We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel not too far from the city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TOP Hotel American Palace EUR

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TOP Hotel American Palace EUR to your Saves list
TOP Hotel American Palace EUR
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #847 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel not too far from the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel located right off the last Metro B stop (Laurentina). Even though I was early for check in time, my room was ready - which was much appreciated. The receptionist was able to provide good directions into the main center (the Colosseum). My room looked out over the street, but was very quiet and beautiful. I was only here for one night, but it was a very comfortable stay. The free breakfast was great. Wifi was free, which is always appreciated. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    183
    233
    165
    113
See reviews for
88
249
54
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The stay in the American Palace was really pleasent starting with the confort of the hotel.
Located near a metro station that goes directy to the center of rome (Colosseum and Termini).
The breakfast was really complete and the rooms were very clean, all to be expected in a 4 star hotel that turn out to be chep (about 45 euros/day near the Easter with an early booking) and with free wi-fi.

The outside noise isolation and the english speaking staff are things that should be improved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at TOP Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Barata_16,
Thank you for your kind review and to have chosen our American Palace for your Easter in Rome!
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, and facilities.
I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 21 - 25th mars.
I booked this according to their picture on the nettside, i arrived at the hoetel at, 12:30, i knew that check inn was at three o'clock. Så i left my luggage, and went to explore the nearby.
When i came back, the first message "your room madame is not ready", I said "what" ?
Wait said the receptionist, ok, its ready replied him again. I was handed the key, my room was in the First floor, then i was asked to get my luggage in the lobby, but my luggage was not there. I asked the resptionist, where he asked me back, " where did you put it"... I said, one of your personale tok it with him, so don't ask me.
Then he called one of his staff, i was showed in a little room, where i got my luggage and proceeded to the room.
I was really dissappointed, of the room. It was small, but thats okay, the old Tv didn't work the first day, i thought ok, i will survive, the internet user receipt, was not the best either, when logged on, i was logged off almost every one minute, i couldn't not communicate for 5min in a row, which was a disappointment, i told the guy in the reception about the internett access problem, what he told me, was " i have never heard anybody having problem with that". This went on for my entire stay, lucky enough i was there just to eplore Rome not the hotel, but gosh i needed a nice atmosphere to come back to after a heavy day walking in Rome.
The bathroom door could not lock, they were paint on the lock, so i don't understant why the key was in.
Its says non smoking, as i came out of my room, the corridor, was smelling cigarret... I could write a long list, but i have learnt one thing, i will never stay here again.
And Please show who you really are, its better for your customers...put all the pictures of your hotellrooms, not the fancyone, because, everyone this all rooms are the same. You give us more choices, maybe i should have paid for more for a better comfort.
Food, is not all that big deal, not all were willing to speak english. Its dispointing, where you have flags from speaking countries, but less speaking english.
One question, did everyone pay 3euro per night extra?

Room Tip: Maybe its the 1. floor, which is the worst.. i don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were nice but very small. Location is a bit far away from Rome's attractions but we didn't have a problem as we had a car. The outdoor garden was very beautiful. Staff were ok. The worst experience in this hotel was the breakfast!! The hotel was more of 3 stars than a 4 stars. But was a great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Considering the price we paid ( 33 eur / double room (2 persons) / night, breakfast included ), it`s a very good choice.

The metro it`s 5 minutes walking and it takes you to Colosseo station in 20 minutes.
The breakfast is fine, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean.

The rooms are very small and NOT soundproof at all :(
The WiFi works but it`s poor...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at TOP Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Tr4vel_Agent
First of all I would like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.
I regret to be informed that your stay did not come up to your expectations.
As we really want our guests to feel at home and to be able to move around independently, we normally provide at check in full information about how to get to the historical centre using public transportation . As you can imagine the internet service is provided by an external company and if their lines have a fault for us it is practically impossible to find alternatives. We are aware of the fact that internet is important to our guests, that is why we offer it with no extra charges. When there is a fault on the internet lines we get in contact with our provider requiring a quick resolution.
Our goal is to be able to offer the best quality of efficiency in our service, so that our guests could enjoy very pleasant stay with us. This is the reason why we hope to have the chance to have you back in our hotels and come up to your expectations.
Kind regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is a 4 star hotel for trimming and courtesy while a 2 star hotel for rooms and services. Rooms are small, bare but clean enough. Windows and furniture are at least 25 years old. The
bathroom has basic elements, nothing peculiar. Lifts are old style, very small.
This hotel offers a very good value for money but it is not as it looks on the web-site.
Breakfast was served in an elegant dining room but it was poor too: some tin-pot brioches, orange juice and a restricted choise of cheese and salami for international clients. Parking is quite expensive too: 15.00 €/day. It is pretty close to Subway, though.
Lastly, during cleaning service in the moring, corridor stank of smoke.
Recommended for "a practical stay" connected with EUR Area only. For a pleisure stay, please look for something else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at TOP Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mr "Reikov",

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!
We are sorry to read your disappointment and experience about some issues during your stay with us.
First: our breakfast that judging by the feedback of other guests during last weeks and glowing reviews on Tripadvisor is actually judged as rich and various .

We regret for the problems encountered with the room and the corridors. We have discussed the points you have raised with our Housekeeping and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconvenience will not be repeated in the future.

We very much hope that we can yet encourage you to stay with us again so we can put your above concerns to rest.
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is located on the last metro station Laurentina and it is easy to get to the center. ,
The breakfast is very good with excellent choice. Close to the hotel there is a supermarket Carrefour.
Rooms are clean, the staff very friendly, nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at TOP Hotel American Palace EUR, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mr "Amircaus",
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your lovely feedback following your recent stay.
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our services, breakfast, quality of food and Staff.
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the American Palace Eur.
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TOP Hotel American Palace EUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel American Palace EUR

Address: Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP Hotel American Palace EUR 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace", a 4 stars hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your TOP Hotel American Palace EUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rome
Rome Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOP Hotel American Palace EUR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.