We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Picasso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Picasso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Picasso
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #535 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent price, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for five nights. We paid 112.80 Euros per night, which I think is a very low price for being in Rome and for having an in suite bathroom. The room was very clean. We never heard the buzzer complained about in other reviews. The included breakfast was simple but good. There were croissants, some filled, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit, as well as juice and choice of coffee. The location is great because it is centrally located, close to metro stations, and close to good restaurants. The area also felt very safe at night. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Staff of Hotel Picasso at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guests,
we would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your nice review. We really appreciate it. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    38
    16
    11
See reviews for
32
73
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Small, very small, room with security buzzer at front door that did not work most of the time. Front desk half a block away. Neighbor was robbed at night while sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Staff of Hotel Picasso at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guests,
we regret you were disappointed. Our rooms have different sizes because we are situated in a historical building in the centre of Rome. All of them match the size standards for the hotel our category. As it is indicated on the website the main reception is located across the street. The staff of the reception is at your disposal for 24 hours a day. They are ready to help you to solve any kind of requirements or problems.
Despite of your remarks we would be really pleased to welcome you again. We will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Centrally located, very accomodating staff and nice clean rooms. Breakfast was good too for the price we paid (EUR30 nightly). The worst part was that electricity kept cutting off and we ended without hot water on one particular occasion which meant cold water like what you get out of a fridge!! We had to wait to shower.

It is not your typical hotel - it is housed in a Palazzo which means apartment block therefore the hotel entrance is shared with other apartment owners, one of which was not so keen in seeing tourists using the lift which stops very often (lift is very old and you have to use a 10cent coin). The room in which we stayed is located in a former apartment which was converted into hotel rooms.

Reception of the hotel picasso is actually located a corner away at the hotel caravaggio. One one occassion we had breakfast prepared early since we were leaving for a day trip. Overall the hotel has many positive attributes and the inconveniences were tackled by the staff positively therefore it served the purpose well of a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Staff of Hotel Picasso at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your extensive contribution. Breakdown of electricity you mentioned was caused by the emergency situation. It hit all the buildings in our block. We understand it was uncomfortable for you. We really regret but we could not influence it. The elevator in the building is a historic one. It works for 10 euro cent. The administrator of the building uses this contribution to keep it in original condition. Anyway, we give to our guests as many 10 cent coins as they need for free.
We hope you enjoied your stay and you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed here in June 2010. We picked this hotel because we were on a tight budget and were looking for something cheap and cheerful. That is almost what we got. We chose this hotel as we used online reviews and the majority of them claimed this to be a great hotel. We can only say this was an OK hotel.
Firstly this is not really a hotel, is appears as if it is overflow rooms for the Hotel Caravaggio across the street, where you check in and out. The room was ok, small, very much a budget room although you are not paying budget prices, and the air conditioning did not work properly. In the heat of Rome city in June the air conditioning did nothing to comfort us, it also let in an awful lot of mosquitoes which didn't make us anymore comfortable.
On arrival, we didn't exactly get a warm welcome, even though we were soaked to the skin from rain, we were made wait to check in, although there was no other guests checking in.
We were then brought across the street, to the first floor of a separate building, which houses a few rooms, this making up the Hotel Picasso, from what we could see. It came across as if these used to be old staff rooms which they converted to guest rooms although for the price you are charged for them there was not much effort put into them.
There is internet access in the lobby of the Hotel Caravaggio across the street, they also held a 'Happy Hour' there in the evenings.
The location was ok, just off Via Nazionale, a main street with shops and restaurants, with Piazza della Repubblica at the top. Besides this all of the other attractions were a good walk away.
We personally would never stay here again, and I would tell my friends that if they have that much money to spend on a hotel to look elsewhere as this is not worth the money. We stayed in other hotels in Italy and got a much better deal for half the money, although keeping in mind this is Rome.
We would not recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Staff of Hotel Picasso at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guests,
we have read your point of view. We feel badly you were not satisfied. We have one common reception for the Hotel Picasso and Hotel Caravaggio. It is situated across the street. This information is written on the website, too. We try to keep the airconditioning completely functional. We are sorry that in your case we were not successful. Although we care for our guests helpful and attentive we will effort to be more sensitive.
We hope you will change your mind and you will visit us again. We trust we will win your sympathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

This place is absolutely awful. We arrived in Rome after more than a week in other parts of Italy to find the staff rude, pushy, and totally unaccommodating. The room was so small we couldn't walk around the bed without crashing into each other and the bathroom so small the door didn't even open all the way. The website says no smoking, but don't believe it... the room stank of stale cigarette smoke and there was an ash tray in the nightstand. The "bed" wasn't even a bed... it was two cots shoved together and neither of them had much support left in them, and one of them was so dead that I sank down over a foot when I sat on it. We lost the equivalent of a whole day dealing with the fiasco that arose out of this hotel, including the chaos that resulted when we checked out early after we (luckily) found an alternative. For not much more per night, you can go and stay at the Albergo Santa Chiara hotel, a stone's throw from the Pantheon, with MUCH better services and MUCH better location and MUCH better staff. We are a young professional couple and don't need much, but this was wholly unacceptable. A truly awful experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Staff of Hotel Picasso at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Guests,
our aim is to see all our clients satisfied. We are sad we did not match your requirements. We are sorry the staff was not enough accommodating as we normally do. In our hotel there are bigger and smaller rooms but all of them are comfortable. All the beds have standard size and they are equipped with orthopedic mattresses.
In spite of your contribution was not a positive one, we wish you will come again and you will feel better than this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

nice clean hotel, a bit more expensive than others but still a good option. Breakfast good, service highly sufficient, but the main problem is noise. We stayed at first floor and we could hear the street as if we were outside. First night was terrible, then, walking, eaiting, visiting, and walking, and walking in Rome make you feel tired as you like, and you can sleep as a baby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Staff of Hotel Picasso at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Guests,

we appreciate your contribution. In spite of sounds of our metropolis we hope will have the possibility to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

The hotel is perfectly located, a short 10-15 minute walk from Roma Termini you will never need to take a taxi. Other cites include; Trevi fountain 20 minutes, Colosseum 30 minutes, Vatican 1 hour, San Angels castle 50 minutes, Spanish steps 40 minutes. We walked all four days and never took a cab.

the rooms on average are larger than other hotels that I have stayed in europe at the same price point. The hotel is very clean and well kept, Bathrooms are ample, clean and supplied with new toiletries every day. The was always hot water available even at peak hours. The breakfast was very complete and tasty, no complains there.

There is one thing to note, they work together with a partner hotel that is located about 20 steps (1 minute walk) from Picasso. So you have to check in there and leave the key there every time you leave the hotel. Its just to make the hotel is more secure. I had no problems with that at all.

The staff was very nice, just like the rest of the people in Rome. Some rooms have internet and others do not, due to not too strong wifi signal. But all common areas have strong wifi signal all day long. We got lucky, half of our bedroom got signal, while the other half did not. That allowed us to use the internet without leaving the room.

My only real complain is that in the four night stay the TV never worked, they recently change to digital TV in Italy and they were having some issues. In their defense I only complained once and never again. I am sure they would of got it working if I had put more pressure on them. But I was using my Iphone for TV purposes.

Overall this is a great hotel and I will be sure to go back to it if I find myself in Rome and a tight budget again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Address: Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #535 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.