We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Artemide Hotel to your Saves list
Artemide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I go to Rome every year to unwind and to visit family. WE ALWAYS STAY AT ARTEMIDE! After a day of site seeing, visiting family, or at the beach, getting back to the hotel at the end of the day is the perfect way to recuperate. The rooms are extremely clean, cool, and comfortable. The entire staff can't do enough for you. Paolo, Pino, Mario and the rest of the guys at the front desk were a great help in helping us plan out our daily activities. The hot and cold breakfast buffet is delicious and beautifully presented. Pasquale and his staff in the restaurant are gracious,attentive, and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for it's level of comfort, great value, the great staff, and it's location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,868
    827
    112
    18
    13
See reviews for
850
2,205
71
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We recently stayed at the Artemide hotel in Rome. We enjoyed our stay very much and we shall carry very good memories about it. Everybody was helpful and friendly starting from the porter to the reception staff. They helped us with a lot of queries about places to visit and restaurants and also how to work out the local buses. The breakfast was really good and plentiful. The double room was a good size and we enjoyed the complimentary drinks from the mini bar. We had a free voucher for drinks on the magnificent roof and we could see St Peter church from there. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wishes to have a lovely stay in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Outstanding service!!! In the bussling eternal city, this property stands among the finest, especially considering the value. Clean, large well appointed rooms with free minibar, GREAT service, friendly, proactive, stylish are all elements of this hotel. We reviewed trip advisor previous to our booking and it did not us down.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I agree with most reviewers that this is an excellent hotel that offers great value for the money. It's a clean, neat, and quiet hotel despite situated on a main street with buses at door and close to the train station. Staff is extremely helpful. We booked 2 small double rooms and were upgraded to 2 standard double rooms upon check in without even asking. And there are coupons for welcome drinks in a garden cafe/restaurant on the top of the building, which is really nice and romatic. There are all kinds of shops and restuarants nearby so everything is accessible within a few minutes walk, including the Metro

All in all, it's a great hotel that offers great value accommodation at a reasonable price. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and relatives, and stay there again if we visit Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I just returned from a trip to Italy with my sister and we stayed 4 nights at the wonderful Artemide Roma. This hotel is located within walking distance to every tourist attraction except the Vatican (We took the bus which stops across the street). The entire hotel staff were wonderful but Mario and Matteo at the front desk were especially helpful in giving us directions in English. Breakfast is nicely arranged and they even serve American coffee if you desire it. My sister and I spent many evenings sipping wine and coffee on the roof-top terrace soaking in the view of the Vatican dome. If I'm lucky enough to return to Rome I will definitely stay here again. Oh and the free-WI-FI really works and can be used in your room!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We only stayed one night at this hotel and the room we got was tiny. My husband and I are not big people but the rooms seemed even small to our standards especially when you add the luggage etc. One person had to sit on the bed so the other could get by and we continually bumped in to one another.

We found the service at this hotel to be very good overall. When we arrived from New York at 9am we were allowed to check in and catch up on some much need rest. For all the years I have traveled to Europe I have Never been allowed to check in quite so early and it really made our day. We were able to sleep a few hours and then go explore rather than drag ourselves around until a 3pm check in and fight to stay awake. When we accidentally slept through breakfast the following morning we were given an additional voucher for coffee (since we had already used ours for Prosecco on the scenic roof terrace the night before) and unprompted the waiter brought us complimentary croissants. That said, we did get a call sharply worded call from the front desk as we were 15 minutes tardy exiting the room which perhaps we deserved since we were allowed to check in so early, but my husband felt the tone was a bit hostile and the frosty attitude followed as we checked out.

I think this is a good hotel if you are only staying overnight and want to be near Termini station but I think it would difficult for 2 people to stay in such a small room for more than a night, for this reason I would call this a three star rather than four. I am surprised that it is rated the #7 hotel in Rome as upon our return we stayed at another hotel which was a formerly a Palazzo near Via Veneto which was 20 Euros less and had a much nicer atmosphere, much larger rooms and more consistent service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArtemide, Direttore at Artemide Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
We thank the guests for their comment that I read with a lot of care on Tripadvisor. Firstely I would like to thank them for choosing our hotel for their first stay in Rome recently.
Regarding their point concerning the size of the room: the size of a small double room is advertised clearly on our web site in square meters, perhaps the customers misunderstood the metric meauserments as they may be used to yards rather than meters since it seems from the review that they are from the United States. We have only a limited numbers of small double rooms, most of our normal double rooms are much bigger, we also have junior suites. The clients have a complite free choice when they book the rooms that suit their taste and budget. However, if they would have notified the reception or the management this situation could have been avoided altogether as we could have changed the room or upgraded it for them. I am glad to find out from their comment that they were happy with our service especially the fact that they were allowed to check in much earlier than the normal checking time. This shows that we are quite keen to do our very best to keep our customers satisfied. Also the fact that they were given complimentary vouchers when they slept through breakfast and missed it. The final point concerning that they were phoned to check out when they were late, that is quite normal as there were other customers waiting for many hours for that room and were tired as they came on a trans-atlantic flight. Therefore our guests had to be politely reminded of the fact they have exceeded their checking out time.
Our hotel has received more than 750 excellent reviews and we think is due to our continuous efforts to give our customers the best service possible. The fact that we over the last few years have been ranked amongst the top 10 hotels in Rome as an excellent 4 stars is a fact that speaks for itself.
Ms. Loredana Spaltro, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I booked the Artemide based upon all the reviews I read. Being a Marriott Platinum Elite I was tempted to book at the Marriott Roma, however, the $350 euro price forced me to consider alternatives and the Artemide did not disappoint. I booked several months in advance and was able to get a Superior room for around 165 euro, which included breakfast and free minibar. Honestly...it was a steal.

Our room would compare to any Marriott in size and quality. The room had a digital safe, which was very handy. The minibar was stocked with water and a few sodas. The water bottles came in very handy during our tours around Rome.

Breakfast consists of cold cuts, bread, cereal, cheese and a hot egg dish along with sausage links and bacon. The waiters delivered any kind of coffee you desired and we never had to wait for a table.

The hotel also has a terrace at the top of the hotel where they staff a bar at night. The views are ok, however, it is a nice area to relax in after a day in Rome.

Location wise you are about half a mile from the central Rome train station and several hundred yards from a Metro stop. There are plenty of buses going up and down the street. The area is predominately a shopping district, however, we were able to find some nice restaurants on the side streets. The hotel is not terribly close to the major tourist attractions, however, central Rome is not that large and most attractions are a couple of bus or metro stops away.

Overall this is nice hotel offering very good value for your euro. The rooms were very clean and the staff was quite helpful. It's not a 5 star...but it is a great 4 star!

Forgot one thing...it has free wireless Internet in the room that is actually quite fast!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemide Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome!Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. And make sure not to miss the recently renewed Ambrosia roof-top restaurant, with its magnificent views over the roofs of Rome. We're expecting you!Spa Grand Opening!After many months of preparation and construction, Hotel Artemide is proud to announce the Grand Opening of our new spa, Artemis! We hope that during your stay, you may be able to enjoy a relaxing visit to the spa. Our opening hours are from 11am till 8pm, everyday. Reservations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.