at this hotel later than expected, after calling them to explain we were going to be late, we arrived to champagne and canapés.
The room was adequate for our short stay, bed was very comfy.
Breakfast although basic was compensated once again by the friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I arrived at The Rex by chance... while seeking my 'regular' hotel in Rome, which was booked for that day. Hotel Rex was a pleasant surprise... employees are the friendliest ones ever. The location is wonderful (via nazionale and Via Torino). Close to everything you might need. Beautiful area to walk around. Perfect for business meetings also.
And the breakfast in the morning is fantastic: I had a client of mine joining me for breakfast, it was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The location is okay and there are lots of restaurants nearby. We took the train from the airport to Termini station and walked about five blocks to the hotel. The room was tiny but functional and almost totally dark. Our room was 604 on the third floor and the shutters were closed, so it was dark. Breakfast was fine and they had gluten free biscuits for me. The staff is very nice and helpful. It's just a funky hotel in Rome, what can I say. I would make another choice next time but I don't regret staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I wanted a 4 night tourist stay in Rome so selected this hotel. We found it convenient with every amenity we needed for a comfortable stay. There were no frills and it was not pretentious but we had no complaints and it was ideally placed as a base for seeing the sights. Most places were within easy walking distance (max 15 minutes) with the exception of Vatican city, which was easily reachable from the nearby Republica metro station. Bus routes are also close by and a good selection of restaurants are also close by.

The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

I would be happy to use the hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker (like my wife) ask for a room close to the 2nd floor terrace, which is designate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I just came back from my Rome trip.
The stay in this Hotel was more then a dissappointment.
I was choosing this Hotel for a stay based on the 4*, the avarange 8,0 range on Tripadvisor and Booking.com and the location.
This is not a 4* Hotel.
Maybe it was way back in 1968 but not in 2014. The rooms are awful.
The mattress was old and had an recess. The bathoom is a disaster. The shower has on the edges fungies and molds...looks very used and old. The breakefest is poor and not in line with a 4* Hotel, more in line with a 3* Hotel or private guests houses.
The location is good, near the Termini station, but there are better locations in Rome, near the best tourist attractions. The stuff is polite and friendly, but nothing special polite to write here some praises like other did. For a 105.-€ night stay a man would expect to get more.
Take a very good look at the traveler photos here. Avoid the management photos as they were probably taken 20 years ago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.