We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best all-around choice in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemide Hotel

Save Saved
You added Artemide Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Artemide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 1,268 hotels in Rome
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“The best all-around choice in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay was October 18 - 25th.
Really enjoyed this hotel -- the location is great.Can
walk to the Coliseum and Roman Forum, etc. The
metro is close and buses run on Via Nazionale.
Our room was lovely although small - facing the
courtyard. It was very clean, quiet and nicely
decorated. Breakfast was unbelievable -- great
variety and very tasty. The staff were very nice and
helpful. Would definitely stay here if we are lucky
enough to return to Rome. Visited Pompeii,
catacombs, Vatican/Sistine Chapel, etc.

TomD/DorisK, Cincinnati

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,592
    799
    106
    17
    13
See reviews for
788
2024
68
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked this hotel based on all the positive reviews and was disappointed b/c of the room. I paid around US$250/night; not sure how this compares in Rome in Nov but I thought I would get a luxury room with a street view (I requested during booking but understood they cannot guarantee). I was given a “triple room” on 5th floor (nothing close to the photo of the façade of the hotel) facing courtyard which was very quiet BUT was permanently shuttered with no natural light - like staying in a box. The room, though spacious and clean, looked tired. All mirrors (except the bathroom) had bad mercury stains, which I guess can be good as I could not make out the flaws on my face. The wall paper was old and I did not want to touch. The bathroom faucet was grimey so the water is restricted probably by grime/sand stuck in the filter (not sure how to describe this properly but hopefully you have an idea). I asked for a room change but unfortunately hotel was fully booked. Hotel management (I think was Alessandro) really nice and said can change when room is available next day, but I was too tired and in hurry to join tour, so declined. If I accepted, maybe would be different story.

Service was clearly 5 stars. Everyone from the porter, maid, bar tender is cheerful, helpful and gave me impression they would do whatever they can to better my stay. Mario was funny and helpful (actually everyone good but I cannot remember all the names, sorry) and I took up much of his time for tours, explanations, changes…etc. Wifi is free and there is a free business centre with printer. As for location, I heard via Nationale is a really good area, but I could not walk to any of the sites. I took taxi so cannot advise whether metro was convenient. Hotel booked a car for me to the airport which was a straight 50euros (versus taxi 48euros). This was a nice Mercedes so highly recommended.

Will I come back? If they offer the same room, NO even if free. If they offer some special rate for returning guests in different room, I think can try as the service really was excellent.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no natural light, though quiet, beware if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Artemide Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on our Hotel. We are glad to learn that you have found our Service to be of such high standards and that you have fond memories of Mario. We are sure he will be glad to read your kind words.

Coming to your room, we are sorry to learn that you did not find it of your liking. By reviewing your reservation, we have confirmed that you had in fact booked a double classic room requesting a view. As you have as well underlined, unfortunately we cannot guarantee a view on Via Nazionale at the time of booking. This is because not all rooms in the same category have the same view. However, we always try to assign a room as close as possible to the one requested. In your case, we thought that assigning you a triple room, as a free upgrade, would have been a good choice. It is true that the view was on the internal courtyard, however the room assigned has three large windows and we thought that at least your request for a luminous room would have been fulfilled. We are sorry to learn only now that you had problems in opening the shutters, having known about it at the time our housekeeping would have been glad to open them for you. In order to inform our future Guests, we would like to stress the fact that all our windows and shutters may be opened throughout the Hotel. As for the rate, it is true that it might seem a bit higher than the average rate of other 4 star hotels in the area, however when deciding the rate we also take into consideration the service and quality which we offer our Guests.

Coming to the room specifics, kindly note that as for the facet of the bathroom the water runs normally and we could not find this grime/sand which you described, however it is known that Rome’s water is full of calcium this is why our housekeeping is always very attentive when cleaning and that descaling products are regularly used. Furthermore, the mirrors in the corridor are not stained at all. As a matter of fact it is a style of glass which may be found all over the Hotel, including the lobby. It is called “Vienna antique” and it is used on purpose since Artemide’s interior design reflects that of the Deco building of the 19th century. We understand that taste in style may vary from guest to guest, however our website is full of pictures both of the rooms and of the common areas which may help understand the Hotel’s atmosphere. Since one of our main policies is to ensure that all our rooms and equipments are up-to-date, we have checked in your room the state of the wallpaper. We are sorry that you have found it to be unclean, however we would like to reassure our Guests that this is not the case.
Our management is always keen on improving Artemide’s facilities. This is why restyling and refurbishment works are constantly undertaken throughout the years so to give Guests the most modern equipment and renewed outlets, as Ambrosia Restaurant.

Said this, we are sorry that you did not like the room assigned, however we are normally fully committed and could offer only a room move the next day which unfortunately you have decided not to accept.

Finally, regarding our location, this is well depicted on our selling websites. Many of our Guests marvel at the fact that we are really close by many sightseeing attractions (Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps are 10 minutes away while the Colloseum is 20 minutes away on foot). Furthermore many buses stop just in front of the Hotel and reach all over Rome, while an underground stop is only a couple streets up. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our location to be comfortable and that you had to take taxis everywhere, however we would like to inform our future Guests, that for any enquiry on directions our receptionists are always available to help you understand our area and the distance to the main sites.
Once more thank you for reviewing us and we do hope that the room assignment has not completely disrupted your experience with us and in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Artemide for a week in late October and had a wonderful time. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The free minibar was awesome. It's so nice to come back to the room after a long sightseeing session to find a stocked fridge. As other reviewers have said, the breakfast is fantastic, far exceeding my expectations. I heartily recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A very comfortable hotel, with professional efficient staff. Room was spacious, clean with roomy bathroom. Facing onto Via Nazionale, our room had some traffic noise. Some guests may wish to ask to avoid this, but benefits of this hotel outweigh this downside. Breakfast very good with wide choice of healthy options as well as delicious bakery and hot choices. Roof terrace bar with indoor and outdoor areas provided friendly personal service, glass of quality wine, with price to match! Nearby restaurants suggested by reception proved too expensive for us to consider patronising.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Via Nazionale inevitably have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights, to just tell you in short - it was the best hotel (service / staff oriented) hotel i have ever been in...from the concierge to the manager, the whole experience at this hotel was amazing, they were friendly and always smiling..rooms very very good, bathroom, etc all very clean neat. location is excellent as well probably around 7 mins walk to the main Termini Station...and underground, breakfast was good - the rooftop restaurant / bar / lounge is also great. a very good experience. in a hotel apart from cleanliness of the rooms etc, if the staff are friendly and always cheerful - that what makes the stay at the hotel even more memorable. i would recommend all who travel to Rome to stay at this wonderful friendly hotel. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent hotel and unusual in that they offer so many free things - mini bar including spirits if you want them, umbrellas (!), bottle of complimentary wine, wi-fi, newspapers every day to your room. I would imagine that the amount of extra business and good will that these generate is greater than the loss from anyone who abuses the system. Interesting psychology that makes people feel good and then they tend not to abuse it, Staff great and helpful. Breakfast fine. Dinner in Restaurant has limited menu but nicely cooked and good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemide Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rome
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#16 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemide Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome!Just a stone’s throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from, right in the city centre.Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City.Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. And make sure not to miss the recently renewed Ambrosia roof-top restaurant, with its magnificent views over the roofs of Rome. We’re expecting you!Spa Grand Opening!After many months of preparation and construction, Hotel Artemide is proud to announce the Grand Opening of our new spa, Artemís! We hope that during your stay, you may be able to enjoy a relaxing visit to the spa. Our opening hours are from 11am till 8pm, everyday. Reservations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Artemide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.