We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artemide Hotel

Save Saved
You added Artemide Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Artemide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Small and charming hotel - it's very centrally located. We stayed at the Artemide last November and again this June. The staff is terrific and I love the roof top restaurant and outdoor bar. I'd definitely give this property a "big thumbs up"!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,467
    784
    105
    19
    14
See reviews for
713
1911
64
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is a great location for sight seeing and the perfect hotel if you will be going out to sight see as there isn"t an outdoor area and there is no pool but there is a gym and rooftop resteraunt.
The food was absolutely delicious! The staff were very nice and friendly. The rooms were very clean and airy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Most of the reviews about Hotel Artemide are spot on. Excellent staff who were all helpful and courteous, wonderful breakfasts (loved the breakfast room manager!), lovely roof top restaurant (delighted with the complimentary bottle of fizz for our anniversary) generous free mini bar, complimentary toiletries and the central location to enable us to walk to all the sights. The furthest distance is to the Vatican which is a 45 minute walk. The railway station is 10-15 minute walk. bear in mind the heat in Rome as it will slow you down. The room was fine for the two of us, it was on the 5th floor and very quiet.

We went on a bus tour but as we had already walked to most of the sights, we found it a bit boring. A little tip - if you buy a ticket for a bus tour in the hotel make sure they write PAID on the ticket as the bus tours won't accept the ticket which was a nuisance and annoyed us somewhat.

We loved the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel but get there as early as you can as they both are really busy. We were prepared but alot of people were not dressed appropriately and were turned away if they were wearing shorts or dresses above the knee and shoulderless tops. We saw lots of people buying cheap shawls from street sellers so they could be allowed back in.

If you are fit and healthy do climb the steps up into the Dome at St Peters. There are 550 stairs and it can be difficult but once you are at the top the view over Rome is amazing. The Colosseum is brilliant to visit in the evening when it is lit up too.

All in all we loved Rome, the hotel was exceptional and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife booked this Hotel as a surprise for my 50th Birthday. We spent 3 nights here in July 2012. We got to the Hotel by catching the train from the airport to the Termini Station and than got the Metro to Republica, which is the first stop. The train cost 16 euro each and the Metro was 1.5 euro each. It is then literally round the corner from the Metro station.
On arrival at reception the staff were very helpful and informed us that we were upgraded to a superior room for no extra cost, which i thought was very good of them, and then on arrival in our room their was a complimentary bottle of red wine with a nice note from the manager congratulating me on my birthday. The first night we dined in the roof top restaurant which in my opinion was very good and we had the complimentary free drink and 20% discount off our meal. Ok so the food is a bit pricey but you are in ancient room and compared to some of the restaurants we stopped at this seemed a fair price. The first day we walked to the Collessium, paid 5 euro extra for a guided tour and this lets you jump the queue, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and then back to the hotel and went out in the evening for something to eat. The Restaurants around were a bit pricey and all pretty much the same, however we found one and eat their but i was not impressed with the meal and wish we had dined at the roof top restaurant.
Next day we got the Green Line Tour (GLT) open top bus and went to the Vatican and St Peters, pretty awesome, i must say. A tip here we were offered a guided tour as it lets you jump the queue and you go straight in. We were approached by some reps who were offering the tours from between 40-45 euro, however we joined the queue for the vatican and was again approached by a rep offering a tour for 35 euro so we went with that one and had a very informative guide which takes about 2 hours. We then hopped back on the GLT opentop bus and returned to the hotel. For our last evening we dined at the roof top restaurant which really is peacefull and relaxing especially after the hustle and bustle of Rome and we enjoyed our meal.
I note another reviewer had a problem at the Restaurant but we found the staff very good and courteous
The rooms were very good with comfortable bed, free mini bar, and air conditioning
The breakfasts were very good with plenty to eat and drink and a wide selection to choose from.
We did book the hotel transport back to the airport which cost 50 euro but it was well worth it as we couldnt be bothered with catching the train.
I would recommend this Hotel and thank the staff for making our stay a very special one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great hotel for the price, our double room deluxe was not that small and very nice. Great bathroom and free mini bar. Breakfast great and rooftop bar/restaurant nice.

While the area is very handy to walk to everything, it's not the prettiest. Also if in a room with no view, room a little claustrophobic

Would recommend for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for our honeymoon in Rome.

It is on a busy street, 10 minutes walk from Termini station. The area felt safe and the metro was within a few minutes walk. We chose to walk most places with everything with 15-30 minutes walk.

The hotel is clean and tidy. We had a small double room on the 4th floor overlooking the back of the hotel. It was very tidy and the air con was a fantastic bonus with outside temperatures 33'c+. The room had a mini bar with drinks that was topped up daily which was a lovely bonus. The bathroom was clean, tidy and well laid out with plenty of toiletries and even a pair of slippers!

The staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. There was a wide range of juices, tea and coffee. Plenty of different food was available ranging from bread, cheese, ham, salad, fruit, yoghurt, cereal and plenty of other items.

We ate in the rooftop restaurant on the first evening and couldn't fault it. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was divine and it was a lovely romantic setting.

Will definitely consider this hotel if we are in Rome again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Close to a lot of major points of interest, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon and Colosseum. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great especially the free mini bar which came in so handy. The free wifi was also a plus. We only ate at the roof top restaurant one night which was good not great compared to all the wonderful restaurants in the area. Breakfast was fantastic with the the Maitre'd as it turns out was also the pastry chef who made all the wonderful breakfast rolls and croissants. We went the last two weeks of June in which the weather was in the 90s but the air conditioned room was wonderful to get out of the heat.

Room Tip: Inside rooms do not have a view but were very quiet since we could not hear the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artemide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemide Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome
Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale 22, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#64 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemide Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artemide Hotel is situated in the heart of Rome, 900 metres from the Termini railway station, in the shopping area of Via Nazionale. Recently renovated, the hotel has maintained its distinctive Art Nouveau elements in all common areas and also features extensive meeting facilities as well as a free Internet point, Wi-Fi connection, Gym with Sauna and a Roof terrace bar with its unforgettable views of Rome skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artemide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.