We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2014 in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giolli Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Giolli Hotel Nazionale to your Saves list
Giolli Hotel Nazionale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Pembroke Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas 2014 in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is my second stay at this hotel proving that it never disappoints. Very good value for money for a three-star rated hotel. Though rooms are small, one cannot find this as a fault considering its excellent location in the Eternal City. Breakfast is very good and varied. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    177
    90
    31
    19
See reviews for
98
207
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is ideally placed for those who wish to visit all the notable sites in Rome. The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were clean albeit a little dated. Breakfast was more than adequate but could be a little squeeze when busy. We walked to all the attractions including the furthest away which was the Vatican, and that only took a 45 minute stroll. Public transport was all very close by, and there are many restaurants and nice bars nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very comfortable, clean, well located and has a good breakfast.
You can visit the most of the tourist attractions by walking, just need subway to Vaticano, but this is not a problem, since Repubblica station is near the hotel (just some blocks).

The staff is AMAZING and very helpful. Special thanks to Carlos, Francesca, Domenico and Stefano.

I would certainly stay in this hotel again on my next time in Rome.

Best regards!

Room Tip: If you want to see via Nazionale from your room, ask for a Prestige room. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As was already mentioned many times, the location of this hotel is great: few hundred meters from Piazza de la Republica on one end, and Piazza Venezia on the other; the coliseum, the roman forum, Piazza Barberini, Quirinale hill, Fontana di Trevi, all in a short walking distance from the hotel. We, too, used the bus only to reach the Vatican, although it is also not very far away (about 45 minutes by foot).
We stayed in one of the Prestige rooms (no. 402, 4th floor) . The room is big (much bigger than the standard room, which we stayed in two years ago). It has a large bedroom, equipped with a closet, a desk with drawers, and an LCD flat screen TV. The decor is not amazing, but the room is agreeable. It has a window facing Via Nazionale, which is nice (the beautiful Palazzo delle Esposizioni is opposie the hotel), but it is a busy street. The noise wasn't too bad, we had no troubles sleeping, but sometimes you fill the room shaking a bit, when a tram or maybe a metro is passing underneath the hotel. It's a strange filling when it happens, but we got used to it, and it didn't bother us at night at all.
The bathroom is really large, with a bathtub, and even a towel warmer. The downside was the unsteady water stream, which sometimes changed from warm to cold independently.
The Wi-Fi in our room worked well (and also in the dining room).
The room was very clean all through our 6 night stay,
Breakfast is similar every day, not many things to choose from, but it was enough for us. You can ask the waiter to make you an espresso or a cappuccino. Also the pastries are really tasty.
To sum it up, it is a very good value for money hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very well located, walking distance from Piazza Victorio Emmanuel and Coliseum.
The new rooms are very good and well decorated. Best choice to stay in Rome for good price!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new alley or not facing Via Nazionale for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This is a really well placed hotel in an excellent location, we walked to every attraction apart from the Vatican from the hotel but the train station and bus stop for the Vatican were both very close by.The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the room was clean albeit compact but more than adequate for our stay. The continental style breakfast was lovely and very filling with plenty of choice. The only thing we felt let the Hotel down was that it advertised free Wi Fi and rooms with a TV but the Wi Fi was all but non existent and the TV was analogue with less than a dozen channels all of which were very poor quality and only one English speaking which was CNN and also extremely poor quality. We didn't stay in the hotel in the evenings much so it didn't effect us a lot but it would have been nice to have been able to use either the TV or Wi Fi when we were there over the 5 day stay. All in all would recommend the Hotel and would return if we went to Rome again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

A GREAT Hotel, The service, staff, room, were all great. I would recommend this to future travellers, Breakfast was fantastic, but the best of all was the staff, who were friendly and were willing to help, and could not do enough to make you stay great. I WILL RETURN

W.Laver

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giolli Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giolli Hotel Nazionale

Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#290 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#290 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giolli Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Giolli Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giolli Hotel Nazionale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.