We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Duca D'Alba Hotel to your Saves list
Duca D'Alba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #153 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
nyc
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved the neighborhood this hotel was in. The room itself (102) was a miracle of modern engineering. Very small, as others have mentioned, but containing virtually every amenity: flat-screen tv, excellent air-conditioning, toiletries, mini-bar, hair-dryer, etc. Our only concession to the small room-size was that we couldn't keep our luggage out, so every morning we took our luggage out of the closet, picked our outfits, and then stowed the luggage upright in the (well-sized) wardrobe. The breakfast was lovely, including fresh-made cappuccinos and local pastries. Also appreciated the daily newspapers in the lobby and the helpful staff.

Room Tip: The double-paned glass makes the rooms silent at night, even in a lively neighborhood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear itslavern,
As for many past reviews, in our replies we pointed out - and you also do - that our rooms are very comfortable, supplied with any items needed to take care of oneself. The small Palace where we are was not conceived as an Hotel and what you write is true, each single room has been indivually projected and realized, the result is that some are larger than others but each of them comes with its own style, with elegant furniture and comfortable bathrooms; all rooms are nice and very clean, they all offer modern outfitting. Tha same as for rooms in the very next Annexes a few meters far from the main entrance of Duca d'Alba: you can rest and relax inside, enjoy Rome and have fun outisde getting lost in the pulsing alleys of the neighborhood.
Our breakfast, our Staff, our care is what a Family would do for friends.
We would like to welcome you back and would like you and every new traveller choosing Duca d'Alba Hotel to book a room directly to our website, to enjoy the best available rates.
Thank you very much.
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    291
    53
    28
    14
See reviews for
100
363
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our recent holiday to Rome, it seems issues have centred around room sizes, however it is well publicised the rooms are not going to be massive and even with this the rooms were more than ample especially as it is highly likely will only be in the room for sleeping.

The hotel is in a perfect location for all major sights and we only got a taxi to the Vatican as wanted to be their as early as possible. The monti area the hotel is located in is one of the nicest areas we experienced and it is well worth investigating the restaurants and bars around the area but it is still well worth asking at the front desk as will provide invaluable information.

All in all this hotel is perfect for any trip to Rome and we fully enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Henry E,
We thank you so much for helping us to have the matter about our rooms well illustrated once more and thank you for appreciating your stay in yours.
We offer a wide range of different rooms in our main building and in the very close Annexes, there is a solution for everybody: to sleep at night as well as to relax at the end of the day, our rooms are clean, modern, nice, warm and quiet, comortable anyway.
We appreciate also what you report about the area, the beautiful Monti Area (reading some history about the ancient Suburra before to come would boost the approval of a district that is one of the most ancient and one of the largest in Rome today, still so peculiarly split in two: the "core" (where Duca d'Alba is located) at the feet of the magnificent Colosseum and in the shade of the impressive Trajan's Column and the farther Lateran Area, leading south to connect back to the Baths of Caracalla, spectacular and perfectly conserved.
Not only History, the Monti Area also offers characteristic daily life, food, shops.. the "roman feel".
Thank you for recommending Duca d'Alba Hotel in Rome, we would be happy to welcome you back, we would invite you to browse the best rates in our official website.
Warm Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel has the best location in Rome! Situated at the doorsteps of Cavour station, the Colosseum and the Roman Forum is right in the backyard. You can walk on to the street adjacent to the fora and move to Piazza Venezia in 10 minutes. All major attractions are at a walking distance.

What I also loved about the location was the street where the hotel was situated - it was very lively, with Sat and Sunday nights busy with musicians and locals. Some very good restaurants around.

Staff was very courteous and warm - Christian and Tatiana were really nice and so were Elisa and Angelo. There is a small pantry where you can have ice tea in the evening time, which was quite refreshing.

The only negative is that the room size was very small and the wifi did not work at times! But all in all, I'm definitely going back again!

Room Tip: Choose the main building rather than the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Rajat_Dua_00,
Thank you for very good feedback you share about your expericence at Duca d'Alba Hotel, our Staff thank you, each of them is precious to our Guests who can refer to them as to Family and the Hotel is Home. Our rooms are so different from one another, in the main building as well as in the Annexes and some can be not very big but modern and nice ambiance, comfortable bathrooms, clanliness are a must in each room.
We are happy you enjoyed the excellent location to discover Rome and the lively character of the alley where we are, we take this opportunity to remind all readers that rooms facing the street have double glass double window to close the sounds outsite for a total silence.
We are sorry for the issue about the wi-fi, we use to ask our Guests to report us soon any problems in order to supervise and fix, we do not have particular problems actually, it could be a temporary fall and we are sorry.
Please contact us in the event you plan your next trip to Rome and we'll be happy to help you book online, very easy, in our official website.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We initially stayed here before our cruise. The first thing I love about the hotel was it's charm. Before the cruise we were out in one of the rooms in the annex, the room had such character. The next positive was the staff. They were so professional and their willingness to help was superb.

If you are going to Rome and want to be in the heart of things and close to transportation and sights such as the Forum and Coliseum this hotel is perfect. We were a one minute walk from the Cavour subway station and less then 10 minutes to major archeological sites.

And finally the breakfast was such a nice addition to our stay. The food was a nice variety and very fresh. We loved our stay so much we decided to stay for two more nights at the end of our cruise. The second stay we were in the main building and had a great room with a private veranda, very nice.

I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Lewiedr,
we are very happy we made your stay in Rome very comfortable ans satisfactory in both situations, before and at the end of your cruise. You enjoyed two different accomodations and you liked both, we offer modern and elegant (and very clean) rooms and some have beautiful balconies. We thank for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor as you give us the opportunity to illustrate our peculiarities: a place where to relax in in an intimate and very comfortable ambiance, in the main building as well as in the Annexes in local residences a few meters far; a perfect starting point to discover the roman beauties, from those surrounding the Duca d'Alba (the Colosseum, the Forum, the Cathedral of S.Peter in Chains, The Oppian Hill, the beautiful alleys of the ancient Suburra that is the current essence of the Monti Area where the Hotel is located). to the farther sights that you can reach with buses and metro.
Thank you for praising our breakfast, rich, fresh, for any tastes and re-filled all the time, and our Staff, friendly, professional, ready to help and to reply.
We would be happy to welcome you back to Duca d'Alba and please book your room online, our official website, for best rates guaranteed.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is excellently placed in a vibrant and fashionable part of town. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms, although small, are well decorated and very clean. The hotel's location makes it excellent for walking to all of the major city tourist attractions. It is in an area surrounded by bars and restaurants so you never have to go far to find something happening.

I would not contemplate staying anywhere else in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much, Boffnet.
We do hope you would come to us again if ever planning to come back to Rome but we invite you to browse the best rates and offers in our official website and to contact us in the event of any needs, our Info Desk is always ready.
We are really grateful for your excellent description of the features Duca d'Alba Hotel offers in Rome: intimate situation, great locations in the heart of a historical district, in the heart of the great show of the Ancient Times wedging in the actual big City. Elegant and comfortable, very modern rooms await you like home in a quiet, small, noble palace.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is quite unique in its style and feel. It was initially disappointing not to have a window in the room that overlooked anything and it was very dark, with dark fabric wall coverings, however it was very nicely furnished, clean and very comfortable. the staff were all friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast had good choices. The location of the hotel is great and quite close to the termini and good restaurants. The colosseum and old forum are close by and we found that we could walk most places , including the Pantheon. There is a really nice little fountain around the back of the hotel that appeared to be a bit of a meeting place , great for a cold beer at the end of the day with a relaxing atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a window that actually lets any light in or has any view you will probably need to reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Jan S,
Thank you for reconfirming our good breakfast, friendly staff and the perfect location: if you search for proximity to most must-see places and a lively neighbourhood, Duca d'Alba is your ideal choice: alleys, small squares, restaurants, cafés, pubs and the Monuments watching people go by..
It is very clear now that Duca d'Alba Hotel is located in an old small palace adjoining to similar buildings in a very old part of Rome, the architecture distinguishes in lines of facades watching the street and an odd game of inside courts comes alive behind; our rooms could face the streets or the inside courts. Each room, in the main building or in the Annexes, offers its own mood and style and all of them are very modern, clean and elegant, ranging from bright light colours to darker, elegant tonalities enlightened by refined accessories.
We thank you for recommending Duca d'Alba hotel and please do no t hesitate to contact us for your next booking but also please visit our official website where you would find the best rates available only there.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Railbookers arranged our rail travel in Italy, and reserved 3 nights for my family (of four) at this quaint, delightful hotel in early July. As other reviewers have commented, it is located near the Colosseum, and within walking distance to other historical sites. A pleasant discovery was how close the hotel was to San Pietro in Vincoli (St. Peter in Chains) – which I recommend you visit (especially if you are a Michelangelo aficionado). The hotel’s front staff was very friendly and accommodating; helping us navigate our way to eateries, and even directing us to a nearby laundromat that washed/dried our clothes for the same price if we had done them ourselves. My wife and I stayed in one room, and our two (young adult) kids in an adjacent room. These rooms were quiet and cozy, and each had a charming outdoor terrace that somewhat camouflaged the fact that your view was obscured by the side of a building. We loved it! The complimentary breakfast was excellent, and the free wifi worked well for us. A special treat awaited hotel guests in late afternoons: a self-serve pitcher of refreshing peach ice tea on the bar counter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Zaynez,
we are happy you were not disappointed by your bookers' choice, we are a family-friendly hotel, although we may say we are a friendly hotel to any situation, except goups: we chose not to welcome groups because we are a small hotel and prefer to protect the quiet and charming situation you appreciated, so relax in your rooms -nice and modern, clean and supplied with anything you may need- enjoy the small snuggles (our tea is home made and a small lounge bar awaits you back from long walks) and then live Rome, Arts and History, and enjoy the opportunity to share lively the atmosphere in the streets, among nice restaurants, shops, home-made ice cream labs (and whatever you can imagine) with the Romans and
Visitors from every corner of the world.
You quote San Pietro in Vincoli, a gem, thank you but we could spend hours telling about amazing sites located within a range of 1 km from the door, not only the Colosseum but the Forum, the beautiful Madonna dei Monti, a church and a lovely square, the popular fascinating alleys of the Monti Area, the Oppian Hill where the great Nero's Domus Aurea is located.. Come and see..
We thank you for your review and would be happy to welcome you back, please find the best rates in our official website and contact us directly.
Warmest Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#116 Family Hotel in Rome
#122 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duca D'Alba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.