We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location. New room. A bit noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duca D'Alba Hotel to your Saves list
Duca D'Alba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #148 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice location. New room. A bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was really near the colosseum and the metro which serves as a plus for any base to explore the city. The rooms in the annex building are new and comfortable. Toilets are clean and have enough space. Breakfast was good and complete. Staff was very friendly and always wanted to help. They gave good tips on directions and restaurants to visit.

Only downside was that there were some noise from the upper rooms. Don't know what caused it but it was a bit of a bother at first.

Good value all in all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Owner at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for the time you spent to write a review, we are glad to know that you liked our rooms in the Annex building, yes they are new and warmly decorated. The bit of noice that you might have heard from outside is probably because this are is full of life, with all the restaurants, pubs, trattorias and shops. Many people choice us also for this reason.
Thanks again and we are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Warm regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    265
    50
    27
    13
See reviews for
90
323
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location with a lot of Rome's attractions a short walk away; Santa Maria Maggiore, the Colisseum along with the Roman Forum & Paletine to name a few. Cavour metro is only a two minute walk from the front door of the hotel which in turn is only one stop from Termini (the main station). The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and although the room was a little small this did not detract from our stay. The reception staff were very friendly and always available to help you out with any form of query. A good breakfast was plentiful with attentive staff always on hand to replenish any hot or cold items when required. There are also lots of trattorias near hand which were very reasonably priced. All in all we would stay here again if we visited the lovely city of Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Owner at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your nice review, we are happy to know that you appreciated our perfect location, it's true! The most important attractions are located as a short distance and eveything is at hand!
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next trip to Rome, we will assure a discout on our offer!
Kindest regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoforte
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location is perfect...a few steps from the roman forum...the shopping area in via nazionale...railway station...tube station (cavour on the B line) and bus stops...also within walking distance the colosseum, san pietro in vincoli (saint peter in chain, with stunning michelangelo's moses), piazza venezia...the area itself (monti) is very lively and lovely...bars, restaurants
The hotel is nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room (second floor, think 202) was a bit small but very well kept and also the bathroom was well kept with a large shower, although it was a small somewhat on the small side. Maybe other rooms are much larger, i dont know. for the price i paid, around 150 euros, i think it was a very good bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducalba, Owner at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
we really thank you for the time you have spent to write you nice review. The room you had a medium-size, as you know our hotel is located in an ancient historical arean and the building dates back to the XVIII century. All rooms have been completely renewed in the last 2 years and some of them are Classic and some are Superior and are a bit larger.
Thanks again and hope to have you and your friends, among our best guests.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very nice small hotel. Located in walking distance, 400 meters, to Colosseum, Forum Romanum etc.
Hotel service excellent, very good breakfast and very nice clean rooms. Perfect for a weekend stay.
Walking distance to all main attractions in Rome. A walk to the furthest attraction, Vatican, takes around 40 minutes.

Some very good resturants close by. One genuin Italian resturant only 20 meters from Hotel with low prices and very good food.
A nice small romantice square with fountain with some very good resturants 50-60 meters from hotel.
Close by 5 minute walk to Via Panisperna there are more very good resturants, e.g. La Carbonara, and a very nice Trattoria.
This hotel is perfect for a weekend in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful.
Good selection at breakfast.
Amazing location
Nice little terrace outside room.
Room slightly small and got very hot during the night.
Lovely clean bathroom
Room cleaned daily
Nice decoration in the rooms and hotel on a whole.
Great restaurants near by.
If order taxi it is there in a few minutes
On whole great hotel I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a four day get away and it was wonderful. Hotel was great, rooms were small but fantastic with everything you need in them. We couldn't believe how close it was to the coliseum, just out of the hotel and turn left! Breakfast was great too. We really couldn't fault anything (there was building work when we stayed in the lobby but we did stay out of season and it didn't make any difference for us anyways)
Rome is a small city so we walked to nearly all of the attractions but if you wanted to get a train the station was at the end of the road, so it was very easy to find once we landed. Opposite the hotel is a delicious ice cream shop and great restaurants round nearly every corner. Very much recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel, in an olde world street near Via Nazionale, is in a fabulous location for seeing Rome , the rooms are decent and very clean, the breakfast good and the staff helpful. Will definitely stay here again whether with friends or family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#112 Family Hotel in Rome
#127 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#165 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duca D'Alba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.