We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas in lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #224 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
stroud
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas in lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I returned to this hotel for Christmas having stayed once before a couple of years ago. We did wonder if we should try a different hotel but are so pleased that we didn't. It's a really special hotel, in a wonderful location and with excellent and friendly staff. OK, it's not ultra modern; the rooms, whilst lovely and very comfortable, are those of a 300 year old, city centre building and drinks are pricy. But it's home from home feeling whilst also full of people who just want to give you a wonderful stay is unbeatable. We love Rome and will, I am sure, return before too long, and next time we won't consider whether or not we should try a different hotel - we have found the best. I'd heartily recommend it to you.

Room Tip: If you can go for a city view room, the views are unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear serenagreentrees,
Thank you and again thank you for you very kind comments left on Tripadvisor.
It’s great to read that your stay was up to your expectations also this time.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts.
We hope to welcome you again soon to our property, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if the need arise.
Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    397
    210
    106
    67
See reviews for
279
706
75
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed for four nights at the Intercontinental de la Ville at the beginning of December in 2012 and it was a much to be desired experience. Not only was the "upgraded" garden view room so small but the staff was not friendly and a bit rude. They wanted to charge for everything and when I asked to borrow a adapter, I was told to looking the mini bar which later I found out cost me $8.50 euros. The building is old and in need of repair. The only saving grace is the location of the hotel which is right on top of the Spanish steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room than the standard or even double if you are able to afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear SiDoRaTe,
Thank you for your recent stay and leaving us your feedback.
We are sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from our staff.. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around.
We truly hope that you give us another chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
I remain at your full disposal.
Sincererly,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights before my cruise courtesy of points. Had also stayed here 3 years previous. The Priority Club is without a doubt one of the best rewards clubs out there. Although we did not pay for the room we were still upgraded upon check in to a room with a great view, a large bathroom and a large terrace. Yes the rooms are small but this IS Europe. As a Platinum Ambassador we also received fresh fruit and wine. Service is excellent here and the concierge always knowledgeable and helpful. Yes drinks are expensive as is the restaurant but the food is really good. If you are lucky enough to get breakfast included it is spectacular. If not - a five minute walk is a small store where you can buy all the same meats and cheeses for a FRACTION of the cost and have an awesome meal in your room.
Location a minute walk to the top of the Spanish steps is perfect. Also within a few minutes walk are great restaurants and coffee shops and some great shopping,
I will only stay here in Rome. Ignore all the bad reviews. This hotel is spectacular

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear twin123185,
Thank you very much for being a Platinum ambassador member and for your great review posted on Tripadvisor which, I am sure, will be useful for future clients!!
It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us, your comments has been shared with our staff and we look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future.
Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed there twice now. It has a great location and a fabulous terrace for drinks. @ 20 euros a drink its quite pricey
Rooms are very small but was comfortable in the July heat. We are headed back in July 2013 but will be looking elsewhere this time. To pay for wi-fi today isnt acceptable anymore

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear SM,
Thank you for having taken the time to forward your comments regarding your stay with us, we appreciate it!
Further to your kind opinions and comments, we would like to ensure you that rates we apply for rooms and service are regularly benchmarked against other hotels and restaurants within our scale and within our area.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the occasion of you next stay in the Eternal city.
Sincererly,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I have lodged in the InterContinental de la Ville on two different occasions. The location is fabulous, just by the Spanish Steps. We were there in November 2012. The service was outstanding with many helpful suggestions by both the reception and the concierge. Our lodging included breakfast, which was good, offering many selections, including champagne. We were in an upgraded room with a garden view, lovely. The building has quite a romantic history!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear C21AA,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor!!
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s our hope that everyone choosing our hotel will have the experience that you did.
Thank you again for choosing the InterContinental De la Ville Roma.
Hope to see you again next time you are in town!!

Kind regards,


Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Intercontinental de la Ville is superbly located right next to the Spanish steps and it's a cozy, well managed IC. As a Royal Ambassador I've been upgraded to a Suite on the last floor (8th) and what a view we've got over the city of room. True that this is an historical old building that could benefit from some refurbishment and it might well be true that non-suite rooms are not of a standard of a suite but who cares for that when you've some great attentive staff, a superb location and a top service? Congratulations to the team and keep up with the excellent work.

Room Tip: If you can afford go for a suite with a city view, preferably on one of the top floors. The terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Nuno M,

Thank you very much for being an Ambassador member and for this great review, I am sure it will be useful for future clients!!
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, it will be a pleasure to share your comments with our staff.
We hope to welcome you back again in a very close future.
Best regards,


Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have never stayed in a smaller room in my life, worst view, no a/c and so expensive. Good location, close to many attractions. The breakfast is included and was very good. I will never consider this hotel again, not even for a one night stay. We had two big suitcases as we were going on a cruise and there was no space in the room where we could open them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear BLL25,

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor.

It is regretful to see that our rooms were not up to your expectations.
We do have 192 rooms in our hotel from 18 to 55 square meters, different room categories and views and we are at our guest' disposal to arrange the most suitable room for different needs and occasions.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again and remain at your disposal.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#74 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#70 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#113 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#112 Business Hotel in Rome
#139 Family Hotel in Rome
#181 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental de la Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.