We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Say Enough About This Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Save Saved
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #252 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Can't Say Enough About This Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

What can I say? This property is great. At the top of the Spanish Steps there is always something going on and the location is fabulous. Being an Ambassador member I made arrangements to have a car pick me up at the airport - only about 15 Euros more than a cab and worth evey penny being only in Rome for 3 days. Upon check in were upgraded to a courtyard view room with a balcony and large bed - the room had plenty of space, a bit of a rarity in Rome. We also received free breakfast and folks, this is the best breakfast buffet anywhere, spectacular food. The fresh mozzarella and ricotta cheeses were the best I have ever tasted. The AC worked spectacularly as it was very hot.
The concierge - Christian - could not have been nicer and informative.
By the way - leaving the hotel make a left and walk a bit to find the gelateria "Blue Ice" - fabulous. You are close to most tourist attractions here - nothing was more than a 15 minute cab ride and the Metro is also close by.
This was my fourth Intercontinental stay in a capital city this year - this was the best property.
My only complaint is that MOST of the front desk were a bit stand-offish and not personable and they want to charge you to print boarding passes. Just ask the concierge - one of them even gave the perverbial Italian salute to the front desk when I told him they wanted to charge me.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    307
    172
    93
    56
See reviews for
207
552
59
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Very good location, walking distance from many of the major Rome atractions. Clean good rooms. View from the terrace at 6th floor were terrific, but so were the prices. The most expensive place I have ever had a drink. One grappa and one GT totalled 40 Euros (!).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We picked this hotel as part of a package Flight+Hotel. The main two reasons why we chose this hotel among many others in Rome were its rating and location. The hotel stands up to its rating: great location, comfortable room and welcoming staff. We had no problems with the hotel ammenities or room comfort during our stay--both met or surpassed our expectations. The only drawback that we experienced--a major one for this type of hotel, especially in a foreign country--was the Concierge staff which, on multiple occasions, were very courteous but not nearly as helpful as one might expect from a 5-star rating. The only other warning we would give to anyone thinking of staying at this hotel is a warning about the hotel bar and room service--both are very expensive, even by Rome standards. With simple cocktails like a gin and tonics costing 19 euros each (about $24) and hamburgers at around 15 euros (not including an up-charge of 10 euros for room service ordering), you may want to skip the terrace bar and in-room dining... Talking about dining, don't miss one of the restaurants where locals go: Matricianella (Via del Leone, 3, 00186 Roma‎ - [--]). About 10min walking from the hotel, think of booking a table before going!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

The experience at this hotel was not a good one. We traveled for over 10 hrs and our rooms were not ready when we arrived. We had to wait another 2 hours to get a room. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Bathrooms had bad odor. Tub was clogged and sink leaked water. Very old fashion, so it depends what you are into (modern or old fashion). The service was ok at times but the staff did not try to accomodate any of our needs. Too expensive for what they charged. Definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

As you venture to Rome, Italy, a chic city with fabulous history, architecture, fashion and people, I must recommend the Intercontinental De La Ville Roma.

I return every year to Italy and finish my trip at this hotel. Why? The location, the price, the exquisite room and most importantly an amazing team of professionals who demonstrate kindness, knowledge of the area and charisma.

After spending many nights in European hotels, this location offers a more luxurious room for the price and outstanding customer service. The price of the room is fabulous compared to the competition in the area. Other hotels can be double or triple the price.

When you arrive, you see the magnificent view atop the Spanish steps ( the elite area of Rome). You will be greeted by a fabulous team (Ernesto, Nicola, Christian) who will recommend their favorite restaurants or plan your day. The duty manager, Giacoma Pica (my favorite), takes amazing pride in ensuring all of his guests are happy. He will work his magic ensuring you enjoy your stay.

When you arrive in your room, you will be presented with classy Italian decor. Research the 11 different room types to meet your specific needs.

Make sure you have breakfast on the terrace with the fountains and statues and I always finish my evening with a glass of wine listening to music on the rooftop overlooking the city of Rome.

Need I say more, my favorite hotel in Europe. It always makes me sad to leave but I know I will always return to this hotel next year.

Thank you Giacoma for making my stay a dream come true once again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

After spending 3 weeks in a Villa in Le Marche it was nice to get to a hotel with air conditioning, and a king sized bed. The concierge was very helpful upon our arrival and suggested that we drop our Hertz car rental at a nearby location rather than trek to the airport. Very good advice, he easily saved us 4 hours on our first evening in Rome. I had later heard that the traffic toward the airport was a mess, and we'd have been right in the middle of it. The room was a bit small, but in Rome, hey, it was fine. The bathroom was nice. The breakfast buffet was very good, and I do also recommend that you get it included in your rate. The rooftop terrace was a nice place for drinks before dinner - good view, spoiled a little bit by a large crane.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome. When we arrived, we checked in early, which they were very accommodating. I had even contacted the concierge from the states via skype and they were very helpful booking tours and train tickets. i would highly recommend the breakfast to be included with your stay, although may be expensive, as is everything in Rome, it is very good and convenient.

The location is perfect for any visitor planning to do some walking to see the sites. My wife and i drank a bottle of wine on the spanish steps which is very close to the hotel.

On another note, eat at Alfredo's and Vitti's. They are both very good!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Rome
#103 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Family Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.