We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Accademia Hotel to your Saves list
Accademia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca 74, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #404 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
wrexham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Its location was excellent within walking distance of most of the main attractions. Our room was quite big enough for myself and two friends. The staff were helpful and polite,they phoned the agent to book an excursion for us with no charge for the call.The port took our bags to the room for us.

Room Tip: Use the skip line option on tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    279
    128
    27
    19
See reviews for
126
244
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is less than 70 meters from the Fontana de Trevi, which is not necessarily good news. Well it is because the fontana is absolutely gorgeous, and it attracts several millions visitors every year. So you won't be alone. However, you can go and look at it when the tourists have gone back to their (further located) hotels. At midnight I saw a man proposing. It was a moving scene as there were few people and when he stood up, his future wife embraced him, only to be caught up by a local trinkets salesman who congratulated them and hurried on to offer them to take their picture for a few bucks. Anyway the area is beautiful and so is the rest of "downtown" rome.
Back to the hotel, it is enough to say that the rooms are designed to offer about 30 centimeters around the bed, the bathroom offers enough space for you to turn around and the shower will literally not let you down. If you hoped for some privacy in the bathroom forget about that too, the separation is merely visual in the form of a sliding door. The room door has the same drawback, there is a centimeter of open space at the bottom of the door, so do not worry, you will hear when it is breakfast time, actually you will hear many other things, and... activities.
The bed was hard too, and I remember dreaming in my sleep that the bed was too hard and that I should sleep on the floor and that would be more comfortable.
I went there through my travel agent, and I have no idea regarding prices in Rome, but I found the place pricey for Italy. When I was there, even though Internet was not free, it did not work in the room, I told the desk on Thursday early afternoon when checkin in, then again on Friday morning and afternoon, again on Saturday a.m. always to a different person, then I kind of gave up and just did like everyone else, surf in the lobby.
All in all, great location, with a great wine restaurant just a few meters away, but that's about it. Mind you, Rome is not a place where you want to hang out in your room.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room as big a possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Stephane B,
first of all thank you for sharing your experience: we take our Guest's comments very seriously and we are sorry to read that our hotel hasn't fullfilled your expectations.
We understand that you have been assigned to one of our smallest rooms: as you could see, the Hotel Accademia is hosted in a historical building and room sizes vary a lot.
Our location, indeed, is really sought after and, in high season it is difficult to grant a room change as we are fully booked most of the time.
The wifi issue you raised has been communicated to our technical staff who's checking it out to fix it.
Thank you again for staying with us and best regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ideal location 2 min from the Trevi Fountain ,staff couldn't have been better ,breakfast excellent .front of house staff exceptionally helpful and very cheerful,all staff were very friendly which led to us having a brilliant holiday ,will definitely recommend it

Room Tip: Room facing over the square was very large and not too noisy with Windows closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Janet F,
we thank you very much for your enthusiastic feeback: we will share it with our Staff!
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Accademia, we send you our warmest regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our third time at the hotel. We love the location and there are some nice local restaurants if you can manage to get the staff to tell you where they would go as opposed to where they usually send the guests.
Room was nice enough and breakfast adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Riddoch88,
thank you for you kind feedback about your stay at the Hotel Accademia! We are glad to see that your experience was positive and that our Staff helped in finding the right places to dine out...
We look forward to welcoming you again and we send you our best regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great location however rooms need attention.
Rooms are very basic and need a good paint etc however the bathroom was terrible. The shower curtains do not go around the shower and sit about 6 inches from the floor therefore the bathroom floor completely floods and the toilet didn't flush properly.
Staff not very friendly or overly helpful if you asked them anything.
Breakfast was standard but I guess the plus side is the location...about a 30 second walk to the Trevi Fountain and other attractions were all walkable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear pkbspencer,
we would like to thank you for your feedback: we take into serious consideration all of our Guests comments and we regret to read that your experience hasn't met your expectations.
Should you consider to stay again at the Hotel Accademia we suggest you to upgrade to our Superior Wing, with totally renovated rooms and special features available on our website!
With our best regards,
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

great hotel, service, breakfast and of course location!
Just steps from the Trevi fountain, shopping and of course the Spanish steps.
Very accomodating staff. Perfect lodging for a family traveling all there is to see in Rome!
I would return in an instant!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Dmc22,
thanks for your enthusiastic feedback!
We look forward to have you again at the Hotel Accademia and send you our best regards,
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location. So close to Trevi fountain, restaurants and shops. There is even a handy little supermarket less than five minutes walk away. Staff were friendly, professional and most helpful. Breakfast buffet had plenty of choice. Room was clean and comfortable but a little tired whereas bathroom was modern which made up for it. Would definitely recommend for first timers in Rome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sue T,
we would like to thank you for your positive feedback! The Hotel Accademia is definetely the top choice for those who are visiting Rome and are willing to live the throbbing heart of our city.
We look forward to have you again as our Guests and send you our best regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Address: Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca 74, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#311 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Accademia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Rome
Hotel Accademia Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accademia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.