We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Columbus - great location, marvelous staff, extradordinary amenities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Columbus Hotel to your Saves list
Columbus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Conciliazione 33, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #664 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Saint Johns, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Columbus - great location, marvelous staff, extradordinary amenities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

My sister and I traveled to Rome the end of May and our first hotel stay was the Hotel Columbus. The hotel was elegant and stately with old world charm. We loved it. The staff were great, there was a very reasonable airport limousine service, and they went out of their way to welcome us. The Veranda Restaurant at the hotel was a fabulous place to drink in the scenery, and local sites. Walking distance to St. Peter's and the Vatican, it was an ideal location. The breakfast that came with our room reservation was so good, and nutritious. The coffee is exceptional!

In addition, the Hotel is a historic building and the Vatican Apartments are near. Lunching and dining with religious men and women from the vatican, and students, scholars and artists was really fascinating. We loved this hotel with it's beautiful works of art. I believe that it was once the place where priests lived when they came to Rome. I

The rooms are very lovely and the windows are huge and open like shutters and you can lean on your windowsill and look out. Very charming. I am not sure if there was air conditioning, probably was, but we didn't turn it on. We stayed four nights - three at the beginning of our trip and our last night in Italy. Both times we loved our rooms. I still haven't quite figured out the elevator numbering system, but we managed to muddle through it!

The staff at the Hotel Columbus were very kind, considerate and helpful. They never seemed to get up tight no matter how many people were asking questions, calling on the phone, or requesting services all at the same time!

I would go back to this hotel and recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing, comfortable and clean room with a location handy for everything you might want to do.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    182
    95
    68
    42
See reviews for
120
159
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I find that this is a strange review to write - this hotel is not perfect but my friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here (4 nights) and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone I know.
It is set in a historic building in a fantastic location - just outside St Peter's. The restaurant is beautiful and the atmosphere is very friendly and comfortable. We found the staff very helpful and the hotel is kept exceptionally clean.
Our rooms were very comfortable - one had a small bath, whilst the other had a shower. Whilst they are spartan and could do with some refurbishment - they are clean, spaceous and with sufficient storage for 4 women who do not know when to stop packing. The rooms will not suit those who like a plush environment - perhaps they should go elsewhere.
Breakfast was basic but substantial enough to set you up for the day - ham, cheese, eggs, bread, cake, juice, coffee and tea etc. We did not eat in the restaurant as it appeared expensive - but there are so many other places to eat in Rome this was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Columbus for five nights. On the first night, the apartment on the second floor was nice with tile floors and very clean. The next four nights were disappointing. We had two rooms on the third floor. The hallway is dark and dingy. The carpeting in the rooms needs to be replaced ASAP. The televisions made "ringing" noises and shut of intermitently. They chair upholstery was worn and threading. When we asked about the TVs at the esk, the gentlemen just shrugged his shoulders...oh well...The maids do the best they can with what they have to work with. The location is so great that I gather the management doesn't want to put any money into the rooms/floors/furniture.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Recently stayed at this hotel. The location is fantastic, just a stone's throw from St Peters and the Vatican and everywhere else is easily accesible by tour buses (available from across the road from the hotel) and the metro.

The hotel itself blows you away with the history and ambience however the minute I walked into my room I was disappointed. I had a single room but it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. (Felt like a cell which in it's time it may well have been a monks room!) They had crammed dark wood old furniture in which made it appear even smaller. Even in March the room was red hot and the air con didn't work and it was too noisy to keep the windows open. The bathroom needed updating and the sink was actually in the bedroom. (not pleasant). I struggled to find space to put my stuff as there was no dressing table, just a shelf above the sink. The furnishings were old, dark and tired and the room was quite depressing. Like someone else said when you look at the website the rooms look fab but the reality is not the same.

There's one old lift that wasn't very reliable and fit only 4 people in at one time and though we found the service to be friendly it was incredibly slow.

Breakfast was adequate but why they have to put out tinned fruit cocktail when Italy has access to such wonderful fresh fruit was beyond me! (We actually saw oranges growing on trees in the city centre so it wasn't that they were in short supply!)

Overall I'd say this hotel is very average however the location does it a huge favour. I wouldn't want to spoil the history and ambience but the rooms defintely need updating so that they all reflect what is shown on the website.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel for its location and proximity to the Vatican. It sits on a beautiful street and is located within the palace of the cardinal who became pope and commissioned Micahelangelo to paint the Sistine Chapel.

Our room was large by European standards and was a triple. The bathroom was modern, did not contain a shower, thus you sat in the tub or filled it for your bath. The tile was damaged in sections, but the bathroom was very clean with no mold.

Our beds were comfortable and clean. The problem: the carpet was disgusting and filthy! I've stayed in third world countries with cleaner carpets. The pink carpet displayed a clear trail of filth into the room and around each bed, tracking the walking patterns.

I thought perhaps this was just our room, but I got a peek at the room across from us and its carpet was exactly the same. We had to use the hotel slippers provided.

Lastly, the reception service varied widely. Our first morning we had to be at the coliseum at 8 a.m. and so at 7 a.m. we asked the front desk to hail us a cab. They told us to walk the two-three blocks to the taxi stand. We did and found that at that time, not a single cab was to be found. We began the walk to the coliseum on our own until we eventually found a cab. As my daughter in an ortho boot for a fractured leg we were trying to restrict her amount of walk, thus the need for a cab. We were disappointed upon our return to the hotel to find them gladly hailing cabs for other guests. And, our first evening we asked the hotel to recommend a nearby restaurant. They sent us to a self-service counter a block away were a terrible counter meal cost us $100!! The few times we approached the counter to ask questions, we found we were simply wasting our time. Luckily, we'd hired a private guide for our first two mornings in Rome and SHE provided us with all the information we needed.

Would I recommend the hotel, yes for its location. If you can't live with filthy carpets (which I found difficult to do for the price of hotel) don't stay here. If you do stay here, you may or may not receive front office help when you have questions. Breakfast was GREAT.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Loved our stay..a bit out of town but can connect easily with public transport....nice quiet, hotel, can breath nice clean and fresh air ....much needed freshness when on holiday..highly recommended...

Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

This centuries old former palace is a one of a kind. Although my standard room was hardly stylish, it did have windows that opened on the grand boulevard that leads to the Vatican. I felt like a visiting country priest in the 1950s. But the old worn carpet was real clean and a large built-in armoire was neat. The one tiny elevator would never be acceptable for a property this size in the USA. Again, this is Europe and this is an historic building. The public rooms were stunning. I enjoyed the staff. They were helpful with restaurants and my minimum Italian. Breakfast was above average for a continental breakfast as it had many choices of treats. They even surprised me with a bag of goodies when I had to leave early one morning and would have missed breakfast. Taxi drivers always knew exactly where I needed to go when I said Hotel Columbus!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Hotel

Address: Via Della Conciliazione 33, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#252 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric 4-story Hotel with historic ambience, converted from 15th-century Villa, 2 blocks from Vatican. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Columbus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbus Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.