We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemide Hotel

Save Saved
You added Artemide Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Artemide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed in our 10 days vacation in Italy (and we stayed in a few other good ones). We are a family of 4 and stayed in he family room. It was very spacey for a hotel room in Europe. The service was amazing!!! When we got into the room after a long drive from Tuscany a beautiful plate of fruit awaited us. The kids loved it. Also the free minibar and snacks are a real treat, especially in Italy where every coke is so expensive.... the staff at reception were extremely helpful- we asked about attractions locations and restaurants reservations and they were always helpful and resourceful. We will definitely recommend and maybe visit again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,577
    813
    106
    19
    14
See reviews for
747
1990
67
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went early to see if we could check in early, which they arranged for us. They then gave us an amazing upgrade to the honeymoon suite for the night. WOW! Private rooftop terrace, free mini bar, extra lounge room, super king bed, jacuzzi bath.. The list goes on! The staff were amazing, the sauna was lovely as was the gym.
We also got free wifi and a free glass of bubbles on their rooftop bar. We didn't eat there but the food looked amazing and I would recommend booking as it looked very busy.
Perfect end to our holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from three nights at the Artemide. There were four of us so we booked two classic rooms. These were a perfectly adequate size with 6 foot beds (two 3 foot beds together) and room at the side for tables and plenty of room at the foot of the bed - they are just as the photo shows them. Both rooms overlooked the back so there were no views but as the weather was warm and sunny - 26 degrees - the shutters were usually half closed anyway. These were the quietest rooms I have ever had in a hotel - no noise from doors banging, no running water noises from other bathrooms - the best night's sleep. Beds were very firm and extra pillows quickly provided when asked for.

Breakfast was lovely and very varied. This is the first time I have seen a salad bar at breakfast. The free minibar was much appreciated as we had cold water and beers available in our room when we got back after a hard day's sightseeing, and more biscuits provided than I have ever seen in a hotel.

We had excellent, and not overly expensive, meals in the roof top restaurant.

We asked the hotel to book a taxi to collect us from the airport. This is a fixed rate, including luggage and a tip, and at E60 (E50 for the return) for four of us, was not much more than the train and well worth it. There had been a demonstration in Rome that day and the traffic was even worse than usual so it took twice as long to get from the airport - thank goodness the taxi rate was fixed.

Before we arrived, I had booked tours of the Colesseum and also of the Vatican, with Dark Rome tours - both excellent but at 3 hours, quite strenuous - lots of standing. We walked to the Colesseum from the hotel in about 20 minutes and all major sites are in walking distance.

The main picture on the website of the buildings around a fountain, is at the top of the road - its not a photo of the hotel - which slightly confused us but we really could not fault the hotel in any way and would certainly stay again if we return to Rome.

Loved Rome, loved the hotel and keen to go back.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are a perfectly good size for a few days' stay - they are a fairly standard room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Artemide Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! It is always fulfilling to read our Guests’ comments and to understand that our efforts to make their stay a memorable one have reached their goal. We are extremely pleased to learn that you had “the best night’s sleep” in our Hotel and that you have found our rooms to be a comfortable size and the beds to be to your liking. Also, we are glad to know that our breakfast variety has satisfied all your parties’ taste and that it was plenty for you to enjoy.

Regarding your note on the websites’ picture, we would like to explain that it is in fact a picture of the square and fountain just a few steps away from out entrance, however we are currently reviewing the whole of our website, so to give a more modern view of our Property adding new pictures of the rooms and of the newly refurbished Rooftop Bar&Restaurant, Ambrosia.

We thank you once more for your kind comment and we do hope to have you and your party back soon as our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel has been updated. It is clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows are great.The standard room is fine but not roomy. Just slightly larger than a cruise ship. However, bathroom was larger. The convience of the free mini bar (beer, juice, pop, water), nuts and cookies was great. The roof top resturant was also very good and not too expensive. The location is unremarkable on a busy street. Just ask for a quiet room. It seems if you are in the core area of Rome a taxi cost about 10 euro to Vatican or Borghese or Colessium. During busy traffic times the city buses are so crowded you may not get on. We tried one time and then either walked or took taxi.
HOWEVER, walking times may be longer than advertised. Rome is hilly and sidewalks are uneven and crowded and sometimes not there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Artemide Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

it is always useful for us to learn about our Guests’ opinions and experience in our Hotel.

We have noted that you have mentioned the size of our rooms. In order to inform our future Guests, we would like to underline the fact that our Hotel is equipped with various sized rooms, with different features. All categories are well described on all our selling websites, which feature the correct size of the bed, the size of the room and a picture so to give a better understanding of the atmosphere. We always strive to make our Guests feel at home and this is why our Front Office staff is always available to answer all their questions and concerns so that they may make an informed choice when booking their accommodation.

As for the location, we are sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the surrounding area. Most of our Guests find us conveniently located so to reach easily all parts of town and the main attractions, not only on foot but also with the underground station which is really close by. Furthermore, Via Nazionale is considered one of the renowned street of Rome, for shopping and restaurants, without considering the fact that it also offers cultural interests as the Palazzo delle Esposizioni Museum, the Diocletian Baths and the Anglican Church just next door. We of course understand that this is a matter of taste and this is why, as for the rooms, we have well described our location on our website.

As for the hills it is normally well known that Rome has been built on “seven hills” and that it should be expected to be slightly hilly, although nowadays it is very difficult to tell.
Regarding the sidewalks, we understand your distress, unfortunately it is not something that we, as a Hotel, are able to solve directly. What we will do is write to the City Major’s complain office to inform them of the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Sure, a room on the front is noisy, but with the windows closed and the aircon on it was fine. Excellent service from all the staff. The front desk was very helpful. The breakfast staff always cheerful and attentive. The superior room was a good size - we wouldn't have wanted to try a standard room. But this is Rome so expect expensive and small. And the Artemide is well located for all the main tourist attractions. An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Free minibar, great and friendly staff, great location, will definitely recommend to others.
Food in the restaurant is the best we've had in Italy... Superb!!
All staff went out of their way to make our stay for our honeymoon as pleasurable as possible - THANKYOU!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artemide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemide Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rome
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemide Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome!Just a stone’s throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from, right in the city centre.Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City.Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. And make sure not to miss the recently renewed Ambrosia roof-top restaurant, with its magnificent views over the roofs of Rome. We’re expecting you!Spa Grand Opening!After many months of preparation and construction, Hotel Artemide is proud to announce the Grand Opening of our new spa, Artemís! We hope that during your stay, you may be able to enjoy a relaxing visit to the spa. Our opening hours are from 11am till 8pm, everyday. Reservations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Artemide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.