We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torino 127, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #512 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“central city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is in a central location and offers good value for money. The hotel was clean and has most amenities. The staff were very helpful and cordial. We had an infant with us and they always assisted us in every manner. Would stay again when in Rome.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    360
    187
    62
    58
See reviews for
149
338
81
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had great 3 nights here in march. The hotel is located in central position. Great shopping street next to the hotel. Our room was very big and clean. The breakfast was delicious, good pastries! The service was very nice.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Clean and safe hotel at the heart of rome. İt is just 800 metres away from main train station. 200 metres away from the metro station. No doubt to stay. The staff is too kind and helpful. Breakfast is ok.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This was our 7th stay at the Hotel Mondial in 12 years (we visit Rome every two years for the rugby). This time we took our teenage children for the first time.
We have always liked the Mondial and feel that small improvements are being made every time we visit.
I booked direct with the Mondial by email and the service was efficient and friendly.
The staff were friendly as always. I see some reviews mention rudeness but perhaps people are misinterpreting the abruptness of some staff whose English is not so good.
We were given two connecting rooms. They were both a good size and spotlessly clean. The hotel is quite old fashioned in design but the rooms have been refurbished since we first stayed in 2003 and both the bedrooms and bathrooms feel much fresher and less dated than they did.
We did note that the English TV channels did not seem to be working but this was more that compensated for by the fact there was a free wifi service that worked really well in the bedrooms. This is something introduced since our last stay in 2013.
Breakfast was unchanged - which is no bad thing. A good selection of continental buffet options.
The location also suited us well. It's convenient for Republica and Termini metros and we also walked back from the Trevi Fountain on one day and Spanish Steps on another.

The Mondial is not perfect but we like it and it suits our needs. We will be back in Rome in 2017 and will be staying again at the Mondial.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

i think the title says it all.
But then too, let me point out some details. Located in the heart of the city, a 15 minute walk to the colosseum, less then a minute from the famous street, 'via nazionale' where one can find a lot of stores to shop, cafes to eat, and gelaterias. Speaking about the hotel, this has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed till date, the staff was rude specially the bell boy. In fact, we were not even offered to be helped with taking our luggage to the room, and we had 3 suitcases and 2 hand bags. The rooms were pretty ordinary, with the televisions not playing a single English Channel. The only good part was the bathroom, which was huge and clean. The housekeeping staff never changed the towels and the bed sheet in the span of our stay of 3 nights. Breakfast was ordinary with almost no option for vegetarians, though the staff at the breakfast room were friendly, and helpful and also accommodating.

Overall, if you are not fussy about these problems, you could stay here for its location being close to the termini train station, cafes, shopping etc. But the staff needs to be more friendly, and accommodating in nature.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

There are some points what make this hotel stand out. Location is good. Metro Republic and Termini at walking distance. Plenty nice places to dine around, shops, opera. Reception staff speak English, french and sure other as well. We got a map from them with details how to get to roman attractions. We had a room on second floor. Nice decorated, wifi. Bathroom is done in modern style. Breakfast had a decent choice with omelet, cheese, ham. I liked this hotel and definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The location was great, close to 2 Metro stations and within walking distance (if you have the stamina) to most of the popular attractions. Lots of restaurants and very safe area. The only draw back is that the mattress sucked!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial

Address: Via Torino 127, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in traditional 5-story building situated in historic & commercial area of Rome, opposite Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondial
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.