We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard in a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torino 127, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #471 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Zory, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good standard in a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Walking distance from the Main Station in Rome. Easy to find.
The entrance and interior is nice and warm. We've got a great service from the begining of our stay there.
We arrived in the hotel in the morning so our room wasn't ready yet, but we were able to leave our suitcases in a storage (good service by the way).

Room was small, but nice and warm. Our bathroom was nice and clean as well.

We stayed in this hotel in December, Christmas time. We decided to visit around. The hotel has a very good location for Vatican (it takes around 10-15 min by bus to get there) and many famous places in Rome.
The hotel is located on a street with a few nice restaurants, worth visiting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    348
    173
    57
    51
See reviews for
114
288
70
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for 7 Nights and apart from the fact that Italian bread rolls are hard and the fruit juice would benefit from a note of what kind of juice the jug contains, I have no complaints the room was cleaned daily and spotless the bed was changed often and the staff were helpful and unobtrusive. And the hotel was clean and tidy Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel decoration is very vintage, really nice, but breakfast needs to be improved. The location is awesome especially when on vacation: less than 3 minutes walk to the theater, less than 10 minutes walk to the train station and shopping centre. What more can one ask for? Restaurants are just a stone away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked this room thru booking.com. I cancelled it two weeks before the scheduled arrival date. They charged me over $200 for a no-show . As soon as I found out, I called and even went to the hotel in Rome. They were dismissive ,disrespectful and unbending. The self proclaimed manager seemed to relish her gotcha attitude.
I was in Rome and even offered to stay on a different day at the hotel since they charged me full amount for a room that I had not used for a reservation I had cancelled. I was attempting some reasonable resolution. They refused any resolution. The room even rents for a lot less now on booking.com. than what I was charged.
Booking.com was not helpful in getting a refund nor was the US office of Best Western.
Beware of giving your credit card information to this Hotel in Rome, Italy or to booking.com or Best Western. Beware of cancellation traps and a "customer be damned" attitude..

Room Tip: Avoid booking this hotel.Don't give them your credit card information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMondialRome, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir, these are the facts :
1.Reservation was originally made and confirmed by Booking.com and we were holding the room booked for you: 1 standard double room.
2.We never receive you official cancellation, nor a mere message or an email or a telephone call by you, or booking.com staff regarding the cancellation request. Booking.com staff confirmed to us and to you they NEVER receive the cancellation request.

THERE WAS NO TRACE ANYWHERE OF YOUR CANCELLATION. Nobody has a copy of it, not even you.

3.You made no show and we charged the penalty of the first night and the charge of the penalty is in accordance with booking.com conditions.

Furthermore
I would like other readers know that you not only insulted and intimidated our receptionists, but even the general manager ( a lady ) , actually came to explain the facts. You had an inappropriate behaviour in a lobby of a four star hotel, suggesting to the other guests who were checking in NOT TO STAY WITH US.
You were rude, and all the staff and other guests were shocked.
Finally please be aware that no apologies or refund is due to a guest who did not honour, not only booking conditions but not even the most simple rules of politeness and human relationship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were disappointed by the hotel staff, and by the room. For the price and the rating, I expected a decent hotel. Not so...we had falling drapes (which we had not touched), burn-out light bulbs (two days to fix), okay but not amazing breakfasts, difficulty speaking to all of the desk personnel.
We had an early flight to catch and arrange for a breakfast to go, with 48 hours notice. The morning of the flight, we waited ten minutes extra for the breakfast - we left without, and were chased down the street.

Nice location but not really worth the money. I asked our travel agent for a refund.

Room Tip: The room was quiet, and always dark because of the street shutters, which we could not move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a 3 nights stay on July and don't have any major concerns, accomodations are normal, more 3 star like than 4, but clean and calm.
Location was very good, between underground station of republica and termini train station.
Breakfast buffet was a bit weak, missing some typical points like good bread.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a lovely stay during the month of May and we couldn't have asked for better service. The staff was very accommodationg, breakfast buffet was lovely and if any questions or help was needed, the front desk (especially Sima) took care of it. Rooms were cleaned daily and housekeeping was very punctual. I would recommend this hotel (and have) to anyone wanting a good location for seeing the beautiful city of Rome!

Room Tip: A room not facing the main street would be quieter. We had no noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial

Address: Via Torino 127, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel in traditional 5-story building situated in historic & commercial area of Rome, opposite Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mondial
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Mondial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.