We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage and Location but soulless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Save Saved
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #249 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Heritage and Location but soulless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely building, well located at the top of the Spanish steps and near the underground and plenety of restaurants locally.

However, the place was permanently deserted with no soul. Other than the lovely (but expensive) rooftop bar you saw few public rooms in use.

Our room was small but very comfortable and well appointed. We overlooked an internal courtyard so it was nice and quiet. Shutters and aircon kept it cool.

Concierge was very good getting us into a booked out museum/art gallery before we left. Reception were OK but not really friendly.

Didn't eat breakfast here due to the price. Did have charcuterie and cheese with our wine on the rooftop bar, which was very nice (but not cheap!).

If you're using Loyalty points go for this (as we did) but otherwise there are plenty of other hotels to stay that would offer a better experience and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sarah O,
Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been shared with the management team.
Further to your post, the InterContinental De La Ville Roma, is a 5 stars hotel in the heart of Rome.
The rates we apply for room and for service are regularly benchmarked with other 5 stars hotel within the area.
We remain at your disposal and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    560
    306
    173
    93
    57
See reviews for
210
559
59
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed over the weekend here on return from a Mediterranean cruise. Found the staff friendly and professional. At check in in as a Platinum Ambassador member I was upgraded to a suite , and my friends who had booked a standard room were upgraded to a junior suite . The room was well furnished and provided with water , fruit and wine .

The hotel is an old monument and quite rambling but that gave it atmosphere. Perhaps the best breakfast I have had in Rome , even to perfectly cooked eggs sunny side up !

My only regret was that the only restaurant open was on the ground floor , rather small , although again excellent food and service , with , as someone else mentioned an attractive young lady providing vocals.It is a shame the hotel doesn't use its second floor restaurant which is beautifully appointed and has a large terrace ( as it was winter the terrace only restaurant on the top floor was not in use ) . There is also an apparently underused atmospheric lounge adjoining that which I only discovered on the last day ,

No problems btw with luggage - and we had 11 pieces- the concierge dealt with it all swiftly and efficiently.

I would certainly stay again - with the proviso that it really does need a second restaurant open to maintain the service quality expected of Intercontinental .

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can . They are lovely traditional rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tonycroft,


Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Further to your post, the InterContinental De La Ville Roma, is a 5 stars hotel in the heart of Rome.
The rates we apply for room and for service are regularly benchmarked with other 5 stars hotel within the area.
We remain at your disposal and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were really looking forward to spending an extended weekend at this property which has been recommended in so many ways. Boy, what a disappointment. Yes, the location is great, but you have to deal with either the Spanish steps ( hundreds of them ) or steep uphill streets unless you take the Metro elevator. We arrived by taxi, unfortunately there was no one to help us with the luggage which was a pain to get through the revolving door. Check in was slow and the lobby area was crowded, it's quite small. And that's the main problem we had. Everything in this hotel was smallish. It's an old building, won't try to guess the age. We did not fit in the elevator with our luggage, so it took two runs. Down the steps, around one corner, around another, up the stairs, around the corner, you guessed it. We were told we got upgraded. But the room was on the tiniest we ever have been in. We just had two pieces of luggage, we put on on top of the safe inside the closet and one on top of the little table in the room. There was practically no space to move about. The only option was being in bed. The King size bed is just King in size, yet it consists of two mattresses put together and we could feel where the divide was. Maybe they couldn't fit King size mattresses through the stairways or elevators. Yes, we had a small balcony with a view over the courtyard but the view was quite poor. There was no coffee machine/water heater in the room, needed to be ordered. The bathroom was even smaller, not big enough for two people and the bathtub was tiny and narrow, the curtain rail was not curved and the curtain touched me while trying to take a shower, I hate that. For 320 Euro per night I would have expected free Internet, however, it was neither free nor inexpensive. Thumbs down for that. This is a tired hotel and far from luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear WEISSBIER,

thank you for having taken the time to publish your comment on Tripadvisor.com.

Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, we are sorry that we have not been successful in your case.
We regret to read your experience was not enjoyable for you, we appreciate your opinions and comments, as constructive criticism is the only way to know the reality and to improve quality, services as well as facilities, to avoid future complaints.
We remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator

InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas 2012 and enjoyed an excellent visit. At check in we were upgraded to a suite which I can only describe as huge and then some!! room size seemed to be a big concern of previous reviewers so I was happy to not have that compliant. We took the hotel up on their offer to attend a traditional Christmas eve meal and were glad we did. It was a seven course extraganza of terrific food incluidn wine and champane. The service was excellent.

we also had a few dinners in the hotel restaurant and were very suprised to encounter live music by a very talented songstess.

The conceriege arranged for a private day tour for us of Roem and I would recommend this to anyone. We saw all the main tourist traps ourseleves by walking but our guide took us to some fasinating out of the way locations.

My only complaint is that in 2012/2013 the charge 20 Euros per day for intermittent WiFi coverage. This is a shame as it took some of the lustre of an otherwise superb stay

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's part of American Express' Fine Hotels & Resorts. Along with that and the location, we just had to book it for the 4 days before our cruise departed. We had a suite with balcony overlooking the city. Our friends chose a standard room with garden view (that still had a balcony, but it was shared with 3-4 other rooms.) We noticed a big difference depending on which room you booked and how you paid. Our arrangements were handled by American Express Platinum Travel, our friends booked directly on their own. We were greeted with a welcome basket that included fruit, cheese, chocolates and even a bottle of Lemoncello. Since we booked with our AmEx card, our stay included breakfast each morning, our friends' didn't. We enjoyed a full breakfast in the hotel restaurant complete with espresso, eggs, toast and fruit. Since it worked out to approximately $35 per person, our friends made other arrangements for breakfast. I agree, it wasn't worth $35 per person, but since it was included in our price we enjoyed it every morning (the service here was nothing short of impeccable.) The concierge left a little to be desired. We had already booked tours and excursions before getting to the hotel, but we did ask for help in planning dinner the first night we arrived. He suggested a restaurant that all of us wish we would have skipped. Let me not forget to tell you about the location. We walked out the front door of the hotel and the Spanish Steps were right there! Just go down the Spanish Steps and the city awaits!! It was wonderful for us. We walked whenever we got the chance. We walked to dinner, shopping, site seeing and espresso!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very tired hotel.
In urgent need of upgrade as all areas of the hotel are looking shabby and worn.
What also makes its worse the attitade of the staff are arrogant and rude.
I stayed in a suite which looks straight out of the 1970s .
Goes well with the mouldy shower curtain !
We unfortunately had afternoon tea at the lobby cafe and the quality of the something basic was terrible.
Another rip off was the wireless internet charge.
Better off going down the road at a resturant and use the free wireless service.
Why this hotel cannot offer this service is terrible ?
Suggest give this hotel a big miss !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear AjmMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My apologies for falling short of your expectations with the condition of our property and the services you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had read mixed reports on this hotel before staying - membership to the Ambassador Club was the main driver for the initial booking. We ended up having a fantastic time in Rome, with the service, room and location of the hotel being a big part of this experience (just above the Spanish Steps). Our suite was spacious enough to be comfortable sharing with our 2 young sons, breakfast each day was full of tasty options & excellent service, and the concierge helped arrange some excellent personalised day-tours. We didn't want the mass-tour experience, so had a personal tour guide for the Colloseum / Roman Forum and a driver take us out to Villa D'Este & Villa Adriana. These were highlights of our European trip.
My only suggested improvement for the hotel is to make wireless access complimentary, as most other leading hotels now do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear RohanBerry_1,

As Ambassador member, you are one of our most important guests, and we greatly appreciate you taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
#102 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#182 Family Hotel in Rome
#225 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.