We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Artemide Hotel to your Saves list
Artemide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a long weekend trip to Rome for our 20th anniversary. We stayed at the Artimede for 3 nights, and I have to say it was pretty faultless! I booked it based on great reviews and it didn't disappoint. It wasn't the cheapest option, but it was certainly worth it.

On arrival the friendly staff gave us information & a free but very good map, and vouchers for a complimentary drink at the rooftop terrace. I'd mentioned we were visiting for our anniversary in our booking, and we also found a welcome note and complimentary bottle of wine in our room - lovely touch.

The room was Good, although no view, but hey, we weren't there to look out of the hotel window! The room also boasted a free mini bar, topped up every day. Housekeeping was immaculate - our room was tidied at least twice one day! An extra pillow was delivered promptly. There was also s complementary tea/coffee in the seating areas downstairs.

We're not breakfast people so didn't use the breakfast service (coffe and mid morning cakes whilst out a much better option!), but we did eat in the rooftop terrace restaurant on our final evening, and it was brilliant - service again impeccable.

We had planned to go back to the airport by train on our way back (we'd used the Leonardo Express to come in), but even though its only a short walk to the termini it was heaving with rain. We bit the bullet and asked the hotel for a cab. they provided their own Merc minibus, €50 all in including tip. Given we'd have paid at least €32 for the train, plus walk and hassle, it was well worth it.

Location wise the Artimede is brilliant. We did all the usual stuff - Trevino fountain, Colosseum, Pantheon etc on foot. When we went to the Vatican we took the Metro, but had a leisurely walk back, which is worth it for all the things you wouldn't see on the bus/metro/taxi.

All in al we had a brilliant trip, made so by having a fantastic central base, with friendly helpful staff. Would we stay here again? Definitely!!!!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,863
    826
    112
    18
    13
See reviews for
848
2,203
71
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Except for the size of the room, everything else was exceptional. It was very clean, nice lounge areas, tea service free of charge, well sticked soft drinks and beer in the room, ambience of the rooms and bathrooms was of high standard. The breakfast was high on quality, and freshly squeezed orange juice along with best cappucino would be great start of the day.
We stayed for 4 nights , could have stayed longer. Nothing was too much for the staff. Universally male and female staff were
exceptional in their attire and service. We would stay there again but in a bigger room.

Room Tip: Bigger room if you can ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very close to most amenities, 10 minute cab to Vatican, surrounded by shopping, able to walk to most venues an surrounded by restaurants. Very clean hotel, great late night terrace restaurant for after dinner drinks or cigars. Very helpful staff, free daily mini bar, fresh amenities. Great place and good value.

Room Tip: Get the superior...well worth the few more dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location, easy walking to main attractions.
Rooms were clean & equipped with all you need.
Bed was hard but this seems to be the same in all hotels through Italy.
Bathroom was clean and large.
Free mini bar was a real treat, refilled each day.
We had a street facing room which was very noisy at night, ask for a room away from the street if your a light sleeper or have earplugs on hand.
No air-conditioning in the room if your travelling in summer.
Checkin was easy and staff very polite and professional.
Roof top bar and restaurant very nice. I would recommend eating there, we only ate there on our last night and wished we had of eaten there more nights based on the experiences we had just randomly choosing other restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel, very nice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Artemide Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all let us thank you for your kind words. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay here at Artemide. We are only sorry that you had some hiccups which could have been solved for you immediately.

It is always of great importance to us that our Guests have a good night’s sleep; this is why when furnishing the rooms with mattresses we thought of buying some which would fit most Guests. However, we do understand that all people are different in their taste, therefore we have made available some padding which may be placed by our housekeeping just above the mattress to make it softer.

As for the allocation of the room, please note that we have both rooms overlooking Via Nazionale and the internal courtyard. Because of this, we always stress the importance of making any particular request at the time of booking so that our Front Office Clerks may be able to assign rooms matching our Guests requests. In your case, knowing beforehand that you preferred a quieter room, it would have been our care to assign you a room overlooking our inner courtyard. Unfortunately room location cannot be guaranteed at the time of booking, since it will depend on availability on the day of arrival, however we will make sure to take good note of any requests forwarded to us. Furthermore, having known about your distress at the time, we would have tried our best to change you room as soon as one had become available.
Coming to the air-conditioning please note that Artemide is fully equipped with it in all rooms and public areas. The system is centralized, therefore the heating and cooling systems are available separately and at different times throughout the year. By reading your words we understood that your stay must have been prior to the 12th of April, in which day we have switched on the air-con in the whole hotel. We normally switch on the general air conditioning when the outside temperature reaches 20°C. Since April is quite an unsteady month temperature wise, we decided to turn the system into cooling around the second week of the month. This unfortunately is a common problem since April is a very unsteady month; as a matter of fact these few days we had thunderstorms and the temperature dropped various degrees. We would like to reassure our Guests that now the air-conditioning is on and fully working.

Sais this, we do hope that you will be able to visit us again and enjoy more often our restaurant and the beauties of Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a good location. The staff were cheerful, friendly and most helpful The comfortable bedroom was well equipped and the free mini bar and evening chocolates were much appreciated. Sitting on the terrace,sipping our drinks prior to dinner, watching the sun go down over the rooftops of Rome was a particular pleasure. The free cups of tea in the very comfortable public rooms were very welcome after a day's sightseeing.We were delighted to have found such an excellent hotel for our first visit to Rome and thoroughly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel lived up to its reputation, having read the many reviews on tripadvisor I had high expectations and it didn't disappoint.

We were upgraded on arrival to a large room which had a very comfortable and huge bed. All of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We were given a free drink on arrival in the rooftop terrace bar which was a nice start to our break and the free mini bar very nice after a long day sightseeing.

The breakfast choice was fantastic and staff worked hard to ensure you weren't waiting for anything.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel and I would return if I visited rome in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Artemide. I have to say the quality of service from staff in all areas of the hotel was just outstanding. The rooftop restaurant provided excellent food and a great venue to chill out for just a drink as well. Having a free mini bar in the room is a nice touch as well. It is in a great location for access to all the major sights - walkable to the Trevi fountain and the colloseum, and easy bus or metro link to the Vatican. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the other side of the corridor to the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemide Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#13 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome!Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. And make sure not to miss the recently renewed Ambrosia roof-top restaurant, with its magnificent views over the roofs of Rome. We're expecting you!Spa Grand Opening!After many months of preparation and construction, Hotel Artemide is proud to announce the Grand Opening of our new spa, Artemis! We hope that during your stay, you may be able to enjoy a relaxing visit to the spa. Our opening hours are from 11am till 8pm, everyday. Reservations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Artemide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.