We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby trip to rome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemide Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Artemide Hotel to your Saves list
Artemide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tenby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Rugby trip to rome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Artemide,very friendly staff,beautifull hotel,clean,good breakfast and good location.
Try the open top bus,its hop on hop off and good idea to see all the sites.
Be very carefull at the Vatigan lots of pick pockets so keep your valuable close to you.
The Vatigan was the most amazing site ive seen well worth going to see.
I would highly reccomend the Artemide hotel again for my stay in Rome.

Room Tip: Dont think you can go wrong with any room.12 of us travelled together and all had fab room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,100
    862
    117
    18
    13
See reviews for
924
2,352
80
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent a week at Hotel Artemide and had an overall very good experience.

The Good: The staff were very friendly and accommodating and reacted quickly to requests. The location was a great departure point for sightseeing- 10 minute walk to Trevi Fountain. Breakfast was very good and included in our price. The common areas and rooms were very clean. There is a nice lounge and a good bar/restaurant. The restaurant staff agreed to cook and serve us dinner before their regular opening time so we could get to a concert.

The Less Good: The elevator was in and out of service for much of our week and the alternate service elevator could only hold 2 people at a time. The room had no dresser drawers and only 4 hangers so we had to live out of our suitcases the entire week. Wireless was spotty and we couldn't always get email in our room.

In all, a very good experience and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were very pleased by all of the service we had at the hotel. From our check in the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The hotel is in a great location. It's about 10 minutes walk from Termini and 20 minutes from the Pantheon, Colisseum and Trevi Fountain. It is a bit further out from the Vatican but is still walkable.

The hotel gave us vouchers for a glass each of prosecco on the roof top terrace. They also gave us a map of Rome. It was our first wedding anniversary and they gave us an upgrade on arrival. The room itself was a small-ish size, but perfect for our needs as we intended to be out and about every day. It was very clean and the bathroom had an amazing power shower. There was a complimentary mini ridge which was restocked with soft drinks each day. Our room was cleaned each day and clean towels were provided as well. There were also tea and coffee making facilities.

The roof top bar had a fabulous view across Rome. We watched the sun go down on our last night in Rome with a glass of wine in hand and it was fab. We didn't try the hotel restaurant although the menu looked really nice. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it was a bit expensive at 15 euros per person each day to add it onto our stay as we had originally booked room only. On our last day we didn't have to catch our flight home until the evening, but there were facilities to leave our bag at the hotel and collect it later after we had checked out.

All in all I'd recommend it for someone who's trying to do Rome on a budget.

Room Tip: I imagine the rooms facing onto the Via Nazionale are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel Artemide is a wonderful hotel. The location is brilliant and the Via Nazionale is a buzzing street and if its your first time in Rome you will feel cosy because of the busy atmosphere. the free minibar is great with soft drinks,water, nuts and biscuits restocked everyday! the unlimited free wifi is very handy and the lindt chocolates put by your bedside table every night is so nice! (and they are tasty!) The breakfast buffet is awesome and they have every type of fruit juice you could imagine and mini packs of nutella for your croissant! The staff are helpful and the porter was friendly and they really did put the icing on top of the cake! the hotel Artemide is a FANTASTIC hotel and i want to go back a.s.a.p !!!

Room Tip: try get a room at the front of the hotel looking over the Via Nazionale as there is a small balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The front desk staff was outstanding. Continental breakfast was very good. The elevator was out of service several times each day and we were on the fifth floor so we got more exercise than planned. The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable. The location was fairly central but next time we would stay closer to the Piazza Navona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Artemide Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We are pleased to know that you have appreciated so much our Staff and Breakfast.
As for the issues you have mentioned, especially concerning the lift, we would like to explain what happened.

The Hotel policy is to check regularly the functioning of each lift and equipment available to our Guests. If any minor issue might occur, our maintenance staff is available all day to adjust the small glitches and reestablish the functionality of the lifts as quickly as possible in order to avoid creating distress for our Guests. This time the damage was of exceptional nature, caused by an inappropriate use of the lift’s door occurred to an unfortunate client. Although we have not charged him for the damage caused, it did bring some distress to the other Guests since it was not a regular glitch and an external engineer had to be called, a new piece for the lift had to be ordered and it took a couple of days to be replaced.
We completely understand that this has definitely caused some problems to our Guests, it is also true that we have immediately signaled the problem and the service lift was made available. The reception staff made sure to place notes on each floor in order for Guest to understand that this lift could be used until the matter would be solved. We are sorry to hear that you had to walk all the way up to your floor when there was another solution at hand.

As for the hard bed this as well is a matter that could have been solved immediately if informed. Our housekeeping staff would have been ready to help you and ease your discomfort by placing a soft mat above the mattress. We always try to cater for most Guests, but we surely understand that not all have the same needs and requirements when travelling. Therefore all our staff is trained to be attentive and to encourage our Guests to communicate about any necessity they might have, such as an extra pillow or blanket.

Coming to the location, please note that this is extremely well depicted with maps and information on our selling websites. Furthermore being so central and next to the main train station in Rome (Termini Station), you have many public transports to use. The main underground hubs leave from Termini and will take you to many spots in Rome with a short ride (e.g. Coliseum, Vatican City). Furthermore, most busses which go through the historical parts of Rome have their terminus here. Piazza Navona, although a very charming area, does not have all these comforts at hand.

Of course all people are different in their taste of location, room type and Hotel atmosphere, and we definitely respect that. This is the reason why we try to be as clear as possible on our selling websites, because we want our Guests to make an informed choice when booking. Our staff is available day and night to help you in your decision and will be more than happy to answer your questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Artemide is a great hotel in a fantastic position for exploring Rome. We booked the hotel after reading reviews and were not disappointed. It lives up to expectations.
The service from all the staff was amazingly friendly and efficient. The breakfast was fabulous, everything you could possibly want to eat, all fresh and beautifully presented.
The rooms were spacious and clean, the bed comfy. If you are worried by road noise, and it is on a busy street, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Ours was on the 6th floor at the back, no view at all, but very quiet.
The hotel is so well situated. It is about 10 mins walk from the Termini station. The train to and from the airport runs from there, the journey is 1/2 an hour and much cheaper than a taxi. It is easy to buy a ticket from the automated machines. The roads and pavements are cobbled, so make sure the wheels on your suitcase are up to it!! There is also a metro station a couple of mins walk away, use it for cheap fast trains to the Vatican.
The other way down the road takes you to the main sites of Ancient Rome, about 15-20 mins easy walking. Head towards the Trevi Fountain in the evening and you will be spoilt for choice with all the restaurants and coffee houses that are up and down the streets. There are restaurants all over the city but we found these the easiest to walk to after a long day.
However we also ate in the hotel restaurant and drank in the hotel bar. Great food, superb service. The open roof top was just a bit too chilly to sit out on, we found, but some hardier souls were out there enjoying the evening. You get a great view over the roof tops to the Vatican from up there. We sat on the comfy chairs and looked out of the windows instead!
There was such a mix of people in the hotel, families, couples young and old, business travellers, and all sorts of nationalities. A very happy friendly atmomsphere throughout.
But it is all the little thoughtful touches that make this hotel stand out above the rest. Others have raved about the WiFi and mini bar, so I won't go on about them, just to say they are free and available to all guests.Downstairs, off the entrance lobby, is a lounge area, where you can sit and make yourself a cup of tea or coffee, again free, and plan the day, read a paper or unwind after a long day before heading off home.
We will be going back to the Artemide Hotel, and I hope it will be soon !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up or at the back of the hotel if you are worried by the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am not going to repeat everything good said in the previous reviews. It is all true. We also got a great rate because it was a slow season. Extra points go to the service staff in the breakfast room and restaurant. We felt truly welcomed every time. Upstairs restaurant has a very good value/quality ratio. We would definitely go back to Artemide after they finish their spa!

Room Tip: we asked for the quieter room when making a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemide Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rome
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#12 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. And make sure not to miss the recently renewed Ambrosia roof-top restaurant, with its magnificent views over the roofs of Rome. We're expecting you! Spa Grand Opening! After many months of preparation and construction, Hotel Artemide is proud to announce the Grand Opening of our new spa, Artemis! We hope that during your stay, you may be able to enjoy a relaxing visit to the spa. Our opening hours are from 11am till 8pm, everyday. Reservations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Artemide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.