We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at Hotel Valadier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valadier to your Saves list
Hotel Valadier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience at Hotel Valadier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at the Valadier early April. The Hotel is clean, well maintained and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast at the rooftop lounge was excellent! With very nice ambiance and food. Also great to have a few drinks in the early evening or a smoke. The hotel will give you discount for dinner and drinks.

The hotel is within a minute of Piazza Poppolo and very near the Spanish Steps...literally walked everywhere from the Hotel.

Room was very nice, comfortable, TV and a nice size bathroom. Bed was good and our room had a fairly sized closet to put away our things.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and stay there again. Cant wait to go back to Rome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We really appreciate your positive comment and we are glad you found the hotel’ location and facilities practical and efficient and that our staff was friendly and professional; the amenities like TV, for example, have been recently replaced with new ones in almost all of the room.

We can’t wait to welcoming you again here in Rome at Hotel Valadier.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    225
    97
    47
    39
See reviews for
124
238
25
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is situated near all major attractions of Rome with short walking distance(for Europeans). For shoppers, the Via del Corso and streets near by is the right place to be. If you want to use the public transportation, the metro station behind piazza del Popolo is near by. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull. The size of the rooms is typical for any old town hotel in Europe = small, but hey, it's only a place to sleep. The breakfast is great and served at beautiful roof top terrace. We got quiet room, by just asking for it. The problem is people slamming doors. They really close with a bang :) Anyways, me and my wife enjoyed our stay at great Hotel Valadier. Not really a four star hotel, but close to it. :)

Room Tip: Just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment.

As you said our hotel is centrally located; there is every kind of public transportation around and the access is very easy for all of them; however, if there is any doubt, our qualified staff would be more than happy to help you indicating the best direction. The streets that surround the hotel are full of famous shops that contribute to create this magic atmosphere that only Rome has.

Hoping to see you again here in Rome very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relation
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is in a very busy, touristy section of Rome. If you want to be in the action, then it is a great place to stay. Be warned, though, the rooms are small (by American standards), and it is noisy at night. Bring ear plugs! Also, not all the doors close properly to the rooms, so you might have to really slam the door, which is awkward at 7am on a Sunday. One day the maid service left the door ajar, and anyone could have come in and robbed us. Ugh. Also, we didn't get the room we were promised - we were guaranteed two single beds and got a queen instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We apologize for the inconvenient and for the issues you faced during your stay with us; unfortunately we can’t really avoid the noises coming from the street since the hotel is located in the very city centre and well connected with public transportations. However, thanks to your report we’ll be able to sort out the problems you met improving our service and facilities.

We hope next time your stay with us will be more enjoyable and we are looking forward to see you again very soon here in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Deciding to bite the bullet and cancel my first reservation for a nice property but considerably further out, I chose the Hotel Valadier from past reviews. Thank you Trip Advisor and posters.

Excellent Location. Excellent Breakfast on beautiful rooftop terrace. Pleasant staff, European style rooms, very clean, good hot water & pressure. Rooftop cocktails a bit expensive and evening menu was also expensive.

Close to many sites to walk. Metro stop right there but NOT for suitcases; use a cab from station. Great pizza/caffetteria around the corner for good food and beverages.

Would strongly recommend and will return on next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We did not choose an expensive room and ours was near the lift which could be heard but we toured so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment.

We are glad that your stay was good and that you enjoyed every facility of our hotel. The staff has been more than happy to assist you during your stay here at Hotel Valadier.

Hoping to see you soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relation
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've been to Rome 6 times and the last four have been at the Valadier. You honestly cannot beat the location being within walking distance of virtually all the sites including Piazza Di Spagna, Villa Borghese, Il Foro Romano, Fontana Di Trevi, et al. You are essentially on Piazza del Popolo which, in my opinion, contains one of the best restaurants in all of Rome (Dal Bolognese). The hotel itself is very boutique and warm in nature with a cozy lobby and reception area. The rooms are well appointed and very European. This is in sharp contrast to the rooftop restaurant/lounge which is chic and ultra modern, a great place to finish off your evening. Breakfast buffet is excellent and the cappucini are supreme. Take an evening passagiatta down Via del Corso and enjoy a gelato at the endless shops that offer it. Truly a great hotel if you are into boutiques. Infinite recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high level with a terrace. Shouldn't cost any extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

Is very pleasant hearing from you that your stay was great every time and we are proud to be partner of every trip to Rome of yours for the last four times. Making your stay unforgettable is our main goal, things that our staff works out everyday with passion.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

hotel has a good location but reception staff were not particularly helpful, WIFI did not work, the hot water was tepid at best, it was noisy in the morning, banging doors, early cleaning and talking made a lie in impossible and you need to really ask if you want two beds as they are all doubles. Positive things - bar staff on top floor very helpful, nice bar/lounge area on top

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We apologize you couldn’t feel totally at home with us at all the time but thanks to your report we’ll be able to sort out the issues you faced during your stay with us. The tepid water and the noises were due to the renovations in some of the room during that period.
We are glad you found the rooftop restaurant a nice place and that the staff was professional.

Hoping to see you again in Rome

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relation
Hotel Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

the hotel is ideally located walking distance from many tourist spots, restaurants and shops. Bus stops and the metro station are very close as well.
Rooms are of good size and clean. the staff is very helpful and friendly. However, the beds and pillows in my opinion weren't very comfortable and the bathroom in the room we stayed in had a funny smell to it. Despite that, we enjoyed Rome and the hotel was very good. we would definitely return to Valadier next time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness and mainly about the kindness of our staff during your stay.
Hopefully you will chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Rome
#134 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#159 Family Hotel in Rome
#278 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valadier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.