We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. Friendly staff. Great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giolli Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Giolli Hotel Nazionale to your Saves list
Giolli Hotel Nazionale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Solon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean. Friendly staff. Great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Giolli was in a great location. We walked there from the Train Station and just about everywhere else. Rooms were nice, not plush. Breakfast was good, but no hot items, but drinks. I feel it was a very good value for the middle of Rome. The staff was very helpful. I lost a room key and they replaced it with no questions or charges.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    176
    90
    31
    19
See reviews for
98
203
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montisi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Conveniently located between the Termini station and Trastevere, this medium-class hotel offers good value for money and most importantly, very accomodating staff - I left the charger for the computer in my room on checking out, and was relieved to find they sent it on to my home address that very same day.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter; Via Nazionale can be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Giolli for 3 nights in mid September. Easy reach from the Termini train station, central location (15-20 mins walking to the center), from Trastevere - 30 minutes slow walk (good for digestion after a nice pizza :)
Staff polite, rooms clean. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the Hotel Giolli for five nights in early September. Situated on the Via Nazionale it is within easy walking distance of many of the must-see sights of Rome.
The hotel is spotless and every member of staff are friendly and helpful. On our first night Stefano recommended a lovely restaurant just two streets away. Don't be afraid to ask for advice. Carlos is also very informative when looking for advice regarding eating out and travelling around the city. Beds are comfortable, a/c welcome on hot days and the bathroom is large with lots of hot water.Breakfast is very continental but adequate. I would have liked fresh orange juice.
The coloseum is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk down Via Serpentini, I would advise going in the early morning when queues are shorter and it is cooler.
The Trevi fountain is only a fifteen minute walk away. We used the Metro ( at the top of Via Nazionale) to get to both the Spanish Steps and the Vatican City. Very easy and cheap at 1.50 euros each.
We did a day trip to Florence (wonderful!) by train from Tribertina station. Tiring but well worth it.Book in advance with ItaloTren. It takes around 80minutes (at speeds of 250km/hr) to get to Florence. The station is only five minnutes walk from the centre. Cost of the return trip was around 80 euros.

Room Tip: Via Nazionale is very busy so ask for a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 2 days before our holiday in Siena and 2 days after. The Hotel Giolli is a well placed hotel within easy reach of most of the popular sites and the main railway station.
The staff in reception are very pleasant and helpful. Our rooms were very clean and provided everything we needed. However the air conditioning was very noisy but was necessary as the room was very hot.
Breakfast was good and there was a good selection of cold food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Giolli hotel at the beginning of September and right from the beginning of my stay received great service from all members of staff in this brilliantly located hotel.

Was able to check-in a couple of hours early and was then given a map by the man on reception (Carlos I believe) who kindly explained how and where to find all of the historical treasures that the city has to offer. Republica metro station is at the top of Via Nazionale (around 10 minutes walk) whilst the Colosseum and Trevi fountain are both a 15 minute from the Giolli's front doors.

I stayed in a standard single room, which was perfectly adequate for my requirements and provided a perfect base for my two nights in Rome. A comfortable bed, very efficient A/C and a fridge! Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean.

The breakfast filled me up for a morning of sightseeing and included a selection of pastries, breads, cereals, yoghurts etc

Overall the Giolli hotel represents good value for money due to its location, excellent staff and cleanliness. Would recommend to a friend and if I returned to Rome on a similar budget, wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice price for excellent accomodattions! Great service and very nice breakfast! The room and bathroom were very confortable, the personal was very kind too!! I would came back here for my next trip without hesitate!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giolli Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giolli Hotel Nazionale

Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#289 Family Hotel in Rome
#292 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giolli Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Giolli Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giolli Hotel Nazionale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.