We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental de la Ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental de la Ville to your Saves list
InterContinental de la Ville
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #208 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I have lodged in the InterContinental de la Ville on two different occasions. The location is fabulous, just by the Spanish Steps. We were there in November 2012. The service was outstanding with many helpful suggestions by both the reception and the concierge. Our lodging included breakfast, which was good, offering many selections, including champagne. We were in an upgraded room with a garden view, lovely. The building has quite a romantic history!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C21AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear C21AA,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor!!
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s our hope that everyone choosing our hotel will have the experience that you did.
Thank you again for choosing the InterContinental De la Ville Roma.
Hope to see you again next time you are in town!!

Kind regards,


Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Intercontinental de la Ville is superbly located right next to the Spanish steps and it's a cozy, well managed IC. As a Royal Ambassador I've been upgraded to a Suite on the last floor (8th) and what a view we've got over the city of room. True that this is an historical old building that could benefit from some refurbishment and it might well be true that non-suite rooms are not of a standard of a suite but who cares for that when you've some great attentive staff, a superb location and a top service? Congratulations to the team and keep up with the excellent work.

Room Tip: If you can afford go for a suite with a city view, preferably on one of the top floors. The terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Nuno M,

Thank you very much for being an Ambassador member and for this great review, I am sure it will be useful for future clients!!
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, it will be a pleasure to share your comments with our staff.
We hope to welcome you back again in a very close future.
Best regards,


Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have never stayed in a smaller room in my life, worst view, no a/c and so expensive. Good location, close to many attractions. The breakfast is included and was very good. I will never consider this hotel again, not even for a one night stay. We had two big suitcases as we were going on a cruise and there was no space in the room where we could open them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear BLL25,

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor.

It is regretful to see that our rooms were not up to your expectations.
We do have 192 rooms in our hotel from 18 to 55 square meters, different room categories and views and we are at our guest' disposal to arrange the most suitable room for different needs and occasions.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again and remain at your disposal.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This week I had the pleasure to stay for a couple of days in Rome and since a friend of mine had recommended this hotel I decided to stay there. What a good decision. When you come to the hotel, you might be a bit surprised in the beginning since the hotel is in a quite small side street, but once you enter the hotel you will be positively surprised about almost everything.

- the hotel itself: Very efficient staff. Quite friendly and attentive to your needs. I checked in within 5 minutes after arrival and they really catered for my wishes
- the rooms: What a great room. Really quiet, quite big and incredibly high ceiling. I do not know how old this hotel is, but they just dont make them like that anymore. The ceiling in my room was at least 4 meters high. I know, it does not give you more space, still it is a nice feeling when you wake up an look at the ceiling and you dont get the feeling to be boxed in, like in some of the newer hotels.
- the breakfast: The first morning I was a bit miffed about the service there. I ordered a hot chocolate and the waiter (who did not know I spoke italian) walked away muttering something about me first ordering a coffee and now wanting a hot chocolate. I had the same waiter the following day and he nicely guided me to my table and immediately said with a smile in his face "Will you be wanting hot chocolate again, sir", so my feelings about the service were completely changed now. Oh, and the chocolate is to die for: You get two silver cans, one with chocolate, one with milk, and you will be needing the milk to dilute the chocolate since it is so rich and creamy and calorie-free :). The breakfast itself is served in one of the most beautiful rooms I have seen for a long time and the selection is just amazing, everything you want to eat and some things you havent seen for ages - roasted apples for breakfast, just great
- the location. Simply amazing. It is situated at the top of the spanish stairs, so you have a great view over the city from there and it is just 5 minutes from a great jogging area.

So overall I can only recommend this hotel and I will certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the garden. They are very quiet. And dont forget to order a hot chocolate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear StefanonHolidays,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisors and thank you for your excellent note, I am sure it will be useful for future clients.

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us, may you come again and again and we will be at your disposal to prepare and enhance your stay.

Staff attitude is our priority and guest feedback is the most precious tool allowing us to continuously improve.

Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, your comments have been shared with our teams and we look forward welcoming you soon to show you how devoted we always are to your satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not sure how can they name an 2 star hotel in 5 star category. I stayed here for three nights and one of the worst hotel i have every stayed. The rooms are very small, the room is 50 % bigger than their bathroom. If you going with your family or girlfriend , please avoid this place. Might be an ok one if you are travelling alone. The fun part was they upgraded me to luxury room and asked me to stay in 3rd floor, if the luxury room is worst not sure about the ordinary one.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd and 6th floor rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siv-PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Siv-PR,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We are very attached to the quality of service delivered and do appreciate to be informed when our guests seem not fully satisfied.

The InterContinental De La Ville Roma, previously a convent, is an historical building in the heart of Rome.
The hotel is a 5 stars traditional property successfully passing the very regular quality and service controls conducted by our mother company IHG and the Italian ministery of Tourism.
Our rooms are of various sizes and we are at your disposal to assist you to book the right roomtype for next time. Classic room around 20m² to the Presidential Suite of 55m².

The rates we apply for room and for service are regularly benchmarked with other 5 stars hotel within the area.

We try to provide the best guest experience possible, and we take continuously the necessary steps to improve our product and service.

Your comments have been shared with our management, we still hope to have the occasion to welcome you again and do remain at your full disposal.

Sincere regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had heard wonderful things about this property and to our amazement it held true and beyond our expectations. Elegant yet not intimidating - wonderful staff and well appointed rooms and very nice amenities. Location had us close to shopping, fine dinning, attractions. The lobby lounge had a wonderful cabaret singer every night. Wonderful breakfast area with a vast assortment of fruits, pastries, eggs, cheeses, meats. Concierge handles all of our tour arrangements and were extremely helpful

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel are definitely quieter. We faced a center courtyard area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SchneeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear SchneeTraveler,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to post such positive comments on Tripadvisor.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us and that both the location and the service were up to their expecxtations.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment, your feedback is very much appreciated. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to IC De La Ville Roma once again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our trip to Rome for Honey-moon just got spoilt with the ambience and service of this hotel, I should say.Starting with the reception place where they took some 40 minutes(for just check-in) to finish up their formalities to the business center where a charge of $5 is to be paid for the use of internet I dont suppose this hotel has got the value to bear the 5 star.The room was extremely congested for 2 with very poor lightings.The funiiest part is that the wardrobe was much larger than the bathroom.The so called TV(which is also charged for usage except news channels)is another mess.The hotel's location though is very nearest to the station, once we need to go to the city centre then we have to walk through the steep spanish steps where most of our calories would be burnt and we will be left with zero energy to enjoy further.The only consoling fact of this hotel is that the christmas tree kept in front of the hotel was decorated beautifully.Since it was christmas season I had one reason to rate this hotel with 2 rates else this hotel is an extreme disgust.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Schipilliti, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at InterContinental de la Ville, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Babili,

Thank you for having taken the time to publish your comment on tripadvisor.com.

Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, we are sorry that we have not been successful in your case.

We regret to read your experience was not enjoyable for you, however, the rates we apply for rooms and services are regularly benchmarked against other 5* hotels in our area and
we take continuously the necessary steps to improve our product and service. We are continuously refreshing our furnitures and interior of rooms in order to always meet our guest's expectations and we are working on a renovation plan.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your opinions and comments, as constructive criticism is the only way to know the reality and to improve quality, services as well as facilities, to avoid future complaints for the same reason like yours.

I remain at your full disposal.

Kind regards,

Vanessa Schipilliti | Sales & Marketing Coordinator
InterContinental De La Ville Roma
Address: Via Sistina 69 00187, Roma, Italia
Phone: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9217 | Fax: +39 (0) 6 67 33 9332
Email: vanessa.schipilliti@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#49 of 1,273 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#66 of 1,273 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#5 of 1,273 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,046 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental de la Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental de la Ville

Address: Via Sistina 69, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Business Hotel in Rome
#171 Family Hotel in Rome
#175 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental de la Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There s no better place to begin your experience in the Eternal City than InterContinental De La Ville Roma. Our location at the top of the Spanish Steps is the ideal base for shopping, sightseeing and attending cultural events. Within a short radius are Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Via Condotti, Piazza di Spagna and the Borghese Gallery, and even more. InterContinental De La Ville Roma, your best choice to enjoy the Eternal City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, IHG, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental de la Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental De La Ville Hotel Rome
De La Ville Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing