We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This cannot be classified as a 5 stars hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Save Saved
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #252 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Pesaro
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“This cannot be classified as a 5 stars hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have been here with my girlfriend for a special weekend, so I supposed to choose a fantastic hotel but I was wrong...
Nothing to say about the service, the receptionist (Anna Laura) was fantastic and really friendly, they gave us a gift for our special event and we appreciated it a lot!

Unfortunately the room was unacceptable for a 5 stars hotel with this room rate.
The room was small, very small (and it was a "Deluxe", at least they told it us). Standard amenities as per a 4 stars hotel. In the minibar there is an automatic invoice system so you cannot take something and put it back (without open it) if you change your idea (I have never seen something similar nowhere).
Walls, ceiling and door of the bathroom were like in a construction site/damaged.
The elevators smelled very very bad.
Is this a 5* hotel?
Position of the hotel is really fantastic but not enough to pay that rate.
I have been in many Holiday Inn better than this Intercontinental, the hotel position cannot give 5* to this hotel.
I will not come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear DiegoPesaro,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your recent visit at the Intercontinental De La Ville Roma.

Our mission is to make you leave a unique experience in a pleasant atmosphere. We are sorry that we have not been successful, above all on this special occasion and we deeply regret that you did not contact us during your stay in order for us to take an immediate recovery action if possible.

Based on your comments, we would like to inform you that the InterContinental De La Ville Roma is a 5 star traditional property successfully passing the very regular quality and service controls conducted by our mother company IHG and Italian ministry of Tourism.
This is an historical building in neoclassical style, we are deeply sorry if it was not to yours liking.
As most of European hotel, some times we have been forced to compromise with the rigidity of the entire structure but rest assured that a regular maintenance and the necessary actions are constantly taken in order to always meet our guest’s expectation.

Please rest ensured that you review has been shared with the management of the Hotel and taken into very high consideration.

However, we are very proud to learn so good comments regarding the service received and we hope you will give us another chance to revise and restore your faith in our property.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator

InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    307
    172
    93
    56
See reviews for
207
552
59
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

lovely hotel, beautiful bathroo but room was a bit small although beautifully decorated. Breakfast was very good but it should be for 42 euros! The staff were very professional and made us feel welcome although we were a little out of our comfort zone!

Room Tip: inside rooms are quieter but it would be nice to have a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear sazzerGuernsey,

Thank you for your kind post here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental De La Ville Roma in a future.

Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent location at top Spanish steps. Expensive food much better to go to local restaurant. Room very good quality and balcony overlooked courtyard. Purchased room through Priority points and had an problem booking but management offered compensation of champagne and strawberries which we had on the balcony early evening and more than made up. would go again

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Ian U,
Thank you for having taken the time to forward your comments regarding your stay with us.
We are happy to know that the location of the Hotel was convenient to you and that the accommodation was up your expectation above all on this special occasion.

Regarding the cost of food, please be sure that the rates we apply for food are regularly benchmarked against other hotel within our scale and within our area.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback and staying with us.

Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator

InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We spent a week at the Hotel dela ville . Location is obviously central and great and at the same time calm.
Our room ( a junior suit + balcony) was spacious & very comfortable.
The staff that we've met at the reception desk , restaurant (morming breakfast) , concierge department , night room-service and the duty manager were all very helpful and service was excellent !!
The Boutique "Femme Sistina" (Salon de Coiffure) on the same premises with a direct access from the hotel is also very helpful and freindly and recommended.
We'll certainly recommend the hotel to our friends and business associates and hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear DrTimu,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental De La Ville Roma.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and both location and accommodation were up to your expectation.
We hope you come and stay with us again in the future and thank you very much for recommending us.

Sincere regards,
Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Each employee with whom we had contact was exceptional! This also includes email communications with representatives of the hotel before our stay to make certain our reservations were in proper order. I must especially compliment Jaana at the front desk for her professionalism, knowledge, concern, and attention to detail.

We were upgraded to a city-view with balcony room (small suite as the bedroom was separate from a small living area) which was very much appreciated as this was a 35th wedding anniversary celebration for my husband and me and also another couple with whom we were traveling. Only one room was upgraded which may have been because of my platinum status with IHG. They also provided a bottle of bubbly in our rooms to celebrate. Another "over and above" touch that was much appreciated. Though the room had a slightly musty odor, we opened the doors to the balcony and it was not a problem. I did not complain or mention this as, though we noticed it, it was not a problem for us. The rooms were fairly small compared to what we are used to in the United States....but we know this is typical for European hotels.

The hotel is very well situated at the top of the Spanish Steps and we were able to walk to just about every site we had planned to see. Taxis were easily available just a few steps away.

There was an excellent female singer in the bar area one night of our stay. Unfortunately, she was off the other nights we were there.

The bar and breakfast staff were kind and efficient. Breakfast is not inexpensive, but it was included in our room package for a portion of our stay. It offered many choices and was a treat! There are several less expensive choices for breakfast within near walking distance if price is of concern.

All four of us were happy with our stay here and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear wrecks9,

Thank you so muche for you review on Tripadvisor! Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are sure that it will be useful for future travellers!
It is great to see that you had such a good experience at our Hotel.
We will surely share your feedback with our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Kindest regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location close to the Spanish Steps. Easy cab ride from Termini Station (around 12 - 15 Euros.) Excellent service from all the staff who were always trying to please. Good sized rooms for a European city center hotel. Room & bathroom well appointed & very clean.

Room Tip: Ask & you might be given!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Brian I,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It is great to see you enjoyed your visit and we do look forward welcoming you soon again.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights prior to a cruise and were very happy with all aspects except the mattress. Room was quiet, roof top restaurant was excellent and there is also a great restaurant across the street. Concierge service was grand! We were made to feel vewry welcome. The breakfast buffet is THE BEST we've ever seen! Would stay again !

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Debijaynes,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments following your stay with us.
It was nice to learn that you fully appreciated your stay with us.
It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the entire Team as recognition of our quality of service is a fantastic reward for us.
Once again, thank you!
Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Rome
#103 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Family Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.