We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Genova to your Saves list
Hotel Genova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 25, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #638 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Few steps from the Termini railway station (central) in Rome, this hotel is located in one of the most trafficky roads in Rome(still the quality of sleep is gourd) and it is "touristic" under every aspect budgeting a four star outfit with a three star cost level. It could be so, and deserve a full "very good" given the generally not very high status of similar hotels in that area. This zone is close to almost everything (in less than two hours you can circle walk to the Coliseum and Foro Romano - Capitol Hill, up to the Pantheon, Piazza del Popolo, Piazza di Spagna (the spanish steps), Fontana di Trevi, Via del Corso (high-end shopping streets) and back, however not the best frequented area of the town (typical situation close to central stations in large towns). The interiors would need a refresh: common spaces and private rooms/bathrooms are all white walled and time left significant signs on them. Breakfast is average and could definitely be better. A plus the free wi-fi (where most of four starred houses do charge for significant money. Overall it is good touristic or business solution with average quality/price ratio.
Service is ok, kind and prompt.

Room Tip: High floor and a room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    181
    102
    45
    26
See reviews for
104
172
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location but we were there in early April and the humidity and temperature in Rome was only about 68 degrees (20C). However, the room was so hot due to the heat staying on most all of the time. We had to sleep with our window open, subjected to the 24 hour sounds of a very busy street. Claudio at the front desk was the only high spot during our stay. You could not find a more helpful and caring individual. Very close to the train terminal and all of the major attractions. If not for the heating system, we would highly recomnmend this hotel. Also, we left 3 wake-up calls with the front desk and only Claudio logged it in. The other 2 were somehow "lost".

The breakfast buffet was interesting; we've never had sliced hot dogs as a breakfast meat. Hey, when in Rome.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for sharing your review online.
We are sorry that u didn't sleep well but if you were telling us about this problem we would be pleased to change your room during your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Genova in Rome.
Kindest regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for five nights in March. Rooms were bigger than I expected after reading reviews of what to expect for European hotels, that said they are smaller than average American rooms. Rooms were very clean, hardwood floors throughout. We had 2 twin beds which were a bit on the hard side but still sleepable. We did ask for more and softer pillows and they were provided. We were on the 3rd floor and did experience some street and train noise even with windows closed. The bathroom was nice except for the very very very small shower cubicle, and I mean very very very small. You could not extend your arms or bend down at all (think smaller than an American Porta Potty). All of the rooms did not have the small shower so if you can try to ask for the larger ones!
Breakfast was decent, plenty of choices. Very delicious filled pastries, fruit, hard boiled eggs, meats, cheese, cereal, yogurt, toast. Coffee and juice were from a machine and somewhat watered down. It definitely provided enough to get your day started.
The one major complaint was that you had to get a code to sign in to the wi-fi and it was only one code per room and you could only use it on one device, So we had 2 people in our room but only one of us could be on the internet at a time. We did manage to get another code when the desk personnel changed shifts but the problem was if you left your device for even several minutes you had to re-sign on every time, very annoying.
The location is great if you plan on using the subway/train systems which is highly recommended as tourist sights are quite a walking distance from the hotel. The Colosseum is closest but still quite a distance to walk. It is only a 5 min walk to the main Rome station, Rome Termini.
There are several good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. I did not encounter the super friendly service others wrote about, but the hotel staff was courteous enough. They really did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome or offer any tips on the city but they were not rude either. There are maps available at the front desk if you ask.
Having never been to Rome before I am sure there are better places to stay but based on price and location to the Termini, Hotel Genova was not a bad choice and I would stay there again, except I would ask for a room with a bigger shower!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bigger shower and away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for the Ireland v Italy rugby game over 2 nights. Staff were quite efficient, friendly & rooms clean. We were on the 6th floor, Room wasnt small but wasnt huge either. It was more than adequate, European boutique hotel rooms can be snug but this was a little more :) & overall v happy with bathroom, shower etc. R8oms have wifi (get code from reception) always a bonus. Location was also v good. Would stay again. Breakfast was fine, well laid out & fresh produce etc, Didnt get to use the bar but it looked fine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
we are so happy that you had such a nice stay with us and that you have appreciated our hotel and services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rome and to Hotel Genova.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited Rome in Feb2013 on a Holiday and found this Hotel as one of the best Hotels to stay. First of all, the hotel reception did not trouble us at all asking too many things etc. We reached the Hotel around 9PM, so they allowed us to check-in to our room so quickly, as they knew that we were just after a long flight journey.

We got a room on the 2nd Floor, it was excellent, nicely done and we found it very clean. The king size bed was so comfortable and it was just perfect to start our 10 days holiday in Italy. Open the windows if you like the cool breeze throughout the day/night and you can actually enjoy the view just by standing in front of the window.

Breakfast is served on the 1st floor of the hotel and it was one of the best in town. The breakfast had many selections, so one could really enjoy without any doubt. Hotel staff members are really helpful and are always willing to assist.

Location of the hotel is just perfect as it only takes less than 05 minutes’ walk to the Main Railway Station (Roma Termini), Metro Station (Termini), Bus Terminal and Tram Terminal. There are hundreds of Italian, Indian and Pakistan restaurants around the hotel and also inside Roma Termini Station, which are open till late in the midnight. Super markets and 24 Hour pharmacies, ATM’s are all within the vicinity. Most of main attractions such as Colosseo, Republica Piazza etc are just walking distance and all other Rome attractions are just 02 Metro stations away. By being closer to the Main Railway station gives you another advantage if you’re planning short trips to other cities by speed train (Pisa, Milan, Venice, Florence etc) as they all start from Roma Termini. Also, Leonardo Express Train to/From Rome International Airport (Leonardo Da Vinci Airport) takes only 30 minutes to get there.

You can also use their Luggage room free of charge, if you are visiting another place in Italy for about 01 or 02 days. If not you always have the option to store your luggage at the Roma Termini Railway Station for a minimal fee.

Upon checkout the hotel also could arrange a private taxi (incase if you require) for a decent price (less than normal taxi rates). Please note that regular taxi’s even charge “extra” for your baggage (per piece), so if you have much luggage it’s best that you hire a Hotel arranged taxi with a fixed amount, so then those taxi’s will not bother converting your luggage in to $$$ when you get it/out.

Cons:

None of below issues did not really bother me personally, however let me share my honest findings, as you may want to evaluate this property from the “04 Star” perspective before you finalize your decision, as after all this is a 04 star rated Hotel.

The Shower cubical is too small for an average person to take a peaceful shower. In my thinking it’s less than 70CM/70CM in size. So read between lines and think twice if you are well built person, as you may not be able to enter in to this tiny shower cubical in the 1st place. Actually speaking, it would have been much better if the hotel management could replace these PVC shower cubicles with shower curtains, as it would enhance this limited space for a better shower experience.

Size of the room is another fact to evaluate, as I found they are slightly smaller for a standard “04 star” property. (Later during our holiday we stayed in a 03 star Hotel and found those rooms are much bigger in size).

Common findings in Hotels in Italy.

Due to safety concerns, none of the Hotels in Italy provide Iron facilities in their guest rooms. Most of Standard Hotels have separate Iron rooms for this purpose (no extra fee). If this is inconvenient for you, then you need to ask for in-house Laundry services to do this for you (for a fee, of course)

No Tea/Coffee making (kettle) facility in guess rooms, again due to safety reasons.

Italians are very much confident drinking water directly from the main water supply (where you find the Tap water in your Hotel washroom). As a result, you will not find free of charge mineral water bottles in any hotels in Italy. I even heard they recommended to another guest to use tap water (Hot & Cold) to prepare baby milk for their baby. I know families who visit Italy 1st time with their infants will find it hard to get adjusted to this, but as they have no kettles available in Guest rooms, you have no other option even to warm mineral water, even if you buy them from super markets nearby, so face the reality.

Other Useful Tips & URL’s.

All hotels in Italy provide printed local Maps free of charge. Get one and you’re all set to explore the city by your own. Rome is easy to navigate just with a local map & Metro map, so don’t really overspend your money for tour companies/tour guides etc. (unless you really in to a mission learning the history of each attraction)

The main Railway station in Rome is “Roma Termini” (Stazione Termini), walking distance from all the sights. Other railway stations such as “Roma Ostiense” and “Roma Tiburtina” are on the outskirts of the Rome city, incase if you arrive in any of these 02 railway stations, you'll need a taxi (around €10) or local train to get to the main Railway station “Roma Termini” (Stazione Termini).

The Vatican has its own suburban station called “Roma San Pietro”, but it’s easy to reach St Peter’s from “Roma Termini” (Stazione Termini) by bus or taxi.

Details about Roma Termini Station
http://www.raileurope.com/europe-travel-guide/italy/rome/train-station/termini-train-station.html

Details about High-speed Trains to/from other cities in Italy;
1. Tren Italia (State Owned) - http://www.trenitalia.com/ or http://www.fsitaliane.it
2. Italia (Private Owned) - http://www.italotreno.it

Room Tip: High Floor facing the Main Road would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel within walking distance of everything. Comfortable beds, great breakfast buffet, and helpful, friendly staff. Marble bathrooms and satellite tv. No restaurant, but the concierge is very knowledgeable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have read the comments, both good and indifferent from previous travellers, and would like to give what I feel is a fair review based on the room we were given. Firstly, I chose the location so we didn't have to drag our bags too far from the main Termini station (a couple of hundred yards). I also felt it was a good base to walk to the main attractions, which it is. The Hotel itself felt clean, our room although smallish, was sufficient and the bathroom was a good size. The beds were made daily and the towels were replaced each day. The breakfast was on the first floor and was as good as you would expect in Europe for a hotel of this class. Plenty to keep you going until lunch. I feel three stars is what the hotel is! The rooms could be bigger, and our room was quiet until someone moved in next door. It's was only then I decided on the star rating. For a higher star rating I would expect to have better sound proofing, and not be able to hear the people next door running a bath! I could even hear them 'swishing' the water about with their hands. Would I stay here again? Possibly, but I'll check other reviews on hotels nearby. The location is spot on! My star rating is based on others I have stayed at. Three stars isn't that bad after all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Address: Via Cavour 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#244 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Genova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.