We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Picasso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Picasso to your Saves list
Hotel Picasso
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #588 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not too bad considering it is a budget hotel. Stay at the sister hotel if you can Hotel Caravaggio. Both hotels are clean, the staff is really helpful, they have a nice breakfast of rolls and café. Night reception with wine and snacks. .The window overlooked a scary mechanical area, that looked and smelled bad. You also need to cut through an unsightly area to get to some of the rooms. That being said, it was a good location., centrally located. The price was right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    79
    44
    17
    12
See reviews for
33
81
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The biggest problem was that you check in at a different hotel around the corner. The signage is very minimal. We had to ask 4 people on the street before we found where to check-in. The Hotel Carrivagio front desk handed us our key and said our room is down the street. We looked perplexed and he said in a very exasperated tone: "You don't know how this works!" and took off out the door and down the street. We had to run with our luggage so as not to lose him. He handed us our keys and we put our 10 cents in the ancient elevator and heard electrical pops and clicks. Once on the 4th floor we could find no signage to help us find what door to go in, so we tried our keys in different doors till we got a door to open. The hallways are dirty and smell of mildew.

Once in the room, however, the rooms were cute and clean. We stayed in two rooms while there. Because we had another couple join us so we moved to a bigger room.

The a/c worked so-so on the 4th floor. The a/c worked great in our larger room on the first floor.

Breakfast was free and decent, but the dining room is about 12 x 12 feet square and you must tangle your legs with the other guests in order to sit at the table. Way way too small of a room to be hosting breakfast!

Big bummer that there is no internet access from anywhere in the hotel Picasso. You must go down the street to the hotel Carrivagio lobby for internet access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent location, few minutes walk to the metro train station. Friendly staff,
lots of info & maps provided at the hotel lobby. Very Clean, nicely furnished hotel & the price is great :)
Easy access to nearby cafes n restaurants for lunch, dinner or coffee.
Breakfast provided is good to get you going before you explore the city.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel Picasso is an ideal low budget hotel in the city centre, 5 minutes from the metro station Reppublica and next to the bus station. To be honest, we didn't use the metro, as we preferred to explore Rome by foot...It is located in a bustling place, near to all the Points of Interest! The rooms are very clean and the breakfast very tastefull and large! Absolutely recommended, if you search for a clean, low budget hotel for enjoying your city tours in this captivating city!!!The personell was extremely polite and helpful in everything that we needed. You should know that the reception is located on another building, next to Picasso Hotel, as well as the elevator is quite old (you pay for using it - some cents- but the receptionist gives you some euros for this at your arrival).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location is great, we could walk to all the sights. The room is small but clean and suitable for tourists who spend most of their time out.
We asked the staff for a restaurant with traditional Italian food. We were directed to a close restaurant which was very popular between the locals but not the tourists. We returned every night for a nice original Italian dinner.
It is not a luxurious hotel but if we return to Rome, we will definitely stay at this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests, we are happy that you had a nice time in Rome and that you enjoyed traditional Italian cuisine. You are welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at hotel Picasso for 4 nights. The hotel located in the centre of the city, so you can go almost everywhere on foot!
It is clean and the stuff is very polite and helpful. It would be preferable though if there was internet connection available in the rooms..
Generally good value of money and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you for your contribution. It is nice to read that you liked our hotel and that you would recommend us. For this moment we don´t have internet in the rooms. We offer a free of charge wi-fi connection and a possibility to use an internet point directly at the reception. You are welcome during your next stay in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochota, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was not very expensive and near the city center. It occupies 1st and 4th floor in an old apartment house. There is an 80-years-old elevator in the building (still working!) it is worth a 10cent coin to ride it. From our room with a large window on the 4th floor we had a magnificent view to a government building, a square with a fountain. The sound of traffic might be annoying if you are not used to it.

The room was old, not so clean and definitely needed some refurbishment. The paint fell of the walls in some places, the bath had rusty spots. The bed was not so comfortable. There was a minibar in the room, ariconditioning was working well, the bathroom was equipped with complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Unfortunately the room door is not soundproofed and you can hear people talking on the corridor and other door slamming.

The reception staff (the reception is in another building) was efficient and helpful. There were some problems with the booking - solved quickly. The "happy hour" between 6 and 8 is not worth going unless you need to use the internet - wifi is only accessible in the lobby of the reception building. There were some snacks, crisps, popcorn and two kinds of sweet sparkling wine.
The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast, mostly sweet pastry, bread, jam, cream cheese and coffee (good coffee...). Nothing special, but a good start of a day.

All in all I got what I expected from a 1 star budget hotel. I would recommend that the owner invested in wifi routers for the Internet to be available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests, we have read your review. Our hotel is situated in the historical city centre. The houses in this area are built in umbertian style what you in no case can describe as „an old apartment house“. Our rooms were recently (in 2011) restored, so we can not agree with the statement that the rooms are old. Our hotel is on the secondary street and there is not too much traffic. The beds are equipped with comfortable ergonomical mattresses. Our advertisement on all websites says we have free wi-fi at the reception. In spite of your remarks we hope you had a nice holiday in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Address: Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #588 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.