We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel in the center of Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Picasso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Picasso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Picasso
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #535 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Ochota, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel in the center of Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was not very expensive and near the city center. It occupies 1st and 4th floor in an old apartment house. There is an 80-years-old elevator in the building (still working!) it is worth a 10cent coin to ride it. From our room with a large window on the 4th floor we had a magnificent view to a government building, a square with a fountain. The sound of traffic might be annoying if you are not used to it.

The room was old, not so clean and definitely needed some refurbishment. The paint fell of the walls in some places, the bath had rusty spots. The bed was not so comfortable. There was a minibar in the room, ariconditioning was working well, the bathroom was equipped with complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Unfortunately the room door is not soundproofed and you can hear people talking on the corridor and other door slamming.

The reception staff (the reception is in another building) was efficient and helpful. There were some problems with the booking - solved quickly. The "happy hour" between 6 and 8 is not worth going unless you need to use the internet - wifi is only accessible in the lobby of the reception building. There were some snacks, crisps, popcorn and two kinds of sweet sparkling wine.
The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast, mostly sweet pastry, bread, jam, cream cheese and coffee (good coffee...). Nothing special, but a good start of a day.

All in all I got what I expected from a 1 star budget hotel. I would recommend that the owner invested in wifi routers for the Internet to be available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests, we have read your review. Our hotel is situated in the historical city centre. The houses in this area are built in umbertian style what you in no case can describe as „an old apartment house“. Our rooms were recently (in 2011) restored, so we can not agree with the statement that the rooms are old. Our hotel is on the secondary street and there is not too much traffic. The beds are equipped with comfortable ergonomical mattresses. Our advertisement on all websites says we have free wi-fi at the reception. In spite of your remarks we hope you had a nice holiday in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
32
73
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are looking a hotel for a short stay close to the centar of Rome, I reccomend it. It is situated 15 minute walk from Colloseum and there are buses that pass regulary if u do not fancy walking. The staff is nice and the hotel room is clean

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests, we are grateful for your nice review about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had found out about the Picasso from a friend who had visited Rome in April. He is well -traveled and enjoyed his stay there and was very keen on the breakfasts that are served each morning. We stayed for 4 nights and were not disappointed. The walk from the termini station was about 10 minutes, and we checked in around the corner at the Caravaggio (this might be confusing for a first time visitor, but we had been fore-warned) Nino, the desk clerk, was very helpful and escorted us to the Picasso and showed us how to operate the elevator (which we never really understood) and showed us to our room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, nicely furnished, and bright.The tiled bathroom was also updated with newer fixtures. We arose the next morning and had breakfast down the hall a few steps. Unfortunately the dining room was not very large and we had to wait for a table to become available. (We solved this problem on subsequent days by arriving a bit later and avoiding the early rush) We did enjoy all that was offered: hard-boiled eggs, fresh yogurt, fresh fruit, toast and butter and jam, sweet rolls, coffee, juice, and cereal. The room key drop off at the Caravaggio was not a problem (less than a 100 yards or so down via Palermo) Since the hotel is only one block off Via Nazionale and centrally located, getting out and seeing the sights is very easy.There were several good restaurants in the nearby area that we visited each night. Our final night Nino arranged for a wake-up call at 5:30 in the morning and a taxi to get us to the airport by 6:30. Promptly at 5:25a.m. there was a knock on our door...he had walked over from the Caravaggio to personally waken us. Our car arrived at 5:50 and it was not a taxi but a Mercedes sedan from a car service the hotel uses (for the same 48 Euro fare as a taxi). The only negative I found with the Picasso was the bed. I have a bad back and need a firm mattress to sleep on and our bed was much too soft. After 4 nights I was having problems sleeping and standing. Luckily I take a back support belt with me on my travels. However I still suffered for a few weeks after we returned. That said, I would still return to the Picasso when I visit the Eternal City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aosta, Italia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Comfortable and cosy, near Piazza Venezia is equipped with all necessary facilities, including a lounge wifi at the hotel reception. Friendly staff and tasty breakfast buffet complete a perfect stay for a walking tour in the center of Rome, where are also located the major congress centers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guests, we would like to say thank you for your really nice review. We will be happy if you will choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tiny room, but you don't go to Rome to spend time in a hotel! Otherwise, great in all respects: just a short walk from Termini station. Good restaurants on adjacent streets. Very friendly and helpful staff. Happy hour in the partner hotel was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. We arrived late afternoon and checked in via the Hotel Cavaggio - the Hotel Picasso was about 200 yards away. I did wonder what our hotel would be like as we only paid £120 for three nights, I have to say it was great. The rooms were small and basic but very clean, we didn't experience any problems with mildew in the bathroom. This hotel is perfectly situated off the Nationale, all the attractions are in walkable distance. The only downside, the breakfast room was far too small we only ate once in there and chose to eat else where for the other two mornings. I would stay here again

Room Tip: if your disabled I wouldnt recommend this hotel as there are alot of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nites the end of June. Clean with small bathroom in the room. 15 min walk from Termani A (train station) and about a 10 min walk from Coloseum, Roman Forum. Very close to a metro stop which makes getting to the Vatican about 15 min as well, Trevi fountain and Spanish steps also 10 min by metro. A/C was key and worked well.
Cons: We could not access internet in our room with their code(the hotel is a few buildings away from the lobby which has the router). You can access slow internet in their hotel lobby.
Would recommend to anyone travelling Rome who wants to see the sights and doesn't care about a luxurious stay

(tip: Download free Rick Steve's podcasts for Coloseum, roman forum and listen on your phone)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello834, Responsabile reception at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Clients, thank you for your contribution. We are pleased that you liked our hotel, its position and that you recommend us. What the internet concerns we provide a standard wifi connection at the reception. For this moment we don´t have internet in the rooms. At the reception there is an charge free internet point too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Address: Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #535 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.