We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissima!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oxford to your Saves list
Hotel Oxford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Via Boncompagni, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bellissima!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel was a treat! Close to the Spanish Steps, it was a great place to visit the main attractions. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Only grumble was the very limited menu for eating in the evening, but that forced us to enjoy the many alternatives in town. So, no problem at all!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    363
    124
    40
    21
See reviews for
157
310
31
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Booked a British Airways trip, Stayed here for four night, really pleased, staff very helpfully and friendly, rooms clean and comfortable, great location, bus stop just down the road, would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A friend and I were there a last week. Our hotel experience was very pleasant. We had a large room, comfortable and elegant. The staff were always smiling and helpful. Specially Stefano at the front desk and Simona at the restaurant. The location was a tad not too central but it works well if you do not want to be too close to the tourist madness that Rome can be. The neighborhood was elegant with lots of five star hotels around, and safe- the American Embassy is a couple of blocks away. Definitely a place to stay in Rome if you want a nice hotel to come back to after visiting hectic Rome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 and were pleasantly surprised. The room was small but beautifully decorated and updated. The bathrooom was updated with a marble shower. Checking in was easy and the staff were readily available to assist with any inquiries. There is breafast in the restaurant off the lobby every morning as well as free wifi. The only con was our room was near the housekeeping quarters, so it was very noisy very early in the morning with the talking and banging around of the carts. Other than that, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms on backside are quieter and ask for a room away from housekeeping stations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked this hotel in January this year and travelled 6/9/13 especially for our silver wedding anniversary on 7/9/13. Apparently thay had been told twice that it was a special occasion, but on arrival we were a bit disappointed not to find a small token of the day in our room.
The rooms were small but adequate, the only problem was lack of storage/surfaces. we had a small dressing table top and NO drawers, so had to live out of the cases. There was a wardrobe which was fine for things that needed hanging up!. The maids were excellent, we had clean sheets/towels daily.
There was a free safe and air con. We didn't watch the tv but were told it was 99% Italian programmes also the mini-bar was adequate.
The breakfast was wonderful, buffet style hot and cold with plenty of everything.
We asked several members of the reception staff about booking a trip to the Galleria Borghese,who despite promising to get back to us, never did, so we missed out there.
We had been for dinner on our anniversary and arrived back at the hotel for a night cap only to be told it was not possible! And finally I had emailed the hotel the week previously with a query, but I never got a response, so had to phone.
All in all we had an amazing trip, the hotel was situated quite well with not much street noise. If we come back we would probably try a different hotel for a change of scene!

Room Tip: Stairs are very narrow, so use the lift. Our room (212) was on the main road but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms are large with a beautiful Art Deco theme. The location is in a nice, quiet neighborhood but walking distance to many attractions. We really enjoyed our stay. The bed was a little hard but we found that to be true in most hotels in Italy.

Room Tip: The elevator is very small and the stairs are narrow and steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Berkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel in quiet position near Borghese Park but with easy access to main attractions. The staff were extremely helpful friendly & pleasant. Our room was small the shower was difficult to access and the air con struggled in the extreme heat we had on our four night trip. However everywhere was kept extremely clean, housekeeping providing clean towels & linen daily. Breakfasts included in our BA Package were exceptionally good. Very good value for money and would recommend for a short stay to see the sights of Rome.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Address: 89 Via Boncompagni, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#210 Business Hotel in Rome
#271 Family Hotel in Rome
#299 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.