We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Great Place to stay in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #227 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caracas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Great Place to stay in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and me stay in this hotel in February. It is a beautiful hotel with great location, close to everything. Rooms are spacious and confortable. The customer service was great. We loved to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear ThamaraM.,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this nice review about the InterContinental De la Ville Roma.
We appreciate your nice comment about our staff service.
Looking forward to welcome you soon.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator

InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    368
    194
    104
    64
See reviews for
248
668
71
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in a basic room, with a french balcony. The AC didn't work but its March so opening the door did the trick. Only complaint was they wanted 40 Euro per day to purchase access to the internet, tv and radio. These type of things are not like the mini bar, they are more like a pillow something the hotel shouldn't charge you extra for. We purchased a sim card at a Wind store and had our own unlimited internet. The concierge was very helpful in sorting out a dishonest ice cream shop near by. And storing our luggage for a late departure. The staff was quick and helpful. We would stay there again, but bring a laptop so we can stream entertainment because 40Euro a day for tv use is not something i'll ever do.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff as much as you can, they are very helpful and can help make your trip more enjoyab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Speel,
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor,
We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the service of our staff.
I would like to ensure you that the rates we apply are regularly benchmarked against other hotels within our scale and within our area.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

Sincere regards
Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here at the InterContinental de la Ville briefly on my fifth trip to Rome. Used my Priority Club points to redeem a room, and I think it's quite a bargin as the hotel next door would cost three times more.

Comparing with my previous stays at the Rome Cavalieri and St. Regis, the room is really small. and the bathroom is tiny, but it's nicely decorated.

The location is execellent, literally next door to Spanish Steps, and there are many designer boutiques and restaurants around the hotel, and we walked to all the major sites. Very convenient if you don't mind the steps & slopes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear AlanTam25,
Thank you for your kind note on Tripadvisor and for being a Priority club member!
It is great to see how much you enjoyed your stay and that the location allowed you to stroll around directly to restaurants, boutiques and interesting attractions.
Concerning the size of rooms, you are right but please note that we have different room categories and sizes and we are working in a renovation plan!
Looking forward to welcome you again soon, please do not hesitate to contact me if the need arise.

Warmest regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had a one night stay at this hotel. The location is amazing and the service is great. I had breakfast in the restaurant and it was delicious. The hotel sits right above the Spanish steps so there is a ton to walk to. I highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Annabella41,

Thank you so much for your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that both the location and the service were up to your expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator

InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night before continuing my trip to Venice and then Trieste for a cruise of the Adriatic. Selected this hotel since I had a free night certificate for any ICG property and decided to try and get my money's worth. I arrived from the airport via the airport bus which drops you off at the main bus/rail station (Termini). Looking on the map, it seemed easy enough to walk to the hotel from here (also because I usually don't spend my money taking cabs, and the metro didn't seem to be convenient enough) and unfortunately it was a bit more of a walk then expected. Especially the ups and downs of Rome as any who have been there can attest. The hotel is an older hotel which I think prides itself on its location, since it wasn't apparent that they have updated anything in years. The room was nice enough, Queen bed overlooking a small courtyard and a balcony/patio type thing overlooking it. This was very nice for sitting out, enjoying some wine, conversation or the beauty that is being in the Eternal City.

No complaints about the hotel, but if I had to pay for this stay I would have stayed somewhere substantially cheaper and newer. On top of it, even as a platinum member of the ICG program I was not given complimentary WiFi, and was not about to pay 22 euros for it. If anything this is just unacceptable today with most chains offering it for free, or at least to elite members of their program. I alleviated this issue by spending 20 euros and getting a sim card for my iPhone and then using it as a personal hotspot. I would recommend this to others who find themselves in similar situations, especially in Europe, where it appears the higher end hotel chains are still raping us with ridiculous WiFi charges. This is not just ICG, but all of them, Marriott, Starwood, Hyatt, Hilton, etc. They will wake up one day and find people will not up with this anymore!

So overall? Stay if you aren't paying and want to be near the Spanish Steps. Otherwise, I am sure there are better and cheaper options out there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear jmanthetravelman,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that the location was up your expectation and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel is an historical building, centrally located, but we continuously refresh our furnitures and we are planning a renovation project.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked hotel via website using their 'secret luxury hotel'. The location for this hotel is excellent, although be prepared for lots of trips up and down the Spanish Steps. The welcome at the hotel was very good, although we had a number of problems with getting the internet connection sorted out; at 22 euro's a day not cheap, and then there is the tax on top!. The Hotel and room was clean; we had a Deluxe Room, but was nothing special, and we were unfortunate with our view as we were on a low floor. Overall we were satisfied with our stay, but would not rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jenny J,


Thank you for having taken the time to publish your comment on tripadvisor.com
We are pleased to see that the location of our hotel was convenient to you and the service was up to your expectation.
Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience that the bad internet connection caused to you.
Thank you, once again for you review. This is of great importance to us to monitor and improve our service continually.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if the need arise.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I received a nice upgrade to a suite as a IC Ambassador - the room was exceedingly spacious, very clean and nice. The hotel is definitely old, but it has it's charm. The bathroom is very nice.

The service is not overly friendly, but it's certainly adequate. The staff is prompt in answering questions, and they are helpful when asked.

The only issue I have with this hotel is the fact that there is no free wi-fi (they charge 14 Euro for an hour or 21 for a day, however the wi-fi doesn't work in the room, or at least it didn't work in ours, though we didn't know this until after we'd purchased it. Every other IHG hotel I've ever been to has offered free wi-fi, so the high cost of this wi-fi was pretty surprising, especially when you consider that it doesn't even work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Lolane,

Thank you for being one of our Ambassador member and for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are very attached to the quality of service delivered and do appreciate to be informed when our guests seem not fully satisfied.
We try to provide the best guest experience possible, and we take continuously the necessary steps to improve our product and service. We are continuously refreshing our furnitures and interior of rooms in order to always meet our guest's expectations and we are working on a renovation plan.
Anyhow, your comments have been shared with our management, we hope to have the occasion to welcome you again and do remain at your full disposal.

Sincere regards,
Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Rome
#107 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
#203 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.