We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn and Tatty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #254 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Torn and Tatty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very tired hotel.
In urgent need of upgrade as all areas of the hotel are looking shabby and worn.
What also makes its worse the attitade of the staff are arrogant and rude.
I stayed in a suite which looks straight out of the 1970s .
Goes well with the mouldy shower curtain !
We unfortunately had afternoon tea at the lobby cafe and the quality of the something basic was terrible.
Another rip off was the wireless internet charge.
Better off going down the road at a resturant and use the free wireless service.
Why this hotel cannot offer this service is terrible ?
Suggest give this hotel a big miss !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear AjmMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My apologies for falling short of your expectations with the condition of our property and the services you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    343
    185
    101
    62
See reviews for
228
614
66
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had read mixed reports on this hotel before staying - membership to the Ambassador Club was the main driver for the initial booking. We ended up having a fantastic time in Rome, with the service, room and location of the hotel being a big part of this experience (just above the Spanish Steps). Our suite was spacious enough to be comfortable sharing with our 2 young sons, breakfast each day was full of tasty options & excellent service, and the concierge helped arrange some excellent personalised day-tours. We didn't want the mass-tour experience, so had a personal tour guide for the Colloseum / Roman Forum and a driver take us out to Villa D'Este & Villa Adriana. These were highlights of our European trip.
My only suggested improvement for the hotel is to make wireless access complimentary, as most other leading hotels now do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear RohanBerry_1,

As Ambassador member, you are one of our most important guests, and we greatly appreciate you taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In Rome, there is a huge difference in quality between 4, 4.5 and 5 star hotels. This was my third trip to Rome, second within a year, and have to say - my husband and I LOVED this hotel.

Great customer service, nice room (traditional furnishing) which seemed pretty spacious overall (including the bathroom), centrally (and conveniently) located. Restaurant onsite served a great cup of American coffee (as well as espresso) and a decent lunch. Beds we instantly fell asleep on. We were on an upper floor, which was really nice. Conceirge desk gave us good restaurant advice, but take advantage of having them book you into the spots - you might find yourself in a queue if you "walk up". We would stay here again (I'm a Starwood gold lifetime member, so yes, we temporarily defected) and highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear SKI_Road_Warrior,

It is a pleasure to read your comments regarding your last stay at the InterContinental De la Ville Roma.
Thank you very much for your positive remarks.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from five wonderful days in this hotel. This old and beautifully kept hotel delivered on all levels. I have never come across such helpful and pleasent staff in any hotel I have stayed in worldwide.. The breakfasts were splendid with an incredible variety of foods to suit all tastes. Though expensive, you get what you pay for. I cannot recommend highly enough the Hotel De La Ville with its central location very close to the Spanish steps. I so look forward to returning one day in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Grainne79,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor, I am sure it will be useful for future clients.
We are pleased to see that your stay was up to your expectations and look forward to welcome you soon again!!

I remain at your full disposal.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Copied below is the letter of gratitude we sent the Manager on Duty (Giacomo Pica) and the Intercontinetal Customer Care Team. This is an outstanding property. So we wanted to take the opportunity to sing their praise!

Giacomo – My girlfriend Tiffani and I are very likely a distant memory from 2012. My intentions were to contact you much sooner than this, but being in the hotel industry myself, the final quarter of the year was exceptionally busy and I simply did not make the time to write. My apologies for that. Regardless of the unfortunate incident we experienced on the streets of Rome during our visit (which had nothing to do with the hotel), I wanted to extend a sincere thank you to both yourself and all your team at the Intercontinental. Professionalism, attention to detail and the warmth of all your hospitality are still part of our fond memories from our one week visit to your beautiful city. You all helped make our trip a wonderfully memorable one, and for that we are forever grateful. Having worked with different hotel companies for the last 20 years of my career, I am very familiar with the amount of organization and effort that goes into making every guests’ stay a special one. In addition it’s not uncommon to only hear back from our guests when there is a problem, so it was important for us to let you know that your team certainly exceeded our expectations. Please pass on our thanks and warmest regards. You sir are a true gentleman and we hope to be back in Rome again later this year and look forward to making the Intercontinental our home-away-from-home once again. Wishing you all the very best of health, happiness and continued success in 2013!

Room Tip: Best location. Right at top of Spanish Steps. By far the best roof top terrace in the city. Looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for 5 night. Overall I could say that you are only paying for the location. It located almost 300 meters from the spanish steps. The hotel some to be old & not renovated recently. The decoration is old classic which is another reason why I did not like the place. The question here is value for money and my answer is defiantly this hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear MAQi,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am delighted you liked the location of our property. My apologies the condition of our hotel fell below your expectations. We will use your comments to improve our efforts. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beyrouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This is best hotel I've visited ever in Italy. Location is great, food is excellent, breakfast is marvellous: try the mozzarella buffala. You feel at home even if you have kids. Everyone is smiling and welcoming. I will definitely stay again at my next trip to Rome. Don't try to stay somewhere else

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Emile A,

Thank you for taking time to write such a kind review.
Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon!!

Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator

InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Rome
#106 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#152 Family Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.